to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

He was born 'at home', right above his father's bodega. The scent of wine and barrels must have been lying in the air and thus dictated his further life. He studied oenology in Bordeaux and gathered professional experience at the Château Pétrus, and in London, Dublin, and California. Today, he owns vines in the Priorat county, in Bierzo, and at home in the Rioja, and proves his extraordinary talent with premium wines year after year.

He loves his family, motorcycles, nature, songs by Camarón, a challenge and taking risks. He seems believable when he confesses that his second calling would have been to be a 'torero', a bullfighter. He bristles with dynamism and power.

He went to Bordeaux to study oenology when he was 21 years old. The next stage saw him working at the Château Pétrus for two years. Then he returned home. His father José Palacios Remondo had built a bodega in close to Alfaro in 1948 following a family tradition dating back to 1651. However, Álvaro felt constricted upon his return. In 1989, he was pulled towards the abandoned Priorat, where his first resounding success would take place shortly. He was restless to hurry to the next challenge in Bierzo, where he prompted the next furore. His international reputation as a star winegrower had already been established when his father died in 2000. This marked the right moment to return home – his birthplace.

White wines from Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Rioja Plácet Valtomelloso
Vegan

Red wines from Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Vegan
In Stock
Propiedad Viñas Viejas Palacios Remondo
Vegan
In Stock
Rioja La Vendimia
Vegan

Rioja La Vendimia

DOC Rioja, Alvaro Palacios, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 15.90

The parental estate encompassing about 150 hectares in total is situated in the Rioja Baja, to the west of Alfaro. Álvaro mainly builds on Garnacha instead of Tempranillo, as it reaches its full potential on the rocky, ferrous quartziferous lime soil. The winters are very cold and the summers can get extremely hot. Here, the precipitation is just about half that of the Rioja Alta. About 110 hectares comprise the site of La Montesa hillside of the Monte Yerga. The Tempranillo prospers on the higher and cooler slopes, while the Garnacha feels at home at lower altitudes. Near the La Montesa site one can find the Viura vine stocks used for the Plácet circling a little magazine. The parcel is called Valtomelloso. With its 40- to 70-year-old vine stocks, the site Propiedad comprises about 10 hectares divided into 5 parcels situated about 600 meters above sea level. They are stocked exclusively with Garnacha. In 2014, an entirely a new vineyard consisting of Garnacha, Viura and Monsatrell mixed was planted as it used to in the past. The idea: A Rioja wine with the quality of a Grand cru! We can be excited for its first vintage.

At home, Álvaro has also been crowned by success, having received numerous awards and consistently high ratings. His talent, his intuition and his untiring inventiveness have enabled him to elevate his parental estate to the top of international wines.

Producers

Weingut Erich & Walter Polz

The family vineyard of Erich and Walter Polz is situated in an idyllic field in the middle of hilly Southern Styria, about an hour’s drive south of Graz. The business was originally founded in 1912. In the late 1980s, the brothers took over their parents’ vineyard. Christoph Polz, Erich’s son, became the fourth generation to assume the role of winemaker in 2011.

Read more
Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi is a Spanish winery group whose vineyards are in Alicante (Valencia), in the northeastern region of Navarre and in Álava and Gipuzkoa in the Basque Country. In 1985, a group of winegrowers founded this private cooperative project, which, with one tiny exception, only produces single-grape-variety wines.
 

Read more
Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Standing on La Gerla's terrace, one's view sweeps over Montalcino's peaceful landscape with its hills, vineyards, slim cypresses, and estates scattered all around. Nestled in the Colli Senesi to the south of Siena, the area comprises approx. 2000 hectares (up from just sixty hectares 50 years ago!).

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

Er wurde „zu Hause“ geboren, über der Bodega des Vaters. Der Duft von Wein und Fässern lag wohl in der Luft und bestimmte sein weiteres Leben. Er studierte Önologie in Bordeaux und holte sich Berufserfahrung bei Château Pétrus, in London, Dublin und Kalifornien. Heute besitzt er Reben im Priorat, in Bierzo und zu Hause in der Rioja und beweist Jahr für Jahr mit Spitzenweinen sein ausserordentliches Talent.

Er liebt seine Familie, Motorräder, die Natur, die Lieder von Camarón, die Herausforderung und das Risiko. Man glaubt ihm sofort aufs Wort, wenn er gesteht, dass seine zweite Berufung „Torero“ – Stierkämpfer – war. Er sprüht vor Dynamik und Kraft. Mit 21 Jahren ging er nach Bordeaux, um Önologie zu studieren. Die nächste Etappe war eine Stelle bei Château Pétrus während zweier Jahre. Dann reiste er zurück nach Hause. Sein Vater, José Palacios Remondo, hatte 1948 eine Bodega in der Nähe von Alfaro gebaut, einer Familientradition folgend, die bis 1651 zurückreicht. Doch Álvaro fühlte sich bei seiner Rückkehr eingeengt. Es zog ihn 1989 ins verlassene Priorat, wo sich sehr bald der erste durchschlagende Erfolg einstellte. Rastlos eilte er weiter zur nächsten Herausforderung in Bierzo, wo er ebenfalls Furore machte. Sein internationaler Ruf als Starwinzer war schon gefestigt, als sein Vater im Jahr 2000 starb. Das war der richtige Zeitpunkt, um definitiv nach Hause zurückzukehren, dorthin, wo er geboren worden war.

Weissweine von Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Rioja Plácet Valtomelloso
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Rotweine von Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Rioja La Vendimia
Vegan
In Stock
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Parker 94+ Punkte
Propiedad Viñas Viejas Palacios Remondo
Vegan

Das elterliche Weingut mit insgesamt rund 150 Hektaren befindet sich in der Rioja Baja, westlich von Alfaro. Álvaro setzt seit Jahren statt auf Tempranillo auf Garnacha, die in diesem Klima und auf den steinigen, eisen- und quarzhaltigen Lehm- und Kalkböden zu Hochform aufläuft. Die Winter sind sehr kalt und die Sommer teilweise extrem heiss. Hier fällt nur etwa die Hälfte an Niederschlägen im Vergleich zur Rioja Alta. Rund 110 Hektaren bilden die Lage La Montesa am Hang des Monte Yerga. Auf den höheren, kühleren Hängen gedeiht Tempranillo, unten fühlt sich die Garnacha am wohlsten. Inmitten der Lage La Montesa, rund um ein kleines Lagerhaus herum, stehen die Viura-Stöcke für den Plácet. Die Parzelle trägt den Namen Valtomelloso. Die Lage Propiedad mit ihren 40- bis 70-jährigen Rebstöcken ist ca. 10 Hektaren gross und auf fünf Parzellen aufgeteilt, die auf rund 600 Metern über Meer liegen. Sie sind ausschliesslich mit Garnacha bestockt. 2014 wurde ausserdem eine ganz neue Pflanzung wie in alten Zeiten im Mischsatz mit Garnacha, Viura und Monastrell erstellt. Die Idee: ein Rioja-Wein in Grand-Cru-Qualität! Man darf auf den ersten Jahrgang gespannt sein.

Auch zu Hause ist Álvaro gekrönt von Erfolg, der immer wieder mit Auszeichnungen und hohen Bewertungen untermauert wird. Mit seiner Begabung, seiner glücklichen Hand und seiner unermüdlichen Schaffenskraft ist es ihm gelungen, seit der Übernahme das elterliche Weingut auf internationales Topniveau zu heben.

Winzer

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Steht man auf der Terrasse von La Gerla so schweift der Blick über die friedliche Landschaft des Montalcino mit ihren Hügeln, Rebgärten, den schlanken Zypressen und den überall verstreuten Weingütern. Eingebettet in den Colli Senesi südlich von Siena umfasst das Gebiet ca. 2000 Hektaren (vor 50 Jahren waren es lediglich 60!).

Weiterlesen
Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

1933 waren die Winzer und die Weinhändler von Châteauneuf-du-Pape die Ersten, die sich selber Qualitätsregeln für den Anbau und die Herstellung von Wein auferlegten, der Châteauneuf-du-Pape heissen durfte. Die geographische Festlegung des Anbaugebiets und die Bestimmungen haben noch heute ihre Gültigkeit, um die Weinqualität für den Weingeniesser zu garantieren. Die Familie Gradassi der Domaine des Pères de l’Église folgt der Tradition mit dem frischen Wind der vierten, jungen Generation.

Weiterlesen
Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno gehört mit seinen Baroli aus dem Piemont zu den langjährigen Partnern von Baur au Lac Vins. Über seine neue toskanische Passion berichtet er mit strahlenden Augen:

Weiterlesen