to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

MARC ALMERT SELECTION

Marc Almert, World's Best ASI 2019 Sommelier and Chef Sommelier at Baur au Lac & Baur au Lac Vins, suggests a little trip with a selection of wines that delight him and certainly you too.

 

Marc's new discoveries and rediscovered classics are from winemakers with impressive personalities and signature like the following wines in his Selection. Click on the following wines to learn more about them:

 

 

More information about the first edition of the MARC ALMERT SELECTION here.

 

Sain Saphorin Les Blassinges deutsch

 

In the summer of 2018, I had the great pleasure of meeting Pierre-Luc Leyvraz and his team. Often called the “King of Chasselas” by numerous journalists, this definition is anything but exaggerated and seems fully justified you at the latest once you tasted his Saint-Saphorin “Les Blassinges” - a firework of aromas, salty minerality and great length on the palate, yet further enhanced by a buoyant lightness. A true “Grand Cru”.

Order Les Blassinges here
Chidaine

 

Regrettably often underestimated and indeed almost unknown, the Chenin Blanc grape variety is one of the great classics of the wine world, particularly in its natural environment, the Loire Valley. There, biodynamic winegrowers such as François Chidaine create outstanding wines that delight the palate with a seductive blend of acidity and fruity sweetness. Popularly enjoyed locally with goat cheese, these wines also readily complement more spicy dishes, e.g. Sichuan-style cuisine.

Order Les Bournais here
Marcel Deiss L

 

It is in Bergheim, a picturesque little town nestled in the heart of wine-growing Alsace, that Marcel Deiss works the vines in a very classical way: different varieties of vines grow in what is known as wild and mixed cultures, an approach already common in the Middle Ages to guarantee stable yield and quality, also to make the vines more resistant. He cultivates them according to the historical principles of Rudolf Steiner, the founder of biodynamics. Stating that classical approaches often bring excellent fruit is proved by tasting his “Engelgarten”: a fascinating wine that lingers on the palate, always changing in the glass, revealing a new aroma with every new swirl.

Order Engelgarten here
Ratzenberger L

 

Even in Germany, the Middle Rhine is better known for the Loreley Rock than for the best Rieslings growing there - wrongly, however, as this perfectly balanced “Riesling Spätlese” (late harvest) proves impressively. Together with the know-how of a dedicated family of winegrowers and, in the meantime, a few years of bottle age, the steep slate slopes contribute to produce a wine that will be remembered for a long time: light in alcohol, with a lively acidity as well as a wonderful minerality and a cheerful fruity sweetness.

Order Wolfshöhle here
Domaine de Cabasse L

 

In French bistros, you are often served a fruity, strong and spicy wine by the glass. Looking at the label, it usually turns out to be a product of the southern Rhône region. Fortunately, it’s now possible to enjoy these wines here at home too. Small wineries like the charming Domaine de Cabasse press a red wine that ideally accompanies a diversity of dishes. Moreover, after a rather generous wine tasting, you can even enjoy a wonderful night’s sleep at the adjacent hotel.

Order Gigondas Jucunditas here
Julienas

 

Few regions in France have recently reinvented themselves as markedly as the Beaujolais. While the local Gamay continued to be transformed into a fruity “Beaujolais Nouveau” until just a few years ago, wineries such as Perrachon are now creating wines of character with real ageing potential - even from partially century-old vines! Ideal for all those who are looking for a red wine that is both light and fascinating.

Order the Juliénas here
Mortet

 

In recent years, Arnaud Mortet has become the Shooting Star of Gevrey-Chambertin. With an unbeatable price/quality ratio, he combines five sites to create a Gevrey-Chambertin Village that says it all. A beguiling fruit, a grandiose minerality and an almost infinite length on the mouth... Enough to make you want to taste one of his Premiers or Grands Crus as well.

Order the Gevrey-Chambertin here
massena wind

 

Mourvèdre - known in Australia as Mataro - is allowed to play the leading role in only a few of the world's wines. So here it is in the limelight, alongside with a Grenache Noir and a Shiraz. The result? A dark, spicy and very intense wine with full-bodied tannins that will easily stand up to steaks, stews and game. Thanks to its slightly aromatic notes, it also stands out for its balanced freshness. Barossa at its best.

Order the Moonlight Run here
4g

 

It all started with the bold idea of creating a new cult wine from South Africa. So, four friends - all with a 'G' in their name - joined forces to create a multi-district blend with a lot of international know-how and meticulous attention to detail. In fact, in various blind tastings, it has already beaten various classics. Even when still young, their ‘Echo’ proves an easily accessible wine, while in the cellar, its older brother is still waiting to reach optimal drinking maturity.

Order the Echo of G here
Nyetimber CC WineLibrary 1160x766

 

In the international wine world, British sparkling wines are currently on everyone’s lips. Today, the average climate in the south of England resembles that of Champagne 20 years ago. The first pioneers - including Nyetimber - planted vines here several decades ago. Everybody knows the ancient chalk cliffs of England: that said, even the soils of the vineyards around Sussex, Kent & Co. are renowned for their high limestone content - as are the soils of the Champagne area. No wonder then, that England has now become one of the most dynamic 'sparkling' regions in the world.

Order Nyetimber Brut here
Balv Karte SP Sherry Gutierrez Colosia

 

Sherry is having a hard time being liked... Many fear its sweetness, are not willing to discover its different styles and therefore prefer to avoid it completely. To me, simply incomprehensible because in Jerez, something has been produced that practically no other wine region in the country has been able to do: to focusing on long years of ripeness, drought, stimulating salinity and a history turned into liquid - all at a truly incredible price. In other words: an experience to be reattempted, preferably with this very successful Amontillado. Whether as pre-dinner drink or as an accompaniment to an ‘apéritif riche’ with salted ham, instead of a white wine with your starter, in combination with a hard cheese, as ...

Order Amontillado Sherry here

More themes

Bordeaux 2019 Vintage Report
12.06.2020

Bordeaux 2019 Vintage Report

A RICH CLASSIC Read here the interesting vintage report written by Mario Aschwanden, Purchasing Manager.

Read more
The new winery of the year 2020/2021
28.04.2020

The new winery of the year 2020/2021

This time, spring is really here! The organic winery of Roland und Karin Lenz is from May 1 on for one year our new winery of the year 2020/2021!...

Read more
Weingut Erwin Tinhof
08.11.2019

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Tinhof is Neuburger - Neuburger is Austria - Small quantities - Great wines For 11 generations now, the Tinhof family has been growing wine in...

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

MARC ALMERT SELECTION

Marc Almert, ASI Best Sommelier of the World 2019 und Chef Sommelier Baur au Lac & Baur au Lac Vins, nimmt Sie mit seiner Selection auf eine kleine Reise zu Weinen, die ihn und sicherlich auch Sie, begeistern.

 

Marcs Neuentdeckungen und wiederentdeckte Klassiker sind Weine von Winzern mit beeindruckender Persönlichkeit und Handschrift wie die folgenden seiner Selection. Klicken Sie auf die folgenden Weine, um mehr darüber zu erfahren:

 

Blättern Sie hier in der ersten Auflage von MARC ALMERT SELECTION.

Sain Saphorin Les Blassinges franzoesisch

 

Im Sommer 2018 hatte ich die grosse Freude, Pierre-Luc Leyvraz und sein Team kennen zu lernen. Angekündigt worden war er von diversen Journalisten als «Roi du Chasselas», König des Chasselas. Dass dies keine Übertreibung ist, stellte sich bei einer charaktervollen Probe des terroirgeprägten Saint-Saphorin Les Blassinges heraus – ein Feuerwerk an Aromen, salzige Mineralität und Länge am Gaumen sowie eine beschwingte Leichtigkeit. Ein echter «Grand Cru». 

Les Blassinges bestellen
Chidaine

 

Chenin Blanc ist eine leider oft unterschätzte und fast unbekannte Rebsorte, obwohl sie zu den grossen Klassikern der Weinwelt gehört, insbesondere in ihrer Heimat, dem Loire-Tal. Dort schaffen biodynamische Winzer wie zum Beispiel François Chidaine herausragende Weine, die einen Spannungsbogen aus Säure und Fruchtsüsse auf die Zunge bringen. Vor Ort gerne zu Ziegenkäse genossen, passt er auch hervorragend zu Gerichten mit etwas Schärfe, z.B. Speisen nach Szechuan-Art. 

Les Bournais bestellen
Marcel Deiss L

 

Marcel Deiss arbeitet im malerischen Bergheim eigentlich ganz klassisch: Die Reben stehen im sogenannten gemischten Satz, sprich viele Rebsorten wild durcheinander, was schon im Mittelalter der Ertrags- und Qualitätssicherung diente, da dies die Reben resistenter macht. Diese bewirtschaftet er gemäss den historischen Grundlagen von Rudolf Steiner, dem Begründer der Biodynamie. Dass die Klassik oft hervorragende Früchte trägt, merkt man bei seinem Engelgarten: ein lang anhaltender, im Glas stets changierender und faszinierender Wein, der bei jedem Schwenken ein neues Aroma offenbart. 

Engelgarten bestellen
Ratzenberger L

 

Selbst in Deutschland ist der Mittelrhein eher für den Loreleyfelsen als für die dort wachsenden Spitzenrieslinge bekannt. Das jedoch zu Unrecht, wie diese perfekt ausbalancierte Rieslingspätlese eindrücklich beweist. Die steilen Schieferhänge, gepaart mit dem Handwerk einer engagierten Winzerfamilie und inzwischen auch etwas Flaschenreife, bringen einen Wein hervor, der lange in Erinnerung bleibt: leicht im Alkohol, knackige Säure sowie eine enorme Mineralität und tänzelnde Fruchtsüsse.

Riesling bestellen
Domaine de Cabasse L

 

In französischen Bistros wird einem oft glasweise ein fruchtiger, kräftiger und würziger Wein eingeschenkt. Schaut man dann aufs Etikett, entpuppt er sich meist als Produkt der südlichen Rhône. Toll, dass diese Weine nun auch hierzulande genossen werden können. Kleine Weingüter wie die charmante Domaine de Cabasse (nach einer ausgiebigen Weinprobe lässt es sich im angeschlossenen Hotel übrigens auch wunderbar schlummern) keltern einen Roten, der viele unterschiedliche Speisen ideal begleiten kann.

Gigondas Jucunditas bestellen
Julienas

 

Kaum eine Region in Frankreich erfindet sich aktuell so stark neu wie das Beaujolais. Wurde der örtliche Gamay bis vor wenigen Jahren noch als nur fruchtiger «Nouveau» verarbeitet, schaffen Weingüter wie Perrachon nun charaktervolle Weine mit Reifungspotential – und das aus zum Teil 100-jährigen Reben! Ideal für alle, die einen leichten, aber spannenden Rotwein suchen.

Juliénas bestellen
Mortet

 

Arnaud Mortet hat sich in den letzten Jahren zum «Rising Star» in Gevrey-Chambertin gemausert. Für ein unschlagbares Preis-Genuss-Verhältnis vermählt er hier fünf Lagen zu einem Gevrey-Chambertin Village, der es in sich hat. Betörende Frucht, grandiose Mineralität und eine schier unendliche Länge… Das macht richtig Lust, auch mal einen seiner Premier oder Grand Crus zu probieren.

Gevrey-Chambertin bestellen
massena wind

 

Mourvèdre – in Australien als Mataro bekannt – darf nur bei wenigen Weinen der Welt die Hauptrolle spielen. Hier steht er an erster Stelle, gemeinsam mit Grenache Noir und Shiraz. Was dabei herauskommt? Ein dunkler, würziger und sehr intensiver Wein mit kernigem Tannin, der locker mit Steak, Schmorgerichten und Wild mithalten kann. Dank leicht kräuterigen Noten besitzt er zudem eine ausbalancierte Frische. Barossa at its best

The Moonlight Run bestellen
4g

 

Es begann mit der gewagten Idee, den neuen Kultwein Südafrikas zu erschaffen. Dafür taten sich vier Freunde – alle mit einem G im Namen – zu diesem Projekt zusammen, und kreierten mit viel internationalem Know-how und minutiöser Detailarbeit einen Multi-District-Blend, der in diversen Blindproben schon so manchen Klassiker hinter sich gelassen hat. Unbedingt probieren – hier wird gerade Weingeschichte geschrieben. Der «Echo» zeigt sich schon in der Jugend zugänglich, während sein grosser Bruder noch im Keller auf die optimale Trinkreife wartet.

The Echo of G bestellen
Nyetimber CC WineLibrary 1160x766

 

In der internationalen Weinwelt sind britische Schaumweine derzeit in aller Munde. Im Durchschnitt herrscht in Südengland heute ein Klima wie in der Champagne vor 20 Jahren. Schon vor Jahrzehnten haben die ersten Pioniere – darunter Nyetimber – dort Reben gepfl anzt. Man kennt die klassischen Kreidefelsen Englands: Tatsächlich haben aber auch die Böden der Weinberge rund um Sussex, Kent & Co. hohe Kalkanteile, ähnlich wie in der Champagne. Kein Wunder also, dass England derzeit eine der dynamischsten «Sparkling»-Regionen weltweit ist. 

Nyetimber Brut Classic Cuvée bestellen
Balv Karte SP Sherry Gutierrez Colosia

 

Sherry hat es schwer … Viele fürchten die Süsse, trauen sich nicht zu, die verschiedenen Stile zu durchblicken, und meiden ihn daher lieber ganz. Für mich unverständlich, denn Jerez schafft etwas, was in kaum einer anderen Weinregion gelingt: jahrelange Reife, staubtrocken, animierende Salzigkeit und fl üssig gewordene Historie – das Ganze zu einem schier unfassbaren Preis. Unbedingt mal wieder probieren, am besten diesen gelungenen Amontillado. Sei es als Aperitif, als Begleiter zum Apéro riche mit salzigem Schinken, als Weissweinersatz zur Vorspeise, als spannendes Pairing zum Hartkäse, als … 

Sherry Amontillado bestellen

Weitere Themen

Vertikale Reiterpfad Dr. Bürklin-Wolf
19.12.2019

Vertikale Reiterpfad Dr. Bürklin-Wolf

Lesen Sie hier den spannenden Bericht über die Vertikalverkostung "25 Jahre Lagenklassifikation Weingut Dr. Bürklin-Wolf" von Mario Aschwanden, Leiter...

Weiterlesen
Burgund 2018 Vintage Report
20.11.2019

Burgund 2018 Vintage Report

Lesen Sie hier den interessanten Vintage Report zum neuen Jahrgang von Mario Aschwanden, Chef Einkauf.

Weiterlesen
Weingut Erwin Tinhof
08.11.2019

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Tinhof ist Neuburger - Neuburger ist Österreich - Kleine Mengen - Grosse Weine Seit nunmehr 11 Generationen betreibt Familie Tinhof Weinbau in...

Weiterlesen