to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

VINEYARD ESTATE ERWIN TINHOF - WINE FROM THE LEITHABERG

Tinhof is Neuburger - Neuburger is Austria - Small quantities - Great wines

 

For 11 generations now, the Tinhof family has been growing wine in Eisenstadt on the Leitha Range in Burgenland. This constellation is the source of their knowledge and experience as to which grape varieties flourish particularly well in this location, allowing the production of wines characteristic for the area. Neuburger, Pinot Blanc and Blaufränkisch, Sankt Laurent, some on vines established 55 years ago – are the focus of their expertise. Together with his team of idealists, Erwin Tinhof pursues the uncompromising goal of vinifying authentic wines bursting with character. A concentration on essentials, continuous refinement and consistent exchange of competence between dedicated specialists combine to create the distinctive Tinhof wines.

Tinhof's aim is to create harmonious, terroir wines with minerality, elegance and structure. They are never kitschy, loud or coarse. Origin and character in a wine are what makes it unique and important to the producer. The essential qualities need to achieve this aim comes exclusively from the vineyard. Through organic cultivation (certified organic since 2012) Tinhof grows balanced grapes, which provide them with an optimal basis for their wines. Mashing time and long yeast storage of their grapes, harvested exclusively by hand, give the wines depth and longevity.

The vineyard is located in Eisenstadt in Burgenland, 40 km southeast of Vienna, on the Leitha Range. Thanks to the Pannonian environment and that great climate regulator, the Lake Neusiedler, we have here on the Leitha Range the superb benefits needed to vinify white, red and sweet wines of the highest quality. Hot, dry summers and cold, dry winters together with the wind so typical for the Burgenland characterise the vegetation. As the final elevation of the Alps towards the Pannonian lowlands, the Leitha Range with its shell limestone soil millions of years old provides vines with optimal conditions for producing multi-layered wines. This unique soil, together with the cool breezes from the adjoining forests, gives the wines their unmistakable minerality, allowing them to reflect their authentic and unadulterated origin in the glass.

White wines from Weingut Erwin Tinhof

In Stock
Neuburger Leithaberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Neuburger Leithaberg

DAC, Weingut Erwin Tinhof, 2017, 750 ml
In Stock
Neuburger Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Weissburgunder Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Weissburgunder Leithaberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Weissburgunder Leithaberg

DAC, Weingut Erwin Tinhof, 2017, 750 ml

The very special small plot, «Golden Erd» (often called a “Ried” in Austria, T.N.) nowadays integrated into the main «Feiersteig» vineyard was mentioned already in the mountain annals of 1579 as the ideal vineyard location. Oriented to the southeast, this vineyard is characterised by the pure, coarse-grained limestone known as Leithakalk with a thin humus layer. In this particularly barren soil, the vines develop very deep roots and produce grapes with small aromatic berries. The resultant wines offer impressive depth, length and a very specific aroma. Perfect for creating exceptional Neuburger and Pinot Blanc wines with wonderful ageing potential.

Erwin Tinhof is particularly devoted to the native Neuburger grape variety. For him, Neuburger is not simply a grape variety, it means far more: homeland, commitment, dedication, but above all, a passion. The Tinhofs cultivate it because it has always been at home on the Leitha Range and has invariably played a key role in their family. This probable cross between Red Veltliner x Silvaner has, however, fallen into oblivion in recent decades and is no longer widespread across Austria. Rooted in the family tradition, the vineyard with its almost 6 hectares of Neuburger (out of 18 cultivated hectares in total) reflects the vine’s rich diversity. Nowadays, the well-regarded and fuller Neuburger has become the flagship of the Tinhof estate.

Producers

Weingut Trapl

Close to nature

Read more
Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

In 1994, while Roland Lenz was still studying oenology, he and his wife Karin were able to acquire eight hectares of vines on the Iselisberg. It was a unique opportunity that they seized, even though they were toying with the idea of setting up their own business abroad, far from Switzerland. They actually did so later, but that's another story…

Read more
Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno and his Baroli from Piedmont, is one of Baur au Lac Vins' long-standing partners. He talks about his new Tuscan passion with beaming eyes:

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

WEINGUT ERWIN TINHOF - WEIN VOM LEITHABERG
 


Tinhof ist Neuburger - Neuburger ist Österreich - Kleine Mengen - Grosse Weine

 

Seit nunmehr 11 Generationen betreibt Familie Tinhof Weinbau in Eisenstadt am Leithagebirge im Burgenland. Daraus schöpft sich ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung, welche Rebsorten hier besonders gut wachsen und typische Weine entstehen lassen können. Neuburger, Weissburgunder und Blaufränkisch, Sankt Laurent, teilweise Rebstöcke, die bis zu 55 Jahre alt sind – das ist ihr Fokus. Kompromisslos verfolgt Erwin Tinhof zusammen mit seinem Team aus Idealisten das klare Ziel, unverfälschte, charaktervolle Weine zu vinifizieren. Die Besinnung auf das Wesentliche, die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und der stetige Austausch untereinander ist das, was die Tinhof-Weine auszeichnet.

Tinhofs Anspruch ist es, harmonisch, mineralische Terroirweine mit Eleganz und Struktur entstehen zu lassen. Sie sind nie kitschig, laut oder plakativ. Herkunft und Charakter in einem Wein, das ist es, was seine Einzigartigkeit ausmacht und ihnen wichtig ist. Die Qualität hierfür kommt ausschliesslich aus dem Weingarten. Durch die biologische Bewirtschaftung (Bio-zertifiziert seit 2012) erhalten sie ausgeglichene Trauben, die ihnen eine optimale Basis für ihre Weine liefern. Maischestandzeit und lange Hefelagerung ihrer nur von Hand gelesenen Trauben geben den Weinen Tiefgang und Langlebigkeit.

Das Weingut ist in Eisenstadt im Burgenland, 40 km südöstlich von Wien, am Leithaberg beheimatet. Geprägt durch das pannonische Klima und den großen Klimaregulator Neusiedler See, haben wir hier am Leithaberg die grossartige Voraussetzung Weiss-, Rot- und Süssweine in höchster Qualität zu vinifizieren. Warme, trockene Sommer und kalte, trockene Winter prägen gemeinsam mit dem für das Burgenland so typischen Wind die Vegetation. Als letzte Erhebung der Alpen in Richtung pannonischer Tiefebene bietet der Leithaberg mit seinem Jahrmillionen alten Muschelkalkboden den Reben optimale Vorrausetzungen für vielschichtige Weine. Dieser unverwechselbare Boden zusammen mit den kühlen Winden aus den angrenzenden Wäldern drückt den Weinen diesen mineralisch strukturierten Stempel auf. Dadurch können sie unverfälscht und klar ihre Herkunft im Glas widerspiegeln.

Weissweine von Weingut Erwin Tinhof

In Stock
Weissburgunder Leithaberg
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Weissburgunder Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Neuburger Leithaberg
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Neuburger Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Die spezielle, kleine Riede, «Golden Erd», die in die Grossriede «Feiersteig» integriert ist, wurde schon in den Bergbüchern von 1579 als die beste Weingartenlage erwähnt. Ausgerichtet nach Südosten prägt diese Riede der reine, grobschollige Leithakalk mit geringer Humusauflage. In diesem besonders kargen Boden wurzeln die Reben sehr tief und lassen Trauben mit kleinen aromatischen Beeren entstehen. Die Weine bieten beeindruckende Tiefe, Länge und eine eigenständige Aromatik. Perfekt um aussergewöhnliche Neuburger und Weissburgunder mit wunderbarem Entwicklungspotential entstehen zu lassen.

Erwin Tinhof widmet sich ganz besonders der autochthonen Rebsorte Neuburger. Für ihn ist Neuburger nicht nur eine Rebsorte, sie ist viel mehr: Heimat, Leidenschaft, Hingabe, aber vorallem eine Passion. Tinhofs nehmen sich ihr an, weil sie am Leithaberg schon immer heimisch war und in ihrer Familie seit je her einen grossen Stellenwert hatte. Die wahrscheinliche Kreuzung aus Rotem Veltliner und Silvaner ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten jedoch in Vergessenheit geraten und in Österreich nicht mehr weit verbreitet. Aus der Familientradition heraus, spiegelt das Weingut mit fast 6 Hektaren Neuburger (von 18 Hektaren Gesamtanbaufläche) ihren Facettenreichtum wider. Heute ist der vielbeachtete und fülligere Neuburger das Aushängeschild von Tinhof.

Winzer

Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte, Visionär und begnadeter Unternehmer, präsentierte seinen Champagner erstmals 1976. Dieser wurde sehr schnell in USA, Australien und England zur Trendmarke in Jetset-Kreisen, wo Nicolas Feuillatte regelmässig verkehrte. In nur 30 Jahren wurde Nicolas Feuillatte zur Champagnermarke Nr. 1 in Frankreich und stand 2016, genau 40 Jahre nach deren Gründung, weltweit auf Platz Nr. 3 auf der Liste der grössten Exportmarken.

Weiterlesen
Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Die Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi-Gruppe ist ein spanisches Weingutensemble, dessen Weinberge sich in Alicante (Valencia), in der nordöstlich gelegenen Region Navarra, im Baskenland in Álava und in Gipuzkoa befinden. 1985 gründete eine Gruppe von Winzern dieses private Kooperationsprojekt, das bis auf eine kleine Ausnahme nur reinsortige Weine produziert.

Weiterlesen
Rocche Costamagna / Alessandro Locatelli

Rocche Costamagna / Alessandro Locatelli

Die Rocche-Costamagna-Weine entstehen aus dem Zusammenspiel der Faktoren geographische Lage, Sorgfalt in Weinberg und Weinkeller, jahrzehntelange Erfahrung.

Weiterlesen