to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

He was born 'at home', right above his father's bodega. The scent of wine and barrels must have been lying in the air and thus dictated his further life. He studied oenology in Bordeaux and gathered professional experience at the Château Pétrus, and in London, Dublin, and California. Today, he owns vines in the Priorat county, in Bierzo, and at home in the Rioja, and proves his extraordinary talent with premium wines year after year.

He loves his family, motorcycles, nature, songs by Camarón, a challenge and taking risks. He seems believable when he confesses that his second calling would have been to be a 'torero', a bullfighter. He bristles with dynamism and power.

He went to Bordeaux to study oenology when he was 21 years old. The next stage saw him working at the Château Pétrus for two years. Then he returned home. His father José Palacios Remondo had built a bodega in close to Alfaro in 1948 following a family tradition dating back to 1651. However, Álvaro felt constricted upon his return. In 1989, he was pulled towards the abandoned Priorat, where his first resounding success would take place shortly. He was restless to hurry to the next challenge in Bierzo, where he prompted the next furore. His international reputation as a star winegrower had already been established when his father died in 2000. This marked the right moment to return home – his birthplace.

White wines from Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Rioja Plácet Valtomelloso
Vegan

Red wines from Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Only 12 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 92+ Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 92+ Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan

The parental estate encompassing about 150 hectares in total is situated in the Rioja Baja, to the west of Alfaro. Álvaro mainly builds on Garnacha instead of Tempranillo, as it reaches its full potential on the rocky, ferrous quartziferous lime soil. The winters are very cold and the summers can get extremely hot. Here, the precipitation is just about half that of the Rioja Alta. About 110 hectares comprise the site of La Montesa hillside of the Monte Yerga. The Tempranillo prospers on the higher and cooler slopes, while the Garnacha feels at home at lower altitudes. Near the La Montesa site one can find the Viura vine stocks used for the Plácet circling a little magazine. The parcel is called Valtomelloso. With its 40- to 70-year-old vine stocks, the site Propiedad comprises about 10 hectares divided into 5 parcels situated about 600 meters above sea level. They are stocked exclusively with Garnacha. In 2014, an entirely a new vineyard consisting of Garnacha, Viura and Monsatrell mixed was planted as it used to in the past. The idea: A Rioja wine with the quality of a Grand cru! We can be excited for its first vintage.

At home, Álvaro has also been crowned by success, having received numerous awards and consistently high ratings. His talent, his intuition and his untiring inventiveness have enabled him to elevate his parental estate to the top of international wines.

Producers

Weingut Erich Meier

Weingut Erich Meier

Read more
Champagne Philipponnat

Champagne Philipponnat

Journeying across Champagne you will inevitably come across familiar sounding names. Grand names behind which often hide grand houses that carry on their business at the global level.

Read more
Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

In 1933, the winegrowers and wine merchants of Châteauneuf-du-Pape were the first to impose quality rules relating to the cultivation and production of wines that would bear the name Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The geographic definition of the cultivation area, along with the other regulations, is still in force today, in order to guarantee the wine quality for connoisseurs. The Gradassi family of the Domaine des Pères de l’Église is following the tradition, but with the fresh impetus provided by the young fourth generation.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

Il est né "à la maison" au-dessus du chai de son père. L'odeur du vin et des tonneaux était probablement dans l'air et a déterminé sa vie future. Il étudie l'œnologie à Bordeaux et acquiert une expérience professionnelle au Château Pétrus, à Londres, Dublin et en Californie. Aujourd'hui, il possède des vignobles dans le Priorat, le Bierzo et chez lui dans la Rioja et prouve son extraordinaire talent avec des vins de qualité année après année.

Il aime sa famille, les motos, la nature, les chansons de Camarón, le défi et le risque. On le croit tout de suite quand il avoue que sa seconde vocation était celle de torero. Il déborde de dynamisme et de puissance.

A l'âge de 21 ans, il se rend à Bordeaux pour étudier l'œnologie. L'étape suivante a été un poste au Château Pétrus pendant deux ans. Puis il est rentré chez lui. Son père, José Palacios Remondo, avait construit une bodega près d'Alfaro en 1948, selon une tradition familiale qui remonte à 1651. Mais, à son retour, Álvaro s’y sentait quelque peu à l’étroit. Il s'installe en 1989 dans le Priorat quasi abandonné, où il rencontre un premier succès retentissant. Il se précipite ensuite sans répit vers son prochain défi dans le Bierzo, où il fait aussi sensation. A la mort de son père en 2000, il disposait déjà d’une renommée internationale de vigneron vedette et le moment était pour lui venu de revenir sur sa terre natale.

Vins blancs de Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock

Vins rouges de Bodega Palacios Remondo, Alvaro Palacios

In Stock
Rioja La Vendimia
Végan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Végan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Rioja Crianza La Montesa
Plus que 20 Bouteilles
Végan

Le vignoble parental de 150 hectares est situé dans la Rioja Baja, à l'ouest d'Alfaro. Álvaro s'appuie de plus en plus sur le Garnacha au lieu du Tempranillo, qui, dans ce climat et sur les sols caillouteux, limoneux et calcaires contenant du fer et du quartz, atteint son apogée. Les hivers sont très froids et les étés parfois très chauds. Comparées aux précipitations tombant sur la Rioja Alta, seules la moitié se déverse sur la Rioja Baja. Le vignoble de La Montesa est situé sur la colline de Monte Yerga et s'étend sur 110 hectares. Sur les pentes plus en altitude et plus fraîches, le Tempranillo prospère, tandis que le Garnacha se sent le plus à l'aise en contrebas. Au milieu de La Montesa, autour d'un petit entrepôt, poussent les vignes de Viura pour le Plácet. La parcelle se nomme Valtomelloso. Le vignoble de Propiedad, constitué de vignes ayant de 40 à 70 ans, s’étend sur une dizaine d’hectares répartis sur 5 parcelles située à environ 600 mètres d’altitude et plantées exclusivement de Garnacha. De plus, en 2014, un vignoble mixte de Garnacha, Viura et Monastrell a vu le jour. Son but: produire un Rioja de qualité Grand Cru! On attend le premier millésime avec impatience.

Chez lui aussi, Álvaro est couronné de succès, récompensé à maintes reprises et croulant sous les évaluations dithyrambiques. Avec son talent, sa main heureuse et sa créativité infatigable, il a réussi à élever le chai de ses parents au plus haut niveau international depuis qu'il en a repris le contrôle.

Producteurs

Domaine Bruno Colin

Domaine Bruno Colin

en savoir plus
Cascina Morassino / R. & M. Bianco

Cascina Morassino / R. & M. Bianco

en savoir plus

Quinta dos Roques

en savoir plus