to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

MARC ALMERT SELECTION

Marc Almert, World's Best ASI 2019 Sommelier and Chef Sommelier at Baur au Lac & Baur au Lac Vins, suggests a little trip with a selection of wines that delight him and certainly you too.

 

Marc's new discoveries and rediscovered classics are from winemakers with impressive personalities and signature like the following wines in his Selection. Click on the following wines to learn more about them:

 

 

More information about the first edition of the MARC ALMERT SELECTION here.

 

Sain Saphorin Les Blassinges deutsch

 

In the summer of 2018, I had the great pleasure of meeting Pierre-Luc Leyvraz and his team. Often called the “King of Chasselas” by numerous journalists, this definition is anything but exaggerated and seems fully justified you at the latest once you tasted his Saint-Saphorin “Les Blassinges” - a firework of aromas, salty minerality and great length on the palate, yet further enhanced by a buoyant lightness. A true “Grand Cru”.

Order Les Blassinges here
Chidaine

 

Regrettably often underestimated and indeed almost unknown, the Chenin Blanc grape variety is one of the great classics of the wine world, particularly in its natural environment, the Loire Valley. There, biodynamic winegrowers such as François Chidaine create outstanding wines that delight the palate with a seductive blend of acidity and fruity sweetness. Popularly enjoyed locally with goat cheese, these wines also readily complement more spicy dishes, e.g. Sichuan-style cuisine.

Order Les Bournais here
Marcel Deiss L

 

It is in Bergheim, a picturesque little town nestled in the heart of wine-growing Alsace, that Marcel Deiss works the vines in a very classical way: different varieties of vines grow in what is known as wild and mixed cultures, an approach already common in the Middle Ages to guarantee stable yield and quality, also to make the vines more resistant. He cultivates them according to the historical principles of Rudolf Steiner, the founder of biodynamics. Stating that classical approaches often bring excellent fruit is proved by tasting his “Engelgarten”: a fascinating wine that lingers on the palate, always changing in the glass, revealing a new aroma with every new swirl.

Order Engelgarten here
Ratzenberger L

 

Even in Germany, the Middle Rhine is better known for the Loreley Rock than for the best Rieslings growing there - wrongly, however, as this perfectly balanced “Riesling Spätlese” (late harvest) proves impressively. Together with the know-how of a dedicated family of winegrowers and, in the meantime, a few years of bottle age, the steep slate slopes contribute to produce a wine that will be remembered for a long time: light in alcohol, with a lively acidity as well as a wonderful minerality and a cheerful fruity sweetness.

Order Wolfshöhle here
Domaine de Cabasse L

 

In French bistros, you are often served a fruity, strong and spicy wine by the glass. Looking at the label, it usually turns out to be a product of the southern Rhône region. Fortunately, it’s now possible to enjoy these wines here at home too. Small wineries like the charming Domaine de Cabasse press a red wine that ideally accompanies a diversity of dishes. Moreover, after a rather generous wine tasting, you can even enjoy a wonderful night’s sleep at the adjacent hotel.

Order Gigondas Jucunditas here
Julienas

 

Few regions in France have recently reinvented themselves as markedly as the Beaujolais. While the local Gamay continued to be transformed into a fruity “Beaujolais Nouveau” until just a few years ago, wineries such as Perrachon are now creating wines of character with real ageing potential - even from partially century-old vines! Ideal for all those who are looking for a red wine that is both light and fascinating.

Order the Juliénas here
Mortet

 

In recent years, Arnaud Mortet has become the Shooting Star of Gevrey-Chambertin. With an unbeatable price/quality ratio, he combines five sites to create a Gevrey-Chambertin Village that says it all. A beguiling fruit, a grandiose minerality and an almost infinite length on the mouth... Enough to make you want to taste one of his Premiers or Grands Crus as well.

Order the Gevrey-Chambertin here
massena wind

 

Mourvèdre - known in Australia as Mataro - is allowed to play the leading role in only a few of the world's wines. So here it is in the limelight, alongside with a Grenache Noir and a Shiraz. The result? A dark, spicy and very intense wine with full-bodied tannins that will easily stand up to steaks, stews and game. Thanks to its slightly aromatic notes, it also stands out for its balanced freshness. Barossa at its best.

Order the Moonlight Run here
4g

 

It all started with the bold idea of creating a new cult wine from South Africa. So, four friends - all with a 'G' in their name - joined forces to create a multi-district blend with a lot of international know-how and meticulous attention to detail. In fact, in various blind tastings, it has already beaten various classics. Even when still young, their ‘Echo’ proves an easily accessible wine, while in the cellar, its older brother is still waiting to reach optimal drinking maturity.

Order the Echo of G here
Nyetimber CC WineLibrary 1160x766

 

In the international wine world, British sparkling wines are currently on everyone’s lips. Today, the average climate in the south of England resembles that of Champagne 20 years ago. The first pioneers - including Nyetimber - planted vines here several decades ago. Everybody knows the ancient chalk cliffs of England: that said, even the soils of the vineyards around Sussex, Kent & Co. are renowned for their high limestone content - as are the soils of the Champagne area. No wonder then, that England has now become one of the most dynamic 'sparkling' regions in the world.

Order Nyetimber Brut here
Balv Karte SP Sherry Gutierrez Colosia

 

Sherry is having a hard time being liked... Many fear its sweetness, are not willing to discover its different styles and therefore prefer to avoid it completely. To me, simply incomprehensible because in Jerez, something has been produced that practically no other wine region in the country has been able to do: to focusing on long years of ripeness, drought, stimulating salinity and a history turned into liquid - all at a truly incredible price. In other words: an experience to be reattempted, preferably with this very successful Amontillado. Whether as pre-dinner drink or as an accompaniment to an ‘apéritif riche’ with salted ham, instead of a white wine with your starter, in combination with a hard cheese, as ...

Order Amontillado Sherry here

More themes

Bordeaux 2019 Vintage Report
12.06.2020

Bordeaux 2019 Vintage Report

A RICH CLASSIC Read here the interesting vintage report written by Mario Aschwanden, Purchasing Manager.

Read more
The new winery of the year 2020/2021
28.04.2020

The new winery of the year 2020/2021

This time, spring is really here! The organic winery of Roland und Karin Lenz is from May 1 on for one year our new winery of the year 2020/2021!...

Read more
Weingut Erwin Tinhof
08.11.2019

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Tinhof is Neuburger - Neuburger is Austria - Small quantities - Great wines For 11 generations now, the Tinhof family has been growing wine in...

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

MARC ALMERT SELECTION

Marc Almert, Meilleur Sommelier ASI 2019 du Monde et Chef Sommelier au Baur au Lac & Baur au Lac Vins, vous propose un petit voyage avec une sélection de vins qui le ravissent, lui, et qui vous enchanteront certainement aussi.

 

Les nouvelles découvertes et les classiques redécouverts de Marc sont des vins de vignerons à la personnalité et à la signature impressionnantes, tels que ceux qui figurent dans sa sélection. Cliquez sur les vins suivants pour en savoir plus: 

 

 

Plus d’informations sur la première édition de la SÉLECTION MARC ALMERT ici.

Sain Saphorin Les Blassinges englisch

 

Au cours de l'été 2018, j'ai eu le grand plaisir de faire la connaissance de Pierre-Luc Leyvraz et de son équipe. En amont déjà, il avait été décrit par différents journalistes comme «Le Roi du Chasselas». Que cette définition ait été tout sauf exagérée vous frappait au plus tard après avoir dégusté son Saint-Saphorin ‘Les Blassinges’, marqué par le terroir et très typé - un feu d'artifice d'arômes, de minéralité salée et de longueur en bouche ainsi qu'une légèreté portante. Un vrai Grand Cru.

Ajoutez Les Blassinges au panier
Chidaine

 

Le Chenin Blanc, hélas, est un cépage souvent sous-estimé et presque inconnu, bien qu'il soit l'un des grands classiques du monde du vin, notamment dans sa région d'origine, la vallée de la Loire. Là, des vignerons biodynamiques tels que François Chidaine, créent des vins exceptionnels qui séduisent le palais par un mélange passionnant d'acidité et de douceur fruitée. Apprécié localement avec du fromage de chèvre, il se marie aussi très bien avec des mets un peu épicés, comme les plats de la cuisine sichuanaise.

Ajoutez Les Bournais au panier
Marcel Deiss L

 

C’est à Bergheim, une petite localité pittoresque nichée au cœur de l’Alsace viticole que Marcel Deiss travaille la vigne de façon très classique: différentes variétés de vignes croissent dans ce que l'on appelle des cultures mixtes, de manière sauvage, approche déjà courante au Moyen Âge pour garantir un rendement et une qualité stables, et connue pour rendre les vignes plus résistantes. Il les cultive selon les principes historiques de Rudolf Steiner, le fondateur de la biodynamie. Affirmer que les démarches classiques portent souvent d'excellents fruits s’avère en dégustant son ‘Engelgarten’: un vin fascinant qui persiste en bouche, toujours changeant dans le verre, qui révèle un nouvel arôme à chaque nouvelle agitation.

Ajoutez Engelgarten au panier
Ratzenberger L

 

Même en Allemagne, le Rhin moyen est plus connu pour le rocher de la Loreley que pour les meilleurs rieslings qui y poussent. À tort hélas, comme le prouve de façon impressionnante ce ‘Riesling Spätlese’ parfaitement équilibré. Associés au savoir-faire d’une famille de vignerons dévoués et, entre temps, au vieillissement en bouteille, les raides coteaux d’ardoise contribuent à la facture d’un vin dont on se souviendra longtemps: léger en alcool, vive acidité ainsi qu’une formidable minéralité et une douceur fruitée enjouée.

Ajoutez Wolfshöhle au panier
Domaine de Cabasse L

 

Dans les bistrots français, on vous sert fréquemment des vins au verre fruités, puissants et épicés. Puis, en consultant l’étiquette de la bouteille, on constate généralement qu’il provient du Rhône méridional. C’est donc un vrai plaisir de pouvoir désormais aussi déguster ces vins chez nous. De petites exploitations vinicoles telles que le charmant Domaine de Cabasse produit un vin rouge qui accompagne parfaitement bien un éventail de plats. En outre, autre info utile: possibilité, après une dégustation de vin plus poussée, de passer une excellente nuit sur place, dans l’hôtel adjacent.

Ajoutez Gigondas Jucunditas au panier
Julienas

 

Rares sont les régions en France qui, depuis peu, se réinventent de façon aussi marquée que le Beaujolais. Tandis que le Gamay local continuait à être transformé en un «Beaujolais Nouveau» fruité jusqu’à il y a quelques années encore, des entreprises viticoles comme celle de Perrachon créent aujourd’hui des vins de caractère avec un véritable potentiel de garde – même à partir de vignes partiellement centenaires! Idéal pour tous ceux qui recherchent un vin rouge à la fois léger et fascinant.

Ajoutez Juliénas au panier
Mortet

 

Ces dernières années, Arnaud Mortet est devenu l’Étoile Montante de Gevrey-Chambertin. Avec un rapport qualité/prix imbattable, il marie cinq sites pour créer un Gevrey-Chambertin Village qui en dit long. Un fruit envoûtant, une minéralité grandiose et une longueur en bouche presque infinie... De quoi donner envie de déguster également un de ses Premiers ou Grands Crus.

Ajoutez Gevrey-Chambertin au panier
massena wind

 

Le Mourvèdre - connu en Australie sous le nom de Mataro – n’a le droit d’interpréter le rôle principal que dans quelques vins du monde. Le voici donc sur le devant de la scène, en compagnie d’un Grenache Noir et d’un Shiraz. Le résultat? Un vin sombre, épicé et très intense avec des tanins corsés qui tiendront facilement tête aux steaks, ragoûts et gibier. Grâce à des notes légèrement aromatiques, il se distingue également par une fraîcheur équilibrée. Barossa at its best.

Ajoutez Moonlight run au panier
4g

 

Tout avait commencé par l'idée audacieuse de créer un nouveau vin culte d'Afrique du Sud. Aussi, quatre amis - tous avec un ‘G’ dans leur nom - ont uni leurs forces pour créer un mélange multi-districts grâce à beaucoup de savoir-faire international et une attention méticuleuse aux détails. D’ailleurs, dans diverses dégustations à l'aveugle, il a déjà devancé divers grands classiques. Dès sa jeunesse, l'«Écho» s’avère bien accessible tandis qu’à la cave, son grand frère attend encore pour atteindre la maturité de consommation optimale.

Ajoutez The Echo of G au panier
Nyetimber CC WineLibrary 1160x766

 

Dans le monde viticole international, les vins mousseux britanniques sont actuellement sur toutes les lèvres. Aujourd’hui en effet, le climat moyen du sud de l’Angleterre ressemble à celui de la Champagne d’il y a 20 ans. Les premiers pionniers - dont Nyetimber - y ont planté des vignes il y a plusieurs décennies. Tout le monde connaît les anciennes falaises crayeuses de l’Angleterre: cela dit, même les sols des vignobles autour du Sussex, de Kent & cie. Sont réputés pour leur teneur élevée en calcaire - tout comme en terre champenoise. Il n’est donc pas étonnant qu’actuellement, l’Angleterre soit devenue l’une des régions «à bulles» les plus dynamiques du monde.

Ajoutez Nyetimber brut au panier
Balv Karte SP Sherry Gutierrez Colosia

 

Le Sherry a de la peine à se faire aimer… Beaucoup craignent sa douceur, ne sont pas disposés à découvrir ses différents styles et préfèrent dès lors l’éviter complètement. Pour moi, tout simplement incompréhensible, car dans le Jerez, on est arrivé à produire quelque chose que pratiquement nulle autre région viticole du pays n’a su faire: miser sur de longues années de maturité, de sécheresse, de salinité stimulante et un historique devenu fluide – le tout à un prix vraiment incroyable. En d’autres termes: une expérience à retenter, de préférence avec cet Amontillado très réussi. Que ce soit en apéritif ou pour accompagner un apéritif riche au jambon salé, en remplacement d’un vin blanc avec l’entrée, en association avec un fromage à pâte dure, pour…

Ajoutez Sherry Amontillado au panier

Autres thèmes

Livraison gratuite en Suisse!
17.03.2020

Livraison gratuite en Suisse!

Commandez confortablement en ligne! A partir de maintenant, livraison gratuite en Suisse! Les succursales resteront fermées jusqu'à nouvel...

en savoir plus
Sensationelles Angebot von EuroCave und Baur au Lac Vins!
26.03.2020

Sensationelles Angebot von EuroCave und Baur au Lac Vins!

Viele Faktoren beeinflussen den subjektiven Genussgrad beim Weintrinken: das Ambiente, die Begleitung, das Klima oder das ganz persönliche...

en savoir plus
Weingut Erwin Tinhof
08.11.2019

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Tinhof est Neuburger - Neuburger est Autriche- Petites quantités - Grands vins Depuis 11 générations, la famille Tinhof cultive la vigne à Eisenstadt,...

en savoir plus