to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and has set new standards on Majorca.

The ingeniously simple building fits harmoniously into the gently hilly landscape. In the distance, you can see the capital, and with a clear view, even the world-famous gothic cathedral, built from vibrant golden sandstone. The equipment has been selected according to the state of the art, and leaves nothing to be desired. The required power is acquired using solar cells, and all the water used is purified under strict monitoring before being fed back into circulation. This is all the more important, as for years now, Majorca has been suffering from a water shortage.

White wines from Son Mayol

In Stock

Red wines from Son Mayol

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol 2016
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock

from Son Mayol

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol 2016
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol 2017
Only 19 Bottles
Vegan

The first vines were planted in 2007/2008. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot – the classic Bordeaux varieties – are distributed across 35 different plots, occupying around 20 hectares in total. In Majorca’s warm Mediterranean climate, the slightly elevated position and differing alignment of the individual vineyards represent an advantage when it comes to pressing elegant, long-lasting wines. Cultivation is by biological and biodynamic methods, always under the utmost care.

The first commercial vintage under its own name appeared in 2014. The winemaker is no less than Patrick Léon, former oenologist at Château Mouton-Rothschild for 20 years, and adviser to the world’s most prestigious vineyards, such as Opus One or Almaviva. Sadly, he passed away at the end of 2018. His legacy was carried on for a few years by Marie Barbé, who had worked alongside him, and his son Patrick. Today, Leo Borsi is responsible for the undisputed top wines.  

The grapes from the various plots are vinified separately. Depending on the young wines’ characteristics, they are assembled into either Grand Vin or Premier Vin, and aged in barriques for different lengths of time. The Grand Vin is the classic, characterised by its imposing structure, complexity and long storage potential. The Premier Vin appeals thanks to its pronounced fruitiness and its lighter tannin and body structure.

Son Mayol’s logo depicts the head of an Angus cow. It all started with cattle farming. The production of the very highest quality meat, based on ecological considerations, is still an active part of Son Mayol’s business. Upon entering the bodega, every visitor is eyed up by the animals in minute detail. The cattle are not fussy eaters either, and here and there manage to feast themselves upon the sweet grapes. Another ‘important’ role at Son Mayol is fulfilled by four-legged friends. They appear on the bottles’ labels as upholders of the bottling process: The dogs Luna, Lena and Linda, for example, were responsible for the 2016 vintage. How refreshingly likeable for a bodega that is one of Spain's top wineries! 

Producer

Maria Casanovas

Maria Casanovas

The Bodega or Cava Maria Casanovas is located in the heart of the Penedès, in Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, the centre of Cava production. It is owned by the Casanovas family and managed by three children of Maria Casanovas. Jordi and Jacint are responsible for the vineyards and the cellar, Rosa for administration and marketing.

Read more
Elias Mora

Elias Mora

The bodega was founded in 2000 by Victoria Benavides and the name of the winery honours the former owner of the vineyards: Elías Mora. The oenologist is one of Spain's undisputed winegrowers.

Read more
Weingut Salzl

Weingut Salzl

The Austrian winery Salzl Seewinkelhof is located in Illmitz, surrounded by the picturesque lakes and plains of the Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel National Park in Burgenland. A good hour’s drive from Vienna lies this family winery that also provides comfortable 4-star accommodation in an attached guesthouse with a pool.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Son Mayol

Cette nouvelle bodega, qui est une référence à Majorque, est située non loin de la ville dynamique de Palma.

Le bâtiment simple et raffiné s'intègre harmonieusement dans le paysage légèrement vallonné. On peut voir au loin la capitale et, lorsque la vue est dégagée, on peut même apercevoir la cathédrale gothique mondialement célèbre faite de grès doré. L'aménagement respecte les traditions les plus modernes et répond à toutes les attentes. L'énergie nécessaire est générée par des panneaux solaires, toute la consommation d'eau est nettoyée de manière contrôlé avant d'être réinjectée dans le circuit. C'est d'autant plus important que Majorque souffre de pénurie d'eau depuis des années.

Vins blancs de Son Mayol

Vins rouges de Son Mayol

de Son Mayol

Les premiers plants de vigne ont été plantés en 2007/2008. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc et Petit Verdot – les cépages classiques de Bordeaux – sont répartis sur 35 parcelles qui couvrent au total 20 hectares de terrain. Dans le climat méditerranéen chaud de Majorque, l'emplacement en léger surplomb et l'orientation variée des différents vignobles constituent des avantages et permettent vinifier des vins élégants et durables. Pour leur entretien, des méthodes biologiques et également biodynamiques sont appliquées avec le plus grand soin.

En 2014, la première cuvée a été commercialisée sous son nom propre. Le maître de chai et oenologue n'était autre que Patrick Léon, ancien œnologue de Château Mouton-Rothschild pendant 20 ans et conseiller pour les domaines viticoles les plus célèbres au monde tels qu'Opus One et Almaviva. Malheureusement, il est décédé fin 2018 et son héritage a été perpétué pendant quelques années par Marie Barbé, qui avait travaillé à ses côtés, et son fils Patrick. Aujourd'hui, c'est Leo Borsi qui est responsable de l'excellence incontestée de ses vins. 

Les raisins des différentes parcelles sont vinifiés séparément. En fonction de la caractéristique des jeunes vins, ils sont assemblés en Grand Vin ou Premier Vin et sont élevés sur des périodes de temps variées en barriques. Le Grand Vin est le vin classique qui se caractérise par sa structure imposante, sa complexité et son grand potentiel de garde. Le Premier Vin séduit par son fruit marqué et sa structure de tannin et de corps plus légère.

Le logo de Son Mayol représente une tête de bœuf Angus. Tout a commencé par l'élevage bovin. La fabrication d'une viande de qualité optimale en respect des considérations écologiques reste un secteur d'activité de Son Mayol. Les animaux dévisagent les visiteurs à l'entrée de la bodega. Ils sont gourmands et arrivent de temps en temps à parvenir jusqu'aux raisins sucrés. D'autres animaux à quatre pattes jouent un rôle «important» à Son Mayol. Ils apparaissent sur l'étiquette des bouteilles comme gardiens de la mise en bouteilles: les chiens Luna, Lena et Linda, par exemple, étaient responsables du millésime 2016. Quelle sympathie rafraîchissante pour une bodega qui fait partie des meilleurs domaines viticoles espagnols! 

Producteur

Peter Michael Winery

Peter Michael Winery

Dans les années 1970, Sir Peter Michael débarquait en Californie en tant que jeune ingénieur et découvrait l’univers du vin californien, qui était alors en plein essor et que quelques noms de premier plan avaient porté sur la scène internationale.

en savoir plus
Maria Casanovas

Maria Casanovas

La Bodega ou Cava Maria Casanovas est située au cœur du Penedès, à Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, la capitale du Cava. Elle appartient à la famille Casanovas et est gérée par trois des enfants de Maria Casanovas. Jordi et Jacint sont responsables des vignobles et de la cave, Rosa de l'administration et des ventes.

en savoir plus
Bodegas Olivares / Paco Selva

Bodegas Olivares / Paco Selva

en savoir plus