to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

VINEYARD ESTATE ERWIN TINHOF - WINE FROM THE LEITHABERG

Tinhof is Neuburger - Neuburger is Austria - Small quantities - Great wines

 

For 11 generations now, the Tinhof family has been growing wine in Eisenstadt on the Leitha Range in Burgenland. This constellation is the source of their knowledge and experience as to which grape varieties flourish particularly well in this location, allowing the production of wines characteristic for the area. Neuburger, Pinot Blanc and Blaufränkisch, Sankt Laurent, some on vines established 55 years ago – are the focus of their expertise. Together with his team of idealists, Erwin Tinhof pursues the uncompromising goal of vinifying authentic wines bursting with character. A concentration on essentials, continuous refinement and consistent exchange of competence between dedicated specialists combine to create the distinctive Tinhof wines.

Tinhof's aim is to create harmonious, terroir wines with minerality, elegance and structure. They are never kitschy, loud or coarse. Origin and character in a wine are what makes it unique and important to the producer. The essential qualities need to achieve this aim comes exclusively from the vineyard. Through organic cultivation (certified organic since 2012) Tinhof grows balanced grapes, which provide them with an optimal basis for their wines. Mashing time and long yeast storage of their grapes, harvested exclusively by hand, give the wines depth and longevity.

The vineyard is located in Eisenstadt in Burgenland, 40 km southeast of Vienna, on the Leitha Range. Thanks to the Pannonian environment and that great climate regulator, the Lake Neusiedler, we have here on the Leitha Range the superb benefits needed to vinify white, red and sweet wines of the highest quality. Hot, dry summers and cold, dry winters together with the wind so typical for the Burgenland characterise the vegetation. As the final elevation of the Alps towards the Pannonian lowlands, the Leitha Range with its shell limestone soil millions of years old provides vines with optimal conditions for producing multi-layered wines. This unique soil, together with the cool breezes from the adjoining forests, gives the wines their unmistakable minerality, allowing them to reflect their authentic and unadulterated origin in the glass.

White wines from Weingut Erwin Tinhof

In Stock
Neuburger Leithaberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Neuburger Leithaberg

DAC, Weingut Erwin Tinhof, 2017, 750 ml
In Stock
Neuburger Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Weissburgunder Ried Golden Erd
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Weissburgunder Leithaberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Weissburgunder Leithaberg

DAC, Weingut Erwin Tinhof, 2017, 750 ml

The very special small plot, «Golden Erd» (often called a “Ried” in Austria, T.N.) nowadays integrated into the main «Feiersteig» vineyard was mentioned already in the mountain annals of 1579 as the ideal vineyard location. Oriented to the southeast, this vineyard is characterised by the pure, coarse-grained limestone known as Leithakalk with a thin humus layer. In this particularly barren soil, the vines develop very deep roots and produce grapes with small aromatic berries. The resultant wines offer impressive depth, length and a very specific aroma. Perfect for creating exceptional Neuburger and Pinot Blanc wines with wonderful ageing potential.

Erwin Tinhof is particularly devoted to the native Neuburger grape variety. For him, Neuburger is not simply a grape variety, it means far more: homeland, commitment, dedication, but above all, a passion. The Tinhofs cultivate it because it has always been at home on the Leitha Range and has invariably played a key role in their family. This probable cross between Red Veltliner x Silvaner has, however, fallen into oblivion in recent decades and is no longer widespread across Austria. Rooted in the family tradition, the vineyard with its almost 6 hectares of Neuburger (out of 18 cultivated hectares in total) reflects the vine’s rich diversity. Nowadays, the well-regarded and fuller Neuburger has become the flagship of the Tinhof estate.

Producers

Weingut Trapl

Close to nature

Read more
Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

In 1994, while Roland Lenz was still studying oenology, he and his wife Karin were able to acquire eight hectares of vines on the Iselisberg. It was a unique opportunity that they seized, even though they were toying with the idea of setting up their own business abroad, far from Switzerland. They actually did so later, but that's another story…

Read more
Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno and his Baroli from Piedmont, is one of Baur au Lac Vins' long-standing partners. He talks about his new Tuscan passion with beaming eyes:

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

LE DOMAINE ERWIN TINHOF – DES VINS DE LA MONTAGNE DE LA LEITHA


Tinhof est Neuburger - Neuburger est Autriche- Petites quantités - Grands vins

Depuis 11 générations, la famille Tinhof cultive la vigne à Eisenstadt, sur les flancs de la montagne de la Leitha, dans le Burgenland. Toutes leurs connaissances et leur expérience en matière de cépages spécialement adaptés à cette région et prônes à produire des vins typiques y trouvent leur origine. Le Neuburger, le Pinot blanc, le Blaufränkisch, le Sankt Laurent – dont certains ceps ont jusqu’à 55 ans : voilà le centre de leurs efforts et de leur attention. Avec son équipe d’idéalistes, Erwin Tinhof poursuit un seul objectif, sans compromis aucun: vinifier des vins authentiques et pleins de caractère. Le sens pour l’essentiel, des développements continus et des échanges constants, sont ce qui caractérise les vins de la propriété Tinhof.

L’ambition première des vignerons de Tinhof consiste à créer des vins de terroir harmonieux, minéraux, élégants et bien charpentés qui ne sont jamais kitchs, ‘bruyants’ ou accrocheurs. L’origine et le caractère d’un vin sont en effet ce qui le rend unique, des facteurs qui priment pour eux. Quant à leur qualité : elle provient exclusivement du vignoble. Grâce à une exploitation biologique (certifiée biologique depuis 2012), le raisin est équilibré, fournissant une base optimale pour leurs vins. Le temps de macération et un long stockage des levures du raisin, tous uniquement vendangés manuellement, confèrent à ces vins profondeur et longévité.

Le domaine est situé à Eisenstadt, dans le Burgenland, à 40 km au sud-est de Vienne, sur le Leithaberg (la montagne de la Leitha). Marquées par le climat pannonien de même que par le grand régulateur de climat qu’est le lac de Neusiedl, les conditions de culture du vin dont nous bénéficions ici, au Leithaberg, sont optimales pour vinifier des vins blancs, rouges et doux d’une excellente qualité. Des étés chauds et secs, des hivers froids et secs ainsi que le vent, si typique du Burgenland, caractérisent les végétations. Un des derniers sommets des Alpes s’ouvrant sur plaine pannonienne, la montagne de la Leitha, avec son sol calcaire de plusieurs millions d’années, offre à la vigne un milieu optimal pour des vins complexes. Avec les vents frais des forêts environnantes, ce terroir unique marque ces vins de son empreinte minérale bien structurée; ainsi, leur origine est reflétée dans le verre de façon authentique et limpide.

Vins blancs de Weingut Erwin Tinhof

In Stock
Weissburgunder Leithaberg
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Neuburger Ried Golden Erd
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Weissburgunder Ried Golden Erd
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Neuburger Leithaberg
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Intégré dans le « Großriede Feiersteig », le petit vignoble (souvent appelé un ‘Ried’ en Autriche, n.d.l.t.) très spécial - Golden Erd - était déjà mentionné en 1579 dans des annales sur les montagnes et qualifié de meilleur emplacement pour un vignoble. Orienté au sud-est, ce vignoble est caractérisé par de grosses mottes de calcaire de Leitha pur (connu sous le nom de Leithakalk) et d’une faible couche d’humus. Dans ce sol particulièrement aride, les vignes s’enracinent très profondément et produisent des grappes de petites baies aromatiques. Les vins qui en résultent offrent une profondeur et une longueur impressionnantes ainsi qu’un arôme spécifique. Juste parfaits pour créer des Neuburger et des Pinots blancs exceptionnels avec un merveilleux potentiel de vieillissement.

 

Erwin Tinhof se consacre tout particulièrement au Neuburger, un cépage autochtone qui, pour lui, n’est pas que cela, mais représente beaucoup plus : la patrie, l’enthousiasme, la dévotion, mais surtout la passion. La famille Tinhof y est également très attachée parce que ce raisin a toujours existé au Leithaberg et occupé une place prépondérante dans leur vie depuis le début. Or, ce qui était probablement un croisement entre du Roter Veltliner et du Silvaner, est tombé dans l’oubli ces dernières décennies et n’est pratiquement plus cultivé en Autriche. Issu de la tradition familiale, le vignoble de près de 6 hectares de Neuburger (sur 18 hectares de superficie cultivée totale) reflète sa riche diversité. Aujourd’hui, le très remarqué et plus puissant Neuburger est devenu le produit phare du domaine Tinhof.

Producteurs

Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

Qui prétend qu'en Mostindien, comme on appelle de manière ironique la Thurgovie, il n'y a que des pommes, se trompe bien sûr. Par un beau dimanche matin, enfilez vos chaussures de randonnée et partez pour Kartause Ittigen. Le complexe vaut la peine d'être vu et vous pourrez vous offrir un café chaud avant de commencer. De là, le sentier mène à Ossingen à travers la forêt et les vignes du magnifique site d'Iselisberg, idéalement orienté vers le sud. La récompense, c'est un merveilleux panorama et entre-deux, une intéressante dégustation de vin, chez Karin et Roland Lenz par exemple.

en savoir plus
Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

Pour les curieux, les ouverts d’esprit, les adeptes du bio et de la biodynamie et en tout cas pour tous les mordus de vin : ce nouveau domaine de la région de Hawke’s Bay, en Nouvelle-Zélande, est tout à fait passionnant ; il provoque régulièrement des débats qui le sont tout autant.

en savoir plus