to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Haut-Médoc

Haut-Médoc: pure Bordeaux feeling

The Médoc is a large, almost flat area, lying only a few metres above sea level. In the northern part, which lies near the Gironde estuary and was once called Bas-Médoc, simpler wines tend to result from heavy soils. The Haut-Médoc, on the other hand, comprises the more southern part, reaching up to the suburbs of the city of Bordeaux. Close to the premier crus, assemblages dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon are produced here that promise that pure Bordeaux feeling.

Red wines from Haut-Médoc

In Stock
In Stock
Falstaff 87-89 Points
Château Charmail
subscription
In Stock
Château Charmail
Only 12 Bottles
In Stock

Driving upriver from the Atlantic, following the Gironde towards Bordeaux, you pass through a lowland with heavy, loamy soils, until encountering the first gravel dunes a few kilometres north of Saint-Estèphe. Here, the Haut-Médoc begins, considered the heart of the Bordeaux wine region. The deciding quality factor is the gravelly soil, which allows better drainage after rainfall. The best terroirs are located on the legendary hilltops, with their layers of gravels at best three metres thick.

Gravel makes the difference

The Haut-Médoc AOC has a total vineyard area of approximately 5,000 hectares, and comprises the four particularly prestigious commune appellations closer to the Gironde – Margaux, Saint-Julien, Pauillac and Saint-Estèphe – as well as the Listrac and Moulis appellations, located somewhat farther from the river. The best terroirs in the Haut-Médoc have the potential for quality comparable to good locations in supposedly more prestigious commune-appellations.

In the gravelly terroirs, Cabernet Sauvignon in particular can fully flesh out its range. The variety also dominates the assemblages typical here, with a proportion of usually 50 percent or more. Merlot, and to a lesser extent Petit Verdot and Cabernet Franc, are added to supplement. The microclimate also plays an important role in the quality of the wines, with the balancing influence of the Gironde (which varies here between one and five kilometres in width), as well as the extensive pine forests on the coast, which protect the area from cool Atlantic winds.

Once a wetland

The history of viticulture in the Haut-Médoc is relatively brief. This section of land was long an infamous swamp, but Dutch hydraulic engineering specialists drained it in the 18th century. In 1855, it was classified for the first time as a winegrowing region. The approximately 140 châteaux of the Haut-Médoc have a strong position, with cru bourgeois status. Many of them produce exquisite, classic Bordeaux growths at moderate prices.

Subregions

Mâconnais
Bourgogne

Mâconnais

Mâconnais: Chardonnay country

Read more
Casablanca Valley
Aconcagua

Casablanca Valley

Casablanca Valley: the Sauvignon Blanc stronghold

Read more
Toro
Castilla y León

Toro

Toro: Distinctive wines with great tradition

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Haut-Médoc

Haut-Médoc: la sensation bordeaux à l’état pur

Le Médoc est une grande étendue presque plate à seulement quelques mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Au nord, autrefois nommé «Bas-Médoc», non loin de l’estuaire de la Gironde, sont produits des vins relativement simples sur des sols lourds. Le Haut-Médoc, quant à lui, se situe au sud et s’étire jusqu’aux contreforts de la ville de Bordeaux. Ici, sur les parcelles de premier cru, mûrissent des vins aux assemblages dominés par le Cabernet Sauvignon qui promettent une sensation bordeaux à l’état pur.

Vins rouges de Haut-Médoc

In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Château Cantemerle 2019
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-89 Points
Château Charmail 2018
Plus que 7 Bouteilles
In Stock

Arrivant de l’Atlantique et remontant la Gironde en direction de Bordeaux, on traverse, tout d’abord une basse plaine aux sols lourds et argileux, jusqu’à ce que l’on arrive à quelques kilomètres à peine au nord de Saint-Estèphe aux premières croupes de graves. Ici commence le Haut-Médoc, considéré comme le cœur de la région viticole de Bordeaux. Les sols de graviers et leur excellente capacité de drainage sont un facteur déterminant pour la qualité du raisin après de fortes pluies. Les meilleurs terroirs se situent sur un tertre légendaire, comportant à certains endroits, une épaisseur de graviers atteignant jusqu’à trois mètres.

Les graviers font la différence.

L’AOC haut-médoc s’étend sur une surface d’environ 5'000 hectares et comprend les quatre appellations les plus prestigieuses au long de la Gironde, à savoir margaux, saint-julien, pauillac et saint-estèphe, et aussi, celles situées quelque peu plus éloignées du fleuve comme listrac et moulis. Les meilleurs terroirs du Haut-Médoc disposent ainsi d’une qualité potentielle comparable à celle obtenue dans les appellations communales soi-disant plus prestigieuse.

Sur les terroirs de graviers, c’est plutôt le Cabernet Sauvignon qui a la possibilité de s’exprimer le plus pleinement. Le cépage domine ainsi les assemblages typiques avec une teneur de 50% et plus. Pour compléter, on y ajoute du Merlot et en quantités plus réduites, aussi du Petit Verdot et du Cabernet Franc. Le microclimat joue également un rôle prépondérant dans la qualité du vin. En effet, la proximité de la Gironde, atteignant ici entre un et cinq kilomètres de largeur, influence et équilibre les températures. Les forêts de pins sur la côte, quant à elles, protègent les vignobles des masses d’air froid venues de l’atlantique.

Autrefois un marais

La viticulture dans le Haut-Médoc est relativement jeune. Pendant longtemps, cette bande de terre était un marais mal famé, et ce ne fut qu’au 18ème siècle que des spécialistes hollandais du génie hydraulique le mirent à sec. En 1855, la région fut classée pour la première fois comme vignoble à part entière. Les quelques 140 châteaux au statut de cru bourgeois bénéficient aujourd’hui d’une position forte et produisent des bordeaux classiques à des prix encore modérés.

Sous-région

Coteaux du Languedoc
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: le grand classique du sud

en savoir plus
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: une grande dynamique au nord du Danube

en savoir plus
Rueda
Castilla y León

Rueda

Rueda: chéris de tous

en savoir plus