to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nicolas Feuillatte: Champagne of the Year at Baur au Lac Vins

Nicolas Feuillatte was born in Paris in 1926 to a family of wine and spirits importers. Originally, the plan was for him to take over this company from his father one day. But fate held something else in store for him. After World War II, Nicolas went his own way and renounced his inheritance. He emigrated across the Great Pond and successfully started a cocoa and coffee business in New York. This was the time when coffee was becoming hugely popular in America and had previously only been imported from Brazil.


 

nicolas feuillatte

Realising this potential, Nicolas realised started importing coffee from Africa and developed instant coffee. By 1955 he had become the leading importer of African coffee in the United States, a diplomat and permanent UN representative for Ivory Coast in New York and a passionate globetrotter. The world was his oyster. He was an excellent networker and got to know many great personalities from politics and American show business. He cultivated friendships with Kennedy and Onassis, among others. He later used these valuable contacts to establish his brand of champagne.

When his father died unexpectedly in 1972, Nicolas returned to his old homeland. The visionary and gifted entrepreneur inherited a 12-hectare vineyard in Bouleuse near Reims. A champagne lover himself, he decided to become a champagne producer and released his "Réserve Particulière" in 1978. This was an expression of Nicolas' generosity and entrepreneurial spirit. It took his friends from all over the world by storm, and so his champagne quickly took off in the USA, Australia and English and became the trend-setting brand of the international jet set to which Nicolas Feuillatte himself belonged.

In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Blanc de Blancs Collection Vintage
In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or Rosé Millésime
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or brut
In Stock
In Stock
kisten



Due to the overwhelming success of his champagne, his production capacities were soon exhausted. He searched far and wide for a new source for his increased demand for champagne grapes and found it in the Centre Vinicole de la Champagne (CVC), a cooperative founded by Henri Macquart. This relationship marked the beginning of a great success story. His goal was to produce a champagne that was not only reserved for his high-society friends, but would bring pleasure to everyone.

In 1986, he sold the brand to the CVC, which comprises some 4500 winegrowers (from 82 cooperatives) and their families who maintain and cultivate their often small vineyards with great passion and the experience of generations to harvest the best quality grapes for "their" champagne brand. They are affiliated with the CVC Nicolas Feuillatte, the most important and modern winegrowers' association in Champagne.

champagne



The vineyards are located in the champagne regions between the Vallée de la Marne and the Côte des Bar, in the Massif de Saint-Thierry, in the Montagne de Reims, the Côte de Sézanne and the Vallée de l'Ardre. In order to successfully establish the brand, Nicolas Feuillatte, in collaboration with an agency, crafted advertising campaigns that combined contemporary marketing and art. Each year, he selected an artist to create an exclusive themed campaign to promote the brand image. This was considered highly unusual in the very traditional world of champagne.

In the span of just 30 years, Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte has become the No. 1 champagne brand in France and the world's third largest producer of champagne, now represented in over 80 countries. The trend-setting brand Nicolas Feuillatte stands for creativity, modernity, elegance and curiosity. It is inspired by the call of distant lands, as was the case with its founder, who went to America as a young man in the 1950s.

palme





The 2100 hectares spread over the entire appellation include 11 valuable Grand Cru and 26 1er Cru vineyards – providing the basis for exclusive and prestigious top cuvées such as Palmes d'Or Brut and Palmes d'Or Rosé. The golden palm tree is a declaration of love to a young opera singer, with whom Nicolas Feuillatte was deeply enamoured. This prestige cuvée aspires to be as elegant, sublime and unforgettable as his diva. The bottle design was specially designed to pay tribute to the singer's black pearl robe that she wore when she performed in New York.

trauben



In order to guarantee the impeccable quality of all champagnes, the grapes – whether they come from a smaller vineyard or a top location – are pressed immediately after being harvested in presses located in the vineyards, instead of first being brought to the winery. The production boasts state-of-the-art technology. A wide range of champagnes is created here from the great variety of grapes, which regularly receive rave reviews from international wine critics.

The style of Nicolas Feuillatte champagnes is characterised by finesse, precision, accessibility and elegance. Chief Winemaker Guillaume Roffiaen and David Hénault, the Chef de Cave, are mainly responsible for the annual production of the approximately 10 million bottles.

besucherzentrum


The majestic winery near Chouilly was expanded in 2017 to include the impressive "Espace Nicolas Feuillatte" visitor centre, which welcomes guests from all over the world. Contemporary works of art, state-of-the-art interior design and the innovative production site are enough to make every visitor's heart beat faster. The elegant, urban and at the same time glamorous and hedonistic personality of Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte can be felt from the very beginning.

Nicolas Feuillatte died in 2014 at the age of 88, but his brand lives on. His philosophy "champagne for all occasions" lives on in his wide range. Today, the life's work of this impressive visionary is enjoyed and celebrated the world over. Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte offers top quality for every occasion, every taste and every budget. A sparkling "art de vivre français" for the big and small moments in life.

     Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte is official partner from

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nicolas Feuillatte: Le Champagne de l'année chez Baur au Lac Vins

Nicolas Feuillatte est né à Paris en 1926, il était le fils d'une famille importatrice de vins et spiritueux. En fait, il devait reprendre plus tard la suite de son père à la tête de cette société. Mais le destin en a décidé autrement. Après la deuxième guerre mondiale, Nicolas a suivi sa propre route et renoncé à son héritage. Il a traversé l'Atlantique et fondé à New York une entreprise florissante de cacao et de café. A cette époque, le café était devenu très populaire en Amérique et il n'avait été importé jusqu'alors que du Brésil. 

nicolas feuillatte

Nicolas ayant détecté ce potentiel, il commença à importer du café d'Afrique et développa le café soluble. En 1955, il était devenu le plus grand importateur de café africain aux USA, diplomate et représentant permanent de la Côte d'Ivoire à New York, ainsi qu'un globe-trotter passionné. Le monde était à ses pieds. C'était un excellent Networker, et il est parvenu à faire la connaissance de personnalités renommées du monde de la politique et du show-business américain. Il s'est entre autres lié d'amitié avec Kennedy et Onassis. Plus tard, il a utilisé ces précieux contacts pour la création de son Champagne. 

Lorsqu'en 1972 son père décède brutalement, Nicolas rentre dans son ancienne patrie. Ce visionnaire, chef d'entreprise de talent, hérita d'un vignoble de 12 hectares à Bouleuse, près de Reims. En grand amateur de champagne, il décida alors de devenir producteur de champagne, et en 1978 implanta sa "Réserve Particulière" sur le marché. C'était l'expression de la générosité de Nicolas et de son esprit d'entreprise. Ses amis du monde entier étaient débordants d'enthousiasme, si bien qu'aux USA, en Australie et en Angleterre, le Champagne devint très rapidement la marque culte de la jet-set internationale, dont faisait partie Nicolas Feuillatte.

In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Blanc de Blancs Collection Vintage
In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or Rosé Millésime
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or brut
kisten



En raison de l'important succès de son Champagne, ses capacités de production furent bientôt épuisées. Il chercha une nouvelle source pour son besoin accru de raisins de Champagne et la trouva au Centre Vinicole de la Champagne (CVC), coopérative fondée par Henri Macquart. Ce contact a été le début d'une formidable réussite. Son Champagne ne devait pas seulement être réservé à ses amis de la haute société, mais devait devenir un plaisir pour toutes et tous. 

En 1986, il vend la marque à la coopérative CVC, soutenue par environ 4500 vignerons (issus de 82 coopératives) et leurs familles, qui cultivent des vignobles souvent petits avec amour et avec l'expérience de plusieurs générations, afin de récolter un raisin de la meilleure qualité pour "leur" marque de Champagne. Ils sont affiliés à la CVC-Nicolas Feuillatte, l'association de vignerons la plus importante et la plus moderne du Champagne.

champagne


Les vignobles sont situés dans les territoires de Champagne, entre la vallée de la Marne et la Côte des Bar, dans le massif de Saint-Thierry, la montagne de Reims, la côte de Sézanne et la vallée de l'Ardre. Pour implanter la marque avec succès, Nicolas Feuillatte, en collaboration avec une agence, a mis en place des campagnes combinant l'art et le marketing contemporain. Chaque année, il choisit un artiste qui travaille sur une campagne thématique exclusive destinée à renforcer l'image de la marque. À l'époque, ceci fut considéré comme atypique dans le monde très traditionnel du Champagne.

En seulement 30 ans, le Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte est devenu la marque de Champagne n°1 en France et le troisième plus grand producteur de Champagne au monde, aujourd'hui représenté dans plus de 80 pays. La marque pionnière Nicolas Feuillatte est synonyme de créativité, de modernité, d'élégance et de curiosité. Il s'inspire de la renommée de contrées lointaines, comme l'a fait à l'époque son fondateur, qui est allé en Amérique dans les années 50, lorsqu'il était un tout jeune homme. 

palme






Parmi l'intégralité des 2100 hectares répartis sur l'appellation globale, l'on distingue 11 Grand-Cru haut-de-gamme et 26 1ercrus – la base de cuvées exclusives et prestigieuses telles que Palmes d’Or Brut et Palmes d’Or Rosé. La Palme d'Or est une déclaration d'amour à une jeune chanteuse d'opéra à laquelle Nicolas Feuillatte vouait une véritable adoration. Cette cuvée-Prestige doit être aussi élégante, sublime et inoubliable que sa Diva. Le design de la bouteille a été conçu tout spécialement pour rappeler la robe noire en perles que la chanteuse portait lors de son apparition à New York. 

trauben


Afin d'assurer à tout le Champagne une qualité irréprochable, les raisins – qu'ils proviennent d'un vignoble tout simple ou d'un excellent emplacement – sont pressés immédiatement après la récolte dans des pressoirs qui se trouvent dans les vignobles, au lieu d'être transportés à la cave dans un premier temps. La cave dispose d'une technologie dernier cri. C'est là que l'on crée, à partir de l'importante variété de raisons, une large palette de Champagnes qui obtiennent régulièrement des notations élevées de la part des critiques internationaux en œnologie.

En ce qui concerne le style du Champagne Nicolas-Feuillatte, l'accent est mis sur sa finesse, sa précision, son accessibilité et son élégance. Le directeur de l'œnologie et de la qualité Guillaume Roffiaen, ainsi que le chef de cave David Hénault, sont les principaux responsables de la production annuelle d'environ 10 millions de bouteilles.

besucherzentrum


L'imposante cave près de Chouilly a été agrandie en 2017 par un impressionnant office de tourisme, "l'Espace Nicolas Feuillatte", qui accueille des hôtes du monde entier. Des œuvres d'art contemporaines, une décoration intérieure des plus modernes et le site de production novateur, tout cela enflamme les cœurs de tous les visiteurs. Dès le début, la personnalité élégante, urbaine et en même temps glamour et hédoniste du Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte est perceptible.

Nicolas Feuillatte décède en 2014, à l'âge de 88 ans, mais sa marque perdure. Sa philosophie "Le Champagne pour toutes les situations de l'existence" reste vivante dans son très large assortiment. L'œuvre de toute une vie de ce visionnaire impressionnant est aujourd'hui appréciée et fêtée dans le monde entier. Le Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte propose le Top de la qualité pour toutes les occasions, tous les goûts et toutes les bourses. Il représente le pétillant "art de vivre français" pour les petits et grands moments de la vie. 

                         Nicolas Feuillatte est partenaire officiel de