to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Burgundy and Bordeaux are France’s most prestigious wine regions. Nonetheless, they are completely distinct in character: while Bordeaux, as the land of the chateaux, enjoys an aristocratic image, Burgundy has retained its rustic agrarian structure. Burgundy stretches for over 200 kilometres, from Dijon in the north to Lyon in the south. In a highly complex jigsaw of the most diverse of terroirs, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir demonstrate the subtle ways in which they embody their sources.

Sparkling wines from Bourgogne

In Stock

White wines from Bourgogne

Out Of Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 94-95 Points
Chablis Blanchot Grand Cru
Only 10 Bottles
In Stock
Chablis Boutteaux 1er cru
Only 3 Bottles

Red wines from Bourgogne

In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 750 ml
CHF 48.90
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2011, 375 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 375 ml
CHF 26.30

Although astronomical prices are paid for parcels at grand cru sites, and investors worldwide (particularly from Asia) have Burgundy in their sights, life in the rural villages still continues on its usual course. Signs requesting visitors to remain on the dirt roads and not to trample through the vineyards are indicators of how valued the growths here are. This is particularly true in the Côte d’Or, the core of the region, which is composed of the Côte de Nuits in the north and the Côte de Beaune in the south. Classic Burgundy comprises 24,000 hectares; if Beaujolais, administratively a part of Burgundy, is counted, too, then the wine region is almost twice as large. The region’s most prestigious wines – the 33 grand crus and 562 premier crus –collectively represent just 15 percent of wine production here.

Continentally influenced climate

Vines are rooted here on southeast-facing slopes from 200 to 400 metres above sea level, in soils dominated by Jurassic limestone. The best sites are located on middle slopes, under an escarpment where there is a relatively thin layer of marl or loam on the limestone base. Detailed studies in the Côte de Nuits area have revealed that the character and quality of a site is primarily determined by factors such as slope gradient and proportions of stone, loam and limestone. The climate is continentally influenced, with long, dry winters and summers which tend to be short. Annual precipitation, at around 700 millimetres per year per square metre, is ideal for viticulture. Due to the finesse that both Chardonnay and Pinot Noir achieve at top sites, these two varieties have made a splash worldwide. Nonetheless, they seldom achieve a class abroad that is on par with that of their homeland.

The legacy of the monks

It was the Benedictine monks in Cluny, along with the Cistercian monks, who recognized the potential of the region for viticulture in the 10th century, already then defining prime locations. The Dukes of Burgundy who ruled in the 14th century particularly promoted the marketing of Burgundian wines.

With Chablis (which is closer to Paris than to Lyon), where Chardonnay yields admirably clean, pure and mineral white crus, and Beaujolais, the stronghold of the Gamay grape, Burgundy has two satellites that are removed from the core area, yet decisively contribute to the diversity of its wines.

Regions

Waadt
Switzerland

Waadt

Vaud: stronghold of the Chasselas

Read more
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

Read more
Navarra
Spain

Navarra

Navarre: a land of many terroirs

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bourgogne

La Bourgogne: le berceau des crus

Bordeaux et la Bourgogne sont les régions françaises les plus prestigieuses mais aux caractères très différents: alors que Bordeaux et ses châteaux bénéficient de la notoriété aristocratique de ses châteaux, la Bourgogne a su garder jusqu’à aujourd’hui sa structure rurale. Elle s’étend sur 200 kilomètres de Dijon au nord à Lyon au sud. Composée d’un puzzle excessivement complexe de terroirs, elle permet au Chardonnay et au Pinot noir d’exprimer subtilement leurs origines.

Vins pétillants de Bourgogne

Vins blancs de Bourgogne

Parker 88 Points
Chablis La Boissonneuse
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
Chablis La Boissonneuse
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
Chablis Les Preuses
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Vins rouges de Bourgogne

Bien que les parcelles de vignobles situées dans les Grands Crus se négocient aujourd’hui pour des sommes astronomiques et que les investisseurs du monde entier, et particulièrement d’Asie, les aient dans le collimateur, la vie dans les petits villages suit son cours tranquillement. Seules quelques pancartes, avisant les promeneurs de se tenir sur les chemins et de ne pas piétiner les terres, suggèrent la valeur de ce qui pousse ici, et ce, particulièrement dans la Côte-d’Or. Elle est au cœur de cette région et fait le lien entre la Côte de Nuit au nord et la Côte de Beaune au sud. La Bourgogne classique s’étend sur 24'000 hectares, mais, si l’on y rajoute le Beaujolais, qui légalement parlant y appartient, la région devient presque deux fois plus grande. Les vins les plus prestigieux de la région, à savoir, les 33 grands crus et les 562 premiers crus ne représentent que 15% de la production.

Un climat continental

Les vignes sont implantées ici sur des coteaux orientés au sud-est entre 200 et 400 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, majoritairement sur des sols calcaires du jurassique. Les meilleurs terroirs sont au milieu des coteaux, sous une falaise, où se trouve une épaisseur relativement fine de marne ou d’argile sur le soubassement de calcaire jurassien. Des études détaillées de la Côte de Nuits ont prouvé que le caractère et la qualité d’un vignoble peuvent être déterminés principalement par le degré d’inclinaison du coteau et par la concentration de pierre, d’argile et de calcaire dans le sol. Le climat est surtout continental avec des hivers longs mais secs et des étés plutôt courts. Les précipitations annuelles de 700 millimètres au mètre carré sont idéales pour la viticulture. Grâce à la finesse qu’expriment ici autant le Chardonnay que le Pinot Noir, ces deux cépages ont fait fureur dans le monde entier, mais il est très rare qu’ils atteignent autant de classe que dans leur pays d’origine.

Un héritage des moines

Ce sont des moines bénédictins de Cluny, ainsi que des moines cisterciens, qui dès le 10ème siècle découvrent le potentiel de la région et qui déjà reconnaissent les meilleures parcelles. Finalement, ce sont les ducs bourguignons au 14ème siècle qui vont favoriser la vente des vins de Bourgogne.

Avec le Chablis (qui se situe déjà plus près de Paris que de Lyon), où le Chardonnay produit des crus blancs étonnamment francs et minéraux, et le Beaujolais, haut-lieu du Gamay, la Bourgogne possède ainsi deux satellites en dehors de son cœur d’activité qui contribuent à la grande diversité viticole de la région.

Régions

Loire
France

Loire

La Loire: le fleuve des rois

en savoir plus
Rioja
Espagne

Rioja

La Rioja: une légende en mutation

en savoir plus
Neuenburg
Suisse

Neuenburg

Neuchâtel: la Bourgogne suisse

en savoir plus