to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

California

California: Lots of fruit and ripe tannins

Around 90 percent of the wine produced in the USA comes from California. The Napa Valley, situated roughly 100 kilometers north of San Francisco, is the most prominent wine region in the western hemisphere. California vintners first caused an international sensation with Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon. Today, however, superior wines are also produced from Pinot Noir, Syrah and other varieties. California’s wine country shows more variety today than ever before.

White wines from California

In Stock
In Stock
Parker 97+ Points
Chardonnay Belle Côte 2018
Only 18 Bottles

Chardonnay Belle Côte 2018

AVA, Peter Michael Winery, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Chardonnay Carneros 2018
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Chardonnay La Carrière 2017
Only 18 Bottles

Chardonnay La Carrière 2017

AVA, Peter Michael Winery, 750 ml

Red wines from California

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Profile 2015
Only 3 Bottles

Profile 2015

AVA St. Helena, Merryvale Vineyards, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 94+ Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis 2015
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Les Pavots 2014
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Profile 2014
Only 1 Bottle

Profile 2014

AVA St. Helena, Merryvale Vineyards, 1500 ml

The first vintners in California were Franciscan clergymen. They built missionary stations on “El Camino Real” – their route along the coast to the north – and from 1770 also set up vineyards to produce sacramental wine. The Hungarian-born wine pioneer Agoston Haraszthy had a decisive influence. He allowed the most diverse grape varieties to be brought to California. One of these was Zinfandel, which today is considered a particular specialty. Prohibition and the Great Depression brought a halt to the wine boom, and for a while after the Second World War vintners in California turned out mainly cheap, mass-prouced wines.

Legendary reference sample

Robert Mondavi, who began to produce premium wines in 1966 according to French example, is viewed as the pioneer of today’s quality winegrowing. The Californian vintner achieved legendary success at the co-called “Judgment of Paris”, a blind test at which renowned French judges rated the Californian Chardonnays and Cabernets higher than their own top crus from Burgundy and Bordeaux. Since then, California has been considered a source of premium wines.

Cool Pacific

California’s viticultural areas line the coast like a jeweled necklace, where they are generally protected from the cold influence of the Pacific by coastal mountains. Wherever river valleys running east-west break through this range of hills and bring cool Pacific air to the cultivation zones, a cool climate prevails, allowing crisp sparkling wines, fresh Chardonnays and elegant Pinots to ripen. Conversely, concentrated wines mature in the warm areas that are well-protected from the influence of the Pacific. Above all, Cabernet Sauvignon, often complemented by other Bordeaux varieties, yields outstanding results.

Varying soils

The soil conditions are also complex. Napa Valley alone has more than 150 different soil types. In the hill ranges, volcanic rock often predominates, while mostly alluvial deposits are found in the valley floors, but gravel and red clay also appear frequently. Over the past 20 years, vintners have studied this terroir puzzle in ever greater depth, and now ideal verities are cultivated at every site. With an area of 210,000 hectares, California is the fourth-largest wine region in the world.

Region

Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more
Valle Central
Chile

Valle Central

Valle Central: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
Highlands
Scotland

Highlands

Highlands: Clans, Schafe, Whiskys

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

California

Californie: beaucoup de fruits et des tanins mûrs

Environ 90% des vins produits aux États-Unis viennent de Californie. La vallée de Napa, située à une centaine de kilomètres au nord de San Francisco, est considérée comme la région viticole la plus importante du Nouveau Monde. Les vignerons californiens ont d’abord fait sensation au niveau international avec le Chardonnay et le Cabernet Sauvignon. Mais, de nos jours, le Pinot Noir, la Syrah et d’autres cépages sont également utilisés pour produire des vins de grande qualité, ce qui fait qu’aujourd’hui, la Californie montre plus de facettes que jamais.

Vins blancs de California

In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Chardonnay La Carrière 2016
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 97 Points
Chardonnay Belle Côte 2017
Plus que 7 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Chardonnay La Carrière 2017

Vins rouges de California

In Stock
Profile 2015
Plus que 1 Bouteille
In Stock
Parker 94+ Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis 2015
Plus que 7 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Les Pavots 2014
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Pinot Noir Le Caprice 2014
Plus que 7 Bouteilles

Les premiers viticulteurs californiens étaient des religieux franciscains. Sur leur «camino real», leur voyage missionnaire le long de la côte vers le nord, ils bâtirent plusieurs missions, et à partir de 1770, y plantèrent les premiers vignobles pour la confection du vin de messe. Ensuite, le pionnier hongrois, l'agronome Haraszthy, eut une influence décisive: c’est lui qui a apporté en Californie une grande variété de cépages, dont le Zinfandel, aujourd'hui considéré comme une spécialité. La prohibition et la crise économique mirent fin brutalement à l’essor de la région. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les vignerons californiens produisaient essentiellement du vin bon marché en grande quantité.

Une dégustation légendaire

C’est en 1966 que Robert Mondavi commença à produire des vins de grande qualité d’après un modèle français, ce qui fait de lui ici, un des précurseurs du genre. Les vignerons californiens connurent un succès légendaire en 1976, au  «Jugement de Paris», un test à l’aveugle où des jurés français renommés attribuèrent aux Chardonnays et aux Cabernets Sauvignons californiens des notes meilleures que celles données aux grands crus de Bourgogne et de Bordeaux. Depuis lors, on sait que la Californie est aussi capable de produire d’excellents vins.

La fraîcheur du Pacifique

Les régions viticoles californiennes s'alignent les unes après les autres le long de la côte, habituellement protégées de l'influence froide du Pacifique par des montagnes côtières. Il règne un  «climat frais» partout où des vallées fluviales, orientées d’est en ouest, transpercent cette crête de collines, permettant à l'air frais du Pacifique de s’engouffrer dans les vignobles. On y fait des vins effervescents croquants, des chardonnays frais ou des Pinot Noir élégants. Dans les régions chaudes, bien protégées de l'influence du Pacifique, mûrissent des vins concentrés. Le Cabernet Sauvignon, souvent assemblé à d’autres cépages bordelais, donne des résultats exceptionnels.

Des sols variés

Les différents types de sols sont également complexes. Dans la seule vallée de Napa, 150 types de sols sont à différencier. Les roches volcaniques dominent souvent dans les collines, tandis que dans les vallées, on trouve en grande partie des dépôts alluviaux, mais aussi du gravier et de l’argile rouge. Depuis 20 ans, les vignerons explorent de plus en plus ce puzzle de terroirs, afin de déterminer les cépages idéaux pour chaque situation. Avec une superficie de 210'000 hectares, la Californie constitue la quatrième plus grande région viticole du monde.

Région

Sicilia
Italie

Sicilia

La Sicile: plus qu’une île du vin

en savoir plus
Jumilla
Espagne

Jumilla

Jumilla: patrie du Monastrell

en savoir plus
Andalucía
Espagne

Andalucía

L’Andalousie: sherry et bien plus

en savoir plus