to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Armagnac

Armagnac: high-percentage, high-standing, authentic

Gascony, in southwestern France, has retained its authentic rural charm to this day. Very similar traits are attributed to the brandy originating from here, Armagnac. While young Armagnac can taste lively and fiery, old, decades-aged selections reveal enormous finesse with unique character. Vintage bottlings are particularly exclusive – and accordingly expensive.

Spirits from Armagnac

In Stock
Baron Sigognac 1918
Only 9 Bottles

Baron Sigognac 1918

Armagnac, 700 ml
In Stock
Baron Sigognac 1920
Only 10 Bottles

Baron Sigognac 1920

Armagnac, 700 ml
In Stock
Baron Sigognac 1921
Only 6 Bottles

Baron Sigognac 1921

Armagnac, 700 ml
In Stock
Baron Sigognac 1922
Only 5 Bottles

Baron Sigognac 1922

Armagnac, 700 ml

Armagnac often stands in the shadow of Cognac, which maintains its noble image worldwide with far greater advertising expenditure. Objectively, however, Armagnac is an equally noble spirit with a far richer history. While the first Cognacs were produced in the 17th century, Armagnac historians can point to a document from 1461 approving the commissioning of an Armagnac distillery in the Départment of Landes. In earlier times, Armagnac was used for medicinal purposes, such as for pain relief, or as a disinfectant.

Rustic base wines

The foundation for Armagnac production rests in base wines from varieties such as Ugni Blanc (called Trebbiano in Italy), Colombard, Folle Blanche, Baco Blanc, and a range of other varieties long-established in Gascony. Its production must be carried out traditionally, and as naturally as possible; addition of sugar (chaptalization) is prohibited, along with sulfurization or decanting. The result is rustic, country wines accented with acidity, which are rather enjoyed by locals with regional cuisine. In addition, only three cultivation areas are approved for the production of Armagnac base wines: Bas-Armagnac, which yields the highest-quality growths, Haut-Armagnac and Ténarèze.

Exclusive Millésimes

In contrast to Cognac, Armagnac is distilled in a burning process. Afterwards, the young brandy ages in barrels made from Gascogne Holm oak, whose wood is stored for six years before use. Freshly distilled Armagnacs are generally first matured in new barrels. Only when the distillate develops the desired color and aroma is it moved to used barrels. Armagnacs enter the market with various designations: “VSOP” for a four-year, “XO” for a six-year and “Hors d'Age” for a minimum of a ten-year barrel maturation period. “Millésimes” are considered particularly exclusive. Vintage Armagnacs from the 19th century are still commercially available.

Region

Catalunya
Spain

Catalunya

Catalonia: the great range

Read more
Jumilla
Spain

Jumilla

Jumilla: The home of Monastrell

Read more
Campbeltown
Scotland

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: Salzige Eleganz

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Armagnac

Armagnac: haute teneur en alcool, -excellente qualité, authentique

La Gascogne, dans le Sud-Ouest français, est une région qui a su préserver jusqu’à aujourd’hui son charme rural authentique. Il en va de même avec l’eau-de-vie locale: l’armagnac. Dans leur jeunesse, ces spiritueux sont fougueux et dynamiques, alors que les vieux, vieillis pendant des décennies, montrent beaucoup de finesse et un caractère unique. Les millésimés sont particulièrement exclusifs et par conséquent assez chers.

Spritueux de Armagnac

In Stock
Baron Sigognac
Plus que 16 Bouteilles
In Stock
Baron Sigognac
Plus que 9 Bouteilles
In Stock
Baron Sigognac
Plus que 8 Bouteilles
In Stock
Baron Sigognac
Plus que 15 Bouteilles

L’armagnac reste souvent dans l’ombre du cognac, qui soigne son image de «noble», grâce à un budget médiatique bien plus important. Vu d’une façon plus objective, l’armagnac est au moins aussi noble et beaucoup plus chargé d’histoire, sur un plan culturel. Par exemple, alors que les premiers cognacs remontent au 17ème siècle, les historiens de l’armagnac en tracent les origines à 1461, date à laquelle une distillerie de ce spiritueux fut fondée dans le département des Landes. Autrefois, l’armagnac était produit à des fins médicales, en tant qu’analgésique et désinfectant.

Des vins de base rustiques

La base de la production d’armagnac repose sur des vins issus d’Ugni Blanc (appelé Trebbiano en italien), de Colombard, de Folle Blanche, de Baco Blanc et de toute une série d’autres cépages autochtones à la Gascogne. Leur fabrication traditionnelle doit être la plus naturelle possible, bannissant ainsi l’utilisation de sucre (chaptalisation), de soufre et de tout transvasement. Ainsi naissent des vins de pays rustiques et acides, cependant appréciés par les locaux, de pair avec la cuisine régionale. Seules trois sous-régions viticoles peuvent produire ce vin de base : le Ténarèze, le Haut-Armagnac et le Bas-Armagnac, cette dernière région étant celle d’où proviennent les meilleurs crus.

Des millésimés exclusifs

Contrairement au cognac, l’armagnac n’est distillé qu’en une fois. Après, le jeune distillat vieillit en fûts de chêne vert de Gascogne, dont le bois fut stocké avant la fabrication des barriques pendant six ans. Fondamentalement, ces jeunes spiritueux séjournent tout d’abord dans des barriques neuves. Ce n’est qu’une fois la couleur et l’aromatique développées voulues qu’ils sont transvasés en fûts usagers. Les armagnacs arrivent sur le marché avec différentes dénominations : «VSOP» signifie quatre ans d’âge en fûts, «XO», six ans et «Hors d’Âge», au minimum 10 ans. Les «millésimés» sont considérés comme particulièrement exclusifs, certains du 19ème siècle sont encore disponibles à la vente.

Régions

Valle Central
Chili

Valle Central

La Valle Central: au cœur de la viticulture chilienne

en savoir plus
Bordeaux
France

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: beaucoup de prestige, grande qualité

en savoir plus
Rioja
Espagne

Rioja

La Rioja: une légende en mutation

en savoir plus