to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Listrac

Listrac-Médoc: special climate, special soils

With a cultivation area of only 650 hectares, Listrac is the second-smallest commune appellation in the Médoc, and its wines have a distinctively unique character, with a robust, vigorous nature. The basis for this rests in the special terroir of this appellation. Listrac is also the only appellation in the Médoc where the Merlot variety assumes a defining role. The reputation of the appellation is due in large part to the high quality of the roughly 20 châteaux with cru bourgeois status.

Red wines from Listrac

In Stock

Château Fourcas-Borie 2014

AC Listrac-Médoc, 750 ml

Just one glance at a map of the Haut-Médoc region is enough to spot the Listrac-Médoc appellation. While more prestigious village appellations here, such as Margaux, Pauillac and Co, directly connect to the Gironde and benefit from the mild river climate, Listrac-Médoc (along with Moulis) lies a few kilometres further west, where the temperature-modulating effects of this body of water are no longer felt. Consequently, the temperature variations here are greater, which, among other things, results in increased risk of frost. At the same time, the somewhat more extreme climate also contributes to the pithier freshness and robust structure of the wines.

The roof of the Médoc

Even more decisive for the individual terroir characters of the wines are the particular soil conditions. While the best crus in the Médoc result from gravelly soils, these gravelly, sandy hilltops are only found in the west and northwest of the Listrac-Médoc appellation. Protrusions in the west reach almost 50 metres in elevation, and are thus the highest in all of the Médoc. For this reason, Lirac is also referred to as the “Roof of the Médoc”. In the vast plain at the centre of the region, sandy soils predominate, with high proportions of calcareous loam. Today, the most-widely planted variety here is Merlot.

Small farm structured

Viticulture in Listrac-Médoc stretches back to the middle ages. But for a long time it played a minor role; cereal grain, livestock and forest agriculture were more important into the 18th century. The entry of the railroad in 1869 gave viticulture an important impetus. Before the phylloxera pandemic, around 1,400 hectares were planted with vines – more than twice as large an area as today. In 1957, Listrac-Médoc finally received the status of a communal appellation, initially simply called Listrac. In order to avoid confusion with the Lirac designation of origin in the Rhône valley, the name was changed to Listrac-Médoc in 1986. Through massive investment in vineyards and wineries, the quality of Listrac wines has significantly improved in recent decades, without losing the region’s small-scale farming structure. The roughly 20 cru bourgeois estates that are based here play the decisive role.

Subregion

Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
St-Emilion
Bordeaux

St-Emilion

Saint-Emilion: unique Bordeaux idyll

Read more
Coteaux du Libron
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Listrac

Listrac-Médoc: climat et sols spéciaux

Avec une surface de seulement 650 hectares, listrac-médoc est la deuxième plus petite appellation de village en Médoc, mais les vins qui en proviennent en sont d’autant plus uniques de par leur caractère vigoureux et leur puissance. La raison à cela est le terroir si particulier de ces vignobles. De plus, listrac est la seule appellation en Médoc, où le Merlot joue un rôle si important. La renommée favorable dont bénéficient les listracs est due à la bonne qualité des vins produits en cru bourgeois par les 20 châteaux environ.

Vins rouges de Listrac

In Stock

Un seul regard à une carte du Haut-Médoc suffit à constater la position si particulière de l’appellation listrac-médoc. Alors que les appellations prestigieuses voisines, comme margaux, pauillac et entre-autres, sont confinées aux berges de la Gironde, et par conséquent a sa douce influence climatique, le listrac-médoc (avec moulis) quant à lui se situe quelques kilomètres plus à l’ouest, endroit où la capacité du fleuve à équilibrer les températures n’exerce plus son influence. Une conséquence directe en est une plus grande amplitude thermique, qui à son tour donne naissance à des vins à la fraîcheur vigoureuse avec une structure robuste.

Le «toit» du Médoc

Les sols si uniques sont un autre facteur déterminant pour le caractère de terroir propre à ces vins. Alors qu’en Médoc, les meilleurs crus mûrissent sur des sols graveleux, en Listrac-Médoc, des croupes de sable et de graviers se trouvent à l’ouest et au nord-est de l’appellation, pouvant atteindre 50 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, les plus hautes du Médoc. C’est pourquoi on considère souvent le Listrac comme le «toit» du Médoc. Dans les grandes plaines au centre de l’appellation, par contre, les sols sont principalement composés de sable avec une grande concentration d’argile calcaire. Encore aujourd’hui, le Merlot y est le cépage le plus répandu.

Structuré en petites exploitations

La viticulture dans le Listrac-Médoc remonte au Moyen-Âge, mais n’a longtemps joué qu’un rôle d’appoint face à la dominance d’activités, comme les céréales, le bétail ou l’exploitation forestière. L’arrivée du chemin de fer en 1869 fut le coup de pouce dont la viticulture avait besoin, ce qui conduisit à l’agrandissement du vignoble jusqu’à 1'400 hectares, soit deux fois plus grand que de nos jours, jusqu’à la catastrophe phylloxérique. L’appellation obtint une dénomination communale en 1957, qui, à l’époque, se limitait à «Listrac». Mais pour éviter les confusions avec les vins de Lirac dans la vallée du Rhône, l’appellation fut changée den 1986 pour son nom définitif « listrac-médoc ». Grâce aux investissements massifs entrepris dans les vignobles et dans les chais, la qualité des vins s’est considérablement amélioré, sans pour autant que la région n’ait perdu sa structure de petites exploitations. Aujourd’hui, ce sont une vingtaine de châteaux en cru bourgeois qui se partagent l’activité.

Sous-régions

Maipo
Valle Central

Maipo

La Maipo Valley: le siège de la noblesse du vin

en savoir plus
St-Julien
Bordeaux

St-Julien

Saint-Julien: au cœur du Médoc

en savoir plus
Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: garant de finesse

en savoir plus