to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Nyetimber

For the last quarter-century, England has played a very special role in the world of wines – an exotic in moist and chilly northern Europe.

When you think of England you might think of umbrellas, charm, and bowler hats. Specifically umbrellas, since British weather is famously rainy. Few people know that winegrowing in England is historically documented back to the 7th century. Thanks to the Gulf Stream, the climate is mild enough for certain types of grapes to grow and fully ripen. The change in climate during recent decades has brought some advantages to English winemakers, improving growth conditions and encouraging many to try their luck at winegrowing.

Sparkling wines from Nyetimber

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee, Multi Vintage
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee, Multi Vintage
In Stock
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee 2010
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Nyetimber 1086 2009
Only 17 Bottles
Vegan

Nyetimber 1086 2009

Sussex, English Sparkling Wine, 750 ml

from Nyetimber

In Stock
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee 2010
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee, Multi Vintage
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee, Multi Vintage
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Nyetimber brut Tillington Single Vineyard 2013

Nyetimber was founded as a winery in 1988. However, the estate is much older; it was first mentioned in the Domesday Book (a famous land registry) in 1086. Embedded in the peaceful green landscape of West Sussex, with its carefully restored medieval buildings and houses, Nyetimber is a small gem that can transfer us into a far distant era.

Nyetimber was the first winery in England to grow champagne grape varieties such as Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier, all with the aim of producing the best English sparkling wine through respecting the “méthode traditionnelle”. In the early 1990s, the first bottle left the winery and even beat some champagnes in various competitions.

The winegrowers Cherie Spriggs and her husband Brad Greatrix, both with international experience, have been responsible for all steps of the wine production since 2007. 170 hectares of grapes grow on eight different south-facing sites in Sussex and Hampshire on precious chalk soil similar to that found in the Champagne. Ever since the couple arrived at Nyetimber, they have worked to improve production processes. The inventory of reserve wines was and will be increased on a regular basis in order to create a non-vintage Classic Cuvée according to the Champagne model. At the other end of the production line is the Tillington Single Vineyard, the first English vintage sparkling wine from a single vineyard. A Rosé Non-Vintage and a Blanc de Blancs that will only be bottled during the best Chardonnay years, supplement this extraordinary sparkling wine experience.

Learn more about Nyetimber in this video: Master Class Series: Brad Greatrix (Winemaker) and Marc Almert (Chef Sommelier Baur au Lac and Baur au Lac Vins and ASI Best Sommelier of the World 2019)

Producer

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

Read more
Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

Read more
Son Mayol

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and has set new standards on Majorca.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Nyetimber

Dans le monde viticole, l’Angleterre occupe une place tout à fait particulière depuis environ 25 ans, une exception dans le nord froid et humide de l’Europe.

Quiconque pense à l’Angleterre pense peut-être parapluie, charme et chapeau melon. Surtout parapluie, tant la météo de l’île britannique fait la part belle aux nuages et à la pluie. Peu de gens savent que la viticulture est pratiquée historiquement en Angleterre depuis le 7ème siècle. Grâce au Gulf Stream, le climat est assez doux pour y faire pousser des cépages précis et les faire arriver à maturité. Le changement climatique des dernières décennies a présenté quelques avantages pour les vignerons britanniques, améliorant les conditions de croissance et incitant ainsi beaucoup à s’essayer à la viticulture.   

Vins pétillants de Nyetimber

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Nyetimber 1086 2009
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Nyetimber 1086 2010
Plus que 12 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock

de Nyetimber

In Stock
Nyetimber 1086 2010
Plus que 12 Bouteilles
Végan

Le domaine viticole de Nyetimber a été fondé en 1988. La propriété est pourtant beaucoup plus ancienne: on trouve sa trace dans le manuscrit Domesday Book (sorte de registre foncier) de 1086. Intégré au paysage vert et tranquille de la région de West Sussex, et avec ses bâtiments moyenâgeux rénovés avec soin, c’est un petit bijou capable de nous transporter dans une ère lointaine.

Premier domaine viticole d’Angleterre, on y planta les cépages de Champagne que sont le Chardonnay, le Pinot Noir et le Pinot Meunier, et ce avec l’objectif de vinifier le meilleur pétillant du pays selon la méthode traditionnelle. Un vin dont la vocation serait d’être meilleur que tous les autres mousseux dans le monde, le champagne y compris. Au début des années 1990, la première bouteille quitta la cave. Avec un succès remarquable, celle-ci pu battre quelques champagnes lors de compétitions.  

Depuis 2007, les viticulteurs Cherie Spriggs et son mari Brad Greatrix, tous deux dotés d’une expérience internationale, sont responsables de tous les aspects de la production. 170 hectares de vigne poussent sur huit vignobles exposés au sud, dans le Sussex et dans le Hampshire, et ce sur un sol crayeux, similaire à ceux trouvés en Champagne. Depuis son arrivée à Nyetimber, le couple a peaufiné la qualité de ses vins de façon continue en améliorant tous les procédés de production. Aussi, le stock de vins de réserve s’est agrandi et s’agrandit encore pour pouvoir créer une Classic Cuvée sans millésime sur le modèle du champagne. La Classic Cuvée est l’ambassadrice de Nyetimber, le vin qui porte sa signature. A l’autre bout de la ligne de produits, on trouve Tillington Single Vineyard, le premier vin mousseux millésimé d’Angleterre issu d’un même vignoble. Un Rosé Non Vintage et un Blanc de Blancs, lequel n’est d’ailleurs mis en bouteille que lors des meilleures années pour le Chardonnay, complètent cette palette de vins mousseux si extraordinaire.

En savoir plus sur Nyetimber: Master Class Series: Brad Greatrix (vigneron) et Marc Almert (Chef Sommelier Baur au Lac et Baur au Lac Vins et ASI Meilleur Sommelier du Monde 2019)

Producteur

Bodegas Campos Reales

Bodegas Campos Reales

Les paysages de la Meseta Central, dans laquelle se trouve La Mancha, s’étendent à perte de vue - la patrie de Don Quijote et Sancho Panza est la plus grande région viticole d'Espagne.

En savoir plus
Ramiro Wine Cellar

Ramiro Wine Cellar

En savoir plus
Domaine Julien Brocard

Domaine Julien Brocard

Les 7 Lieux – Chablis «naturel»

 

Le domaine de Julien Brocard est situé à Préhy, dans le nord de la Bourgogne, à quelques kilomètres seulement de la commune de Chablis. Dans le but de faire ressortir le caractère des vins le plus authentiquement possible, le domaine cultive toutes ses vignes en biodynamie depuis 2011.

En savoir plus