to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Massena / Jaysen Collins

Dan Standish and Jaysen Collins were college friends, and in the late 1990s they decided to put their talents together to produce wine. Recently, Jaysen Collins has taken charge of the "Massena" project on his own.The grapes are purchased from growers in Greenock, Kalimna and Koonunga Hill in the northwest Barossa Valley.

They are always very old plots and the yields are naturally tiny, but the grapes have an unequalled concentration and complexity. Despite the scorching dry summers, no irrigation is used (a method known as 'dry farming'). The Midnight Run, their first wine, was initially conceived as a wine for family and friends. Its name was inspired by their journeys between Barossa Valley and Clare Valley--during harvest they had to move from one to the other at night and it was then that they had the idea of working together. That blend was based on Grenache from vines over 120 years old. The remainder was Shiraz, Cinsault and Mataro (Mourvedre) in the style of the great Chateauneuf-du-Pape. 

The Shiraz grapes for The Eleventh Hour come from a revered, if low yielding, plot in Greenock which was destined to be uprooted and replanted because no one was prepared to pay a higher price for the low yield. The name means 'the last minute', the two friends having saved these ancient Shiraz vines, in extremis, by blocking the bulldozers that had come to dig them up. Jaysen lets vinification take place naturally using indigenous yeasts without intervention. The style of Massena's wines is relatively elegant for the area. That doesn't mean that they have renounced the power and aromatic exuberance of the region, but a certain restraint and control over extraction bring both smoothness and tasting pleasure.

Producer

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Standing on La Gerla's terrace, one's view sweeps over Montalcino's peaceful landscape with its hills, vineyards, slim cypresses, and estates scattered all around. Nestled in the Colli Senesi to the south of Siena, the area comprises approx. 2000 hectares (up from just sixty hectares 50 years ago!).

Read more
Graf Trauttmansdorff

Graf Trauttmansdorff

Read more
Sette Cieli

Sette Cieli

It isn’t easy to ascend to seventh heaven. And indeed, the road to the wine estate Sette Cieli is fraught with some difficulties. You might need to take a few detours (seventh heaven isn’t on Google Maps’ radar), but the Ratti family’s wine paradise is more than worth the effort.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Massena / Jaysen Collins

Dan Standish et Jaysen Collins se sont rencontrés au lycée déjà. À la fin des années 1990, ils décident de produire leur propre vin ensemble. Récemment, Jaysen Collins a repris la direction du projet «Massena». Leurs raisins, ils se les procurent auprès de producteurs sélectionnés à Greenock, Kalimna et à Koonunga Hill, au nord-ouest de Barossa Valley.

Ce sont, pour la plupart, des parcelles très anciennes qui, de par la nature, ne se traduisent que par de très faibles rendements, mais bien plus concentrés et complexes. Et malgré des étés extrêmement chauds et secs, il a été décidé de renoncer à l’irrigation (méthode agricole dite «sèche»). À l’origine, les premières bouteilles de ‘The Moonlight Run’ étaient destinées à la consommation privée, familiale ou entre amis: cette appellation fait référence aux voyages nocturnes communs de la Barossa Valley à la Clare Valley, pour les vendanges, au cours desquels il fut décidé de faire du vin ensemble. La base de l’assemblage du ‘Moonlight Run’ est le Grenache, issu de vignes de plus de 120ans. Il est assemblé dans le style du Châteauneuf-du-Pape avec du Shiraz, du Cinsault et du Mataro (du Mourvèdre).

Vins rouges de Massena / Jaysen Collins

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

de Massena / Jaysen Collins

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

 

Les raisins de Shiraz utilisés pour' The Eleventh Hour' proviennent de Greenock, une vieille parcelle de terre qui devrait être détruite en raison de ses faibles rendements. Personne n’était prêt à débourser suffisamment pour ces raisins exceptionnels jusqu’à ce que les deux amis le fassent – «sur les chapeaux de roue», soit à la onzième heure, pour ainsi dire –afin d’éviter leur destruction par les bulldozers. Depuis, les vins sont produits le plus naturellement possible, sans intervention humaine et avec des levures naturelles. Comparés à d’autres produits de la région de Barossa, ils sont toujours conçus dans un style raffiné et plutôt délicat, sans pour autant renoncer à la puissance ou au fruit, ce qui rend ce Massena si accessible et agréable à boire.

Producteur

Peter Michael Winery

Peter Michael Winery

Dans les années 1970, Sir Peter Michael débarquait en Californie en tant que jeune ingénieur et découvrait l’univers du vin californien, qui était alors en plein essor et que quelques noms de premier plan avaient porté sur la scène internationale.

en savoir plus
Sette Cieli

Sette Cieli

Il n'est pas facile d'arriver au septième ciel. Et il est vrai que le chemin qui mène au domaine Sette Cieli est semé de quelques embûches. Après s'être trompé de route et avoir fait maints détours (Google Maps n'a pas le septième ciel dans son radar), l'on arrive enfin dans le paradis viticole de la famille Ratti.

en savoir plus
Cantina Colterenzio

Cantina Colterenzio

en savoir plus