to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nicolas Feuillatte: Champagne of the Year at Baur au Lac Vins

Nicolas Feuillatte was born in Paris in 1926 to a family of wine and spirits importers. Originally, the plan was for him to take over this company from his father one day. But fate held something else in store for him. After World War II, Nicolas went his own way and renounced his inheritance. He emigrated across the Great Pond and successfully started a cocoa and coffee business in New York. This was the time when coffee was becoming hugely popular in America and had previously only been imported from Brazil.


 

nicolas feuillatte

Realising this potential, Nicolas realised started importing coffee from Africa and developed instant coffee. By 1955 he had become the leading importer of African coffee in the United States, a diplomat and permanent UN representative for Ivory Coast in New York and a passionate globetrotter. The world was his oyster. He was an excellent networker and got to know many great personalities from politics and American show business. He cultivated friendships with Kennedy and Onassis, among others. He later used these valuable contacts to establish his brand of champagne.

When his father died unexpectedly in 1972, Nicolas returned to his old homeland. The visionary and gifted entrepreneur inherited a 12-hectare vineyard in Bouleuse near Reims. A champagne lover himself, he decided to become a champagne producer and released his "Réserve Particulière" in 1978. This was an expression of Nicolas' generosity and entrepreneurial spirit. It took his friends from all over the world by storm, and so his champagne quickly took off in the USA, Australia and English and became the trend-setting brand of the international jet set to which Nicolas Feuillatte himself belonged.

In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Blanc de Blancs Collection Vintage
In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or Rosé Millésime
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or brut
In Stock
In Stock
kisten



Due to the overwhelming success of his champagne, his production capacities were soon exhausted. He searched far and wide for a new source for his increased demand for champagne grapes and found it in the Centre Vinicole de la Champagne (CVC), a cooperative founded by Henri Macquart. This relationship marked the beginning of a great success story. His goal was to produce a champagne that was not only reserved for his high-society friends, but would bring pleasure to everyone.

In 1986, he sold the brand to the CVC, which comprises some 4500 winegrowers (from 82 cooperatives) and their families who maintain and cultivate their often small vineyards with great passion and the experience of generations to harvest the best quality grapes for "their" champagne brand. They are affiliated with the CVC Nicolas Feuillatte, the most important and modern winegrowers' association in Champagne.

champagne



The vineyards are located in the champagne regions between the Vallée de la Marne and the Côte des Bar, in the Massif de Saint-Thierry, in the Montagne de Reims, the Côte de Sézanne and the Vallée de l'Ardre. In order to successfully establish the brand, Nicolas Feuillatte, in collaboration with an agency, crafted advertising campaigns that combined contemporary marketing and art. Each year, he selected an artist to create an exclusive themed campaign to promote the brand image. This was considered highly unusual in the very traditional world of champagne.

In the span of just 30 years, Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte has become the No. 1 champagne brand in France and the world's third largest producer of champagne, now represented in over 80 countries. The trend-setting brand Nicolas Feuillatte stands for creativity, modernity, elegance and curiosity. It is inspired by the call of distant lands, as was the case with its founder, who went to America as a young man in the 1950s.

palme





The 2100 hectares spread over the entire appellation include 11 valuable Grand Cru and 26 1er Cru vineyards – providing the basis for exclusive and prestigious top cuvées such as Palmes d'Or Brut and Palmes d'Or Rosé. The golden palm tree is a declaration of love to a young opera singer, with whom Nicolas Feuillatte was deeply enamoured. This prestige cuvée aspires to be as elegant, sublime and unforgettable as his diva. The bottle design was specially designed to pay tribute to the singer's black pearl robe that she wore when she performed in New York.

trauben



In order to guarantee the impeccable quality of all champagnes, the grapes – whether they come from a smaller vineyard or a top location – are pressed immediately after being harvested in presses located in the vineyards, instead of first being brought to the winery. The production boasts state-of-the-art technology. A wide range of champagnes is created here from the great variety of grapes, which regularly receive rave reviews from international wine critics.

The style of Nicolas Feuillatte champagnes is characterised by finesse, precision, accessibility and elegance. Chief Winemaker Guillaume Roffiaen and David Hénault, the Chef de Cave, are mainly responsible for the annual production of the approximately 10 million bottles.

besucherzentrum


The majestic winery near Chouilly was expanded in 2017 to include the impressive "Espace Nicolas Feuillatte" visitor centre, which welcomes guests from all over the world. Contemporary works of art, state-of-the-art interior design and the innovative production site are enough to make every visitor's heart beat faster. The elegant, urban and at the same time glamorous and hedonistic personality of Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte can be felt from the very beginning.

Nicolas Feuillatte died in 2014 at the age of 88, but his brand lives on. His philosophy "champagne for all occasions" lives on in his wide range. Today, the life's work of this impressive visionary is enjoyed and celebrated the world over. Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte offers top quality for every occasion, every taste and every budget. A sparkling "art de vivre français" for the big and small moments in life.

     Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte is official partner from

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nicolas Feuillatte: Champagner des Jahres bei Baur au Lac Vins

Nicolas Feuillatte wurde 1926 in Paris als Sohn einer Importeurfamilie für Wein und Spirituosen geboren. Eigentlich sollte er diese Firma später vom Vater übernehmen. Sein Schicksal wollte es aber anders. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ging Nicolas seine eigenen Wege und verzichtete auf sein Erbe. Er wanderte aus über den Grossen Teich und startete in New York erfolgreich ein Kakao- und Kaffeebusiness. Zu jener Zeit wurde Kaffee in Amerika populär und war bisher nur aus Brasilien importiert worden.


 

Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas erkannte das Potenzial, stieg in den Import von Kaffee aus Afrika ein und entwickelte löslichen Kaffee. 1955 war er der grösste Importeur afrikanischen Kaffees in den USA, Diplomat und ständiger Vertreter der Elfenbeinküste in New York sowie leidenschaftlicher Weltenbummler. Die Welt lag ihm zu Füssen. Er war ein exzellenter Netzwerker und lernte grosse Persönlichkeiten aus Politik und dem amerikanischen Showbusiness kennen. Er pflegte Freundschaften u.a. mit Kennedy und Onassis. Später nutzte er diese wertvollen Kontakte zur Etablierung seines Champagners. 

Als 1972 sein Vater überraschend verstarb, kehrte Nicolas in seine alte Heimat zurück. Der Visionär und begnadete Unternehmer erbte einen 12 Hektaren grossen Weinberg in Bouleuse bei Reims. Als Champagnerliebhaber entschied er sich Champagnerhersteller zu werden, und brachte 1978 seine "Réserve Particulière" auf den Markt. Diese war Ausdruck von Nicolas' Grosszügigkeit und seinem unternehmerischen Geist. Seine Freunde in aller Welt überschäumten vor Begeisterung, so dass der Champagner in den USA, Australien und England sehr schnell zur Trendmarke des internationalen Jetsets, zu dem Nicolas Feuillatte gehörte, aufstieg.

In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Punkte
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Punkte
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or Rosé Millésime
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Punkte
Nicolas Feuillatte Palmes d'Or brut
In Stock
In Stock
kisten



Wegen des grossen Erfolgs seines Champagners waren seine Produktionskapazitäten bald erschöpft. Er suchte nach einer neuen Quelle für seinen erhöhten Bedarf an Champagnertrauben und wurde beim Centre Vinicole de la Champagne (CVC), einer Genossenschaft, fündig, welche durch Henri Macquart gegründet worden war. Dieser Kontakt war der Start einer grossartigen Erfolgsgeschichte. Sein Champagner sollte nicht nur seinen Freunden der High Society vorbehalten, sondern ein Genuss für jedermann und jedefrau sein.

1986 verkaufte er die Marke an das CVC, hinter dem ca. 4500 Winzer (aus 82 Kooperativen) und ihre Familien stehen, die ihre oft kleinen Rebgärten liebevoll und mit der Erfahrung von Generationen pflegen, um beste Traubenqualität für «ihre» Champagnermarke zu ernten. Sie sind dem CVC-Nicolas Feuillatte angeschlossen, der bedeutendsten und modernsten Winzervereinigung der Champagne. 

champagne


Die Weingärten liegen in den Champagnergebieten zwischen dem Vallée de la Marne und der Côte des Bar, im Massif de Saint-Thierry, in der Montagne de Reims, der Côte de Sézanne und dem Vallée de l'Ardre. Um die Marke erfolgreich zu etablieren, kreierte Nicolas Feuillatte zusammen mit einer Agentur Kampagnen, die zeitgenössisches Marketing und Kunst vereinten. Jedes Jahr wählt er einen Künstler, der eine exklusive thematische Kampagne zur Stärkung des Markenimage ausarbeitet. Damals galt das in der sehr traditionellen Champagnerwelt als atypisch.

Binnen nur 30 Jahren stieg Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte zur Champagnermarke Nr. 1 in Frankreich und zum weltweit drittgrössten Champagnerproduzenten, der heute in über 80 Ländern vertreten ist, auf. Die zukunftsweisende Marke Nicolas Feuillatte steht für Kreativität, Modernität, Eleganz und Neugier. Sie lässt sich vom Ruf ferner Länder inspirieren, so wie damals ihr Gründer, der als junger Mann in den 50er-Jahren nach Amerika ging. 

palme





Zu den insgesamt 2100 Hektaren, die über die gesamte Appellation verteilt sind, gehören 11 wertvolle Grand-Cru- und 26 1er-Cru-Lagen – die Basis für exklusive und prestigeträchtige Spitzencuvées wie Palmes d’Or Brut und Palmes d’Or Rosé. Die goldene Palme ist eine Liebeserklärung an eine junge Opernsängerin, die Nicolas Feuillatte sehr verehrte. Diese Prestige-Cuvée soll so elegant, erhaben und unvergesslich wie seine Diva sein. Das Flaschendesign wurde speziell entworfen, um an die schwarze Perlenrobe der Sängerin bei ihren Auftritten in New York zu erinnern. 

 

trauben



Um makellose Qualität für alle Champagner zu gewährleisten, werden die Trauben – egal ob sie aus einem einfacheren Rebgarten oder einer Spitzenlage stammen – sofort nach der Ernte in Pressen, die in den Rebbergen stehen, gepresst, statt dass sie zuerst in die Kellerei transportiert werden. Die Kellerei verfügt über State-of-the-Art-Technologie. Dort wird aus der grossen Traubenvielfalt eine breite Palette an Champagnern kreiert, die regelmässig hohe Bewertungen von internationalen Weinkritikern erhalten.

Beim Stil der Nicolas-Feuillatte-Champagner legt man Wert auf Finesse, Präzision, Zugänglichkeit und Eleganz. Hauptverantwortlich für die jährliche Produktion der ca. 10 Millionen Flaschen zeichnen der Direktor für Önologie und Qualität Guillaume Roffiaen und Chef de Cave David Hénault.

besucherzentrum


Die imposante Kellerei bei Chouilly wurde 2017 um das beeindruckende Besucherzentrum «Espace Nicolas Feuillatte» erweitert, das Gäste aus aller Welt empfängt. Zeitgenössische Kunstwerke, modernstes Interieur und die innovative Produktionsstätte lassen bei einem Besuch alle Herzen höherschlagen. Von Anfang an ist die elegante, urbane und gleichzeitig glamouröse und hedonistische Persönlichkeit von Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte spürbar.

2014 verstarb Nicolas Feuillatte im Alter von 88 Jahren, doch seine Marke lebt weiter. Seine Philosophie "Champagner für alle Lebenslagen" lebt in seinem breiten Sortiment weiter. Das Lebenswerk eines beeindruckenden Visionärs wird heute weltweit genossen und gefeiert. Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte bietet Topqualität für jeden Anlass, jeden Geschmack und jedes Portemonnaie. Er ist perlende «art de vivre français» für die kleinen und grossen Augenblicke im Leben. 

              Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte ist offizieller Partner von