to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: classics of the south

The highly interesting appellation of Coteaux du Languedoc incorporates the traditionally prestigious wines of Languedoc. The approximately 10,000 hectares are spread over more than 140 communities, and are planted exclusively with the traditional grape varieties that first established the reputation of Languedoc wines. The Coteaux du Languedoc designation (today also called AOC du Languedoc) is thus a guarantor of authentic wines from the Midi.

Red wines from Coteaux du Languedoc

In Stock
Antonin Coteaux du Languedoc
Only 3 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock

Merlot Côté Sud

VdT, Grès Saint Paul, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 27.–
In Stock
Syrhus Coteaux du Languedoc
Only 17 Bottles

The Coteaux du Languedoc region resembles a jigsaw of high-quality cultivation areas in the south that are rich in tradition and stretch from Nîmes in the east to Narbonne in the west. Each of them has a distinctive terroir. The Pic Saint Loup rock mass, for example, is found in the very east, while La Clapa is a peninsula protruding from the coast in the western extreme of the region. Both sub-regions are known for their substantial red wines. In general, red wines quite clearly set the tone, with a share of 70 percent. The peak of the AOC quality pyramid is formed today by six classified crus: Corbières Boutenac, Minervois La Livinière, Saint-Chinian Belou, Saint-Chinian Roquebrun, Faugères and La Clape.

The Greeks were the first

Some 600 years before Christ, the Greeks and Etruscans laid the foundations for viticulture in Languedoc. The region experienced its first vinicultural heyday in Roman times, when deserving veterans settled at Narbonne to make wine. After the fall of the Roman Empire, viticulture in Languedoc quickly lost significance. It was only in the late 17th century, thanks to improved transportation with the opening of the Canal du Midi, that viticulture experienced a renaissance, one which was only briefly interrupted by the phylloxera pandemic (in 1863).

High-quality terroirs

The wines of the Coteaux du Languedoc appellation are grown largely on hillsides or terraces. The soil types are manifold, ranging from volcanic rock over gravel and shale to sand or loam. The grape varieties approved for this designation of origin are all long-established, and have adapted themselves well to their respective terroirs. Red wines are vinified almost exclusively from the Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault and Carignan varieties. Over ten varieties are approved for white wines; particularly characterful white crus are made from varieties such as Picpoul Blanc and Bourboulenc.

With the surrounding garrigue-scrub landscape consisting of rosemary, thyme, lavender, bay, juniper and many other plants, the vineyards are part of a unique landscape. In a generally very warm, Mediterranean-influenced climate, regional winds from the north and west provide consistent cooling.

 

Subregions

Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: a dynamic atmosphere north of the Danube

Read more
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: le grand classique du sud

L’appellation coteaux-du-languedoc englobe la tradition prestigieuse des vins du Languedoc. Répartis sur plus de 140 communes, les quelques 10'000 hectares de vignes sont plantés exclusivement des cépages traditionnels qui ont fait la renommée du Languedoc. L’appellation coteaux-du-languedoc (de nos jours aussi nommée AOC du Languedoc) est ainsi la garantie de vins authentiques du Midi.

Vins rouges de Coteaux du Languedoc

In Stock
In Stock
Antonin Coteaux du Languedoc
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
In Stock
Syrhus Coteaux du Languedoc
Plus que 23 Bouteilles

Les coteaux-du-languedoc sont un précieux puzzle de vignobles traditionnels du sud, s’étirant de Nîmes à l’est et jusqu’à Narbonne à l’ouest. Tous disposent d’un terroir bien marqué. Par exemple, à l’extrémité est se trouve le massif rocheux du Pic Saint-Loup, alors qu’à l’ouest, La Clape se situe sur la côte. Tous deux sont connus pour leurs vins puissants. D’ailleurs, dans cette région, les vins rouges dominent, représentant 70% de la production. Les six crus classés, situés en haut de la pyramide qualitative de la région sont : corbières-boutenac, minervois-la-livinière, saint-chinian-berlou, saint-chinian-roquebrun, faugères et la-clape.

Les Grecs aux origines de l’histoire

Déjà 600 ans avant J. C., les Grecs et les Etrusques avaient posés les fondements de la viticulture dans le Languedoc. Plus tard, la région connut sa première période de popularité aux temps des Romains, lorsque les soldats vétérans s’installèrent près de Narbonne pour exploiter la vigne. Toutefois,  après la chute de l’empire romain, la viticulture dans cette région perdit vite son importance. Ce n’est alors qu’au 17ème siècle, avec l’ouverture du canal du Midi, que la viticulture reprit ici son essor, en partie grâce à l’amélioration des possibilités de transport, et sans jamais vraiment depuis perdre de souffle, si ce n’est pendant une courte période, celle de la crise phylloxérique (à partir de 1863).

Des terroirs de grande qualité

Les vignes de l’appellation coteaux-du-languedoc mûrissent majoritairement sur des coteaux ou des terrasses. Les sols sont variés et vont de la pierre volcanique au sable ou l’argile en passant par les graviers ou le schiste. Les cépages autorisés pour ces appellations anciennes sont depuis longtemps établis et sont parfaitement adaptés aux terroirs. Les vins rouges sont presque sans exceptions fait à partir de Grenache, de Syrah, de Mourvèdre, de Cinsault et de Carignan. Plus d’une dizaine de cépages sont autorisés pour les vins blancs, mais certains élaborés à partir de Picpoul Blanc et de Bourboulenc montrent beaucoup de caractère.

En côtoyant la garrigue composée de romarin, de thym, de lavande, de laurier, de sureau et de bien d’autres plantes, les vignobles forment ainsi un écosystème unique. De plus, dans un climat clairement méditerranéen, en général assez chaud, des vents du nord et de l’ouest apportent constamment de la fraîcheur.

Sous-régions

Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: garant de finesse

en savoir plus
Moulis
Bordeaux

Moulis

Moulis: petit mais raffiné

en savoir plus
Pomerol
Bordeaux

Pomerol

Pomerol: le charme du Merlot

en savoir plus