to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: classics of the south

The highly interesting appellation of Coteaux du Languedoc incorporates the traditionally prestigious wines of Languedoc. The approximately 10,000 hectares are spread over more than 140 communities, and are planted exclusively with the traditional grape varieties that first established the reputation of Languedoc wines. The Coteaux du Languedoc designation (today also called AOC du Languedoc) is thus a guarantor of authentic wines from the Midi.

Red wines from Coteaux du Languedoc

In Stock
Antonin Coteaux du Languedoc
Only 3 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock

Merlot Côté Sud

VdT, Grès Saint Paul, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 27.–
In Stock
Syrhus Coteaux du Languedoc
Only 17 Bottles

The Coteaux du Languedoc region resembles a jigsaw of high-quality cultivation areas in the south that are rich in tradition and stretch from Nîmes in the east to Narbonne in the west. Each of them has a distinctive terroir. The Pic Saint Loup rock mass, for example, is found in the very east, while La Clapa is a peninsula protruding from the coast in the western extreme of the region. Both sub-regions are known for their substantial red wines. In general, red wines quite clearly set the tone, with a share of 70 percent. The peak of the AOC quality pyramid is formed today by six classified crus: Corbières Boutenac, Minervois La Livinière, Saint-Chinian Belou, Saint-Chinian Roquebrun, Faugères and La Clape.

The Greeks were the first

Some 600 years before Christ, the Greeks and Etruscans laid the foundations for viticulture in Languedoc. The region experienced its first vinicultural heyday in Roman times, when deserving veterans settled at Narbonne to make wine. After the fall of the Roman Empire, viticulture in Languedoc quickly lost significance. It was only in the late 17th century, thanks to improved transportation with the opening of the Canal du Midi, that viticulture experienced a renaissance, one which was only briefly interrupted by the phylloxera pandemic (in 1863).

High-quality terroirs

The wines of the Coteaux du Languedoc appellation are grown largely on hillsides or terraces. The soil types are manifold, ranging from volcanic rock over gravel and shale to sand or loam. The grape varieties approved for this designation of origin are all long-established, and have adapted themselves well to their respective terroirs. Red wines are vinified almost exclusively from the Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault and Carignan varieties. Over ten varieties are approved for white wines; particularly characterful white crus are made from varieties such as Picpoul Blanc and Bourboulenc.

With the surrounding garrigue-scrub landscape consisting of rosemary, thyme, lavender, bay, juniper and many other plants, the vineyards are part of a unique landscape. In a generally very warm, Mediterranean-influenced climate, regional winds from the north and west provide consistent cooling.

 

Subregions

Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: a dynamic atmosphere north of the Danube

Read more
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: Die Klassiker des Südens

Die überaus interessante Appellation Coteaux du Languedoc umfasst die traditionell prestigeträchtigen Weine des Languedoc. Die rund 10‘000 Hektar verteilen sich auf über 140 Gemeinden und sind konsequenterweise ausschliesslich mit jenen traditionellen Rebsorten bestockt, die das Renommee der Languedoc-Weine einst mit begründet haben. Die Bezeichnung Coteaux du Languedoc (heute auch AOC du Languedoc genannt) ist damit ein Garant für authentische Weine aus dem Midi.

Rotweine aus Coteaux du Languedoc

Merlot Côté Sud
Nur noch 11 Flaschen

Merlot Côté Sud

VdT, Grès Saint Paul, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 27.–

Merlot Côté Sud

VdT, Grès Saint Paul, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 27.–
Syrhus Coteaux du Languedoc
Nur noch 4 Flaschen

Das Coteaux du Languedoc gleicht einem hochwertigen Puzzle von traditionsreichen Anbaugebieten des Südens, die sich von Nîmes im Osten bis Narbonne im Westen ziehen. Alle verfügen über ein markantes Terroir. Ganz im Osten finden wir beispielsweise das Felsmassiv des Pic Saint Loup und La Clape ganz im Westen ist eine der Küste vorgeschobene Halbinsel, beide Subregionen sind bekannt für ihre gehaltvollen Rotweine. Überhaupt geben die Rotweine mit einem Anteil von 70 Prozent klar den Ton an. Die Spitze der AOC-Qualitätspyramide bilden heute die sechs klassierten Crus, nämlich: Corbières Boutenac, Minervois La Livinière, Saint-Chinian Belou, Saint-Chinian Roquebrun, Faugères und La Clape.

Die Griechen machten den Anfang

Schon 600 vor Christus sollen Griechen und Etrusker die Basis für den Weinbau im Languedoc gelegt haben. Eine erste Blütezeit erlebte der Weinbau dann zur Zeit der Römer, als sich verdiente Kriegsveteranen bei Narbonne niederliessen und Weinbau betrieben. Nach dem Ende des Römischen Reiches verlor der Weinbau im Languedoc dann schnell an Bedeutung. Erst als Ende des 17. Jahrhundert der Canal du Midi eröffnet wurde, erlebte der Weinbau Dank der verbesserten Transportmöglichkeiten eine Renaissance, welche selbst vom Reblauseinfall (ab 1863) nur kurz unterbrochen wurde.

Hochwertige Terroirs

Die Weine der Appellation Coteaux du Languedoc reifen grösstenteils in Hanglagen oder Terrassen. Die Bodentypen sind vielfältig und reichen von Vulkangestein über Kies und Schiefer bis zu Sand oder Lehm. Die für diese Ursprungsbezeichnung zugelassenen Rebsorten sind allsamt alteingesessen und haben sich bestens an das jeweilige Terroir adapiert. Rotweine werden fast ausschliesslich aus den Sorten Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cinsault und Carignan gekeltert. Für die Weisseine sind über zehn Sorten zugelassen, besonders charaktervolle weisse Crus werden aus Sorten wie Picpoul Blanc und Bourboulenc gekeltert.

Die Weinberge ergeben mit der sich umgebenden Garrigue-Strauchlandschaft, bestehend aus Rosmarin, Thymian, Lavendel, Lorbeer, Wacholder und vielen anderen Pflanzen ein einzigartiges Ökosystem. In einem generell sehr warmen, mediterran geprägten Klima sorgen regionale Winde aus Norden und Westen immer wieder für Abkühlung.

Unterregionen

Burgenland

Neusiedlersee

Neusiedlersee: Dunkelrot und edelsüss

Weiterlesen
Côte Chalonnaise
Bourgogne

Côte Chalonnaise

Côte Chalonnaise: Ehrliche Crus mit Charakter

Weiterlesen
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: Viel Dynamik nördlich der Donau

Weiterlesen