to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Dão

Dão: noble crus from the highlands

The wine world eyes Dão, the Portuguese wine region in the northern foothills of the Estrela Mountains (Serra da Estrela), with greater interest with each passing year. A cool climate, sparse granite soils and first-class native varieties result in wines which brilliantly master the balancing act between fruitfulness and wholesome structure. The majority of the wines here are assemblages. The red Touriga Nacional and white Encruzado varieties in particular are guarantors for first-class wines.

White wines from Dão

In Stock
Vinum 15 Points
Encruzado Barrique
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Dão

In Stock
In Stock
Quinta dos Roques Reserva
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Wine Spectator 87 Points
Quinta dos Roques vinho tinto
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Touriga Nacional
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Touriga Nacional

DO Dao, Quinta dos Roques, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 39.–

The vineyards here are clearly not as spectacularly situated as those on the Douro River, somewhat further north. For this reason, the Dão region is considered the epitome of rural, tranquil Portugal. The vineyards are widely distributed within the hilly landscape, often surrounded by forests and meadows. In addition, winemaking here rests in the hands of adept vintners – feudal estates are the exception. Conditions for cultivating premium wines are excellent. The sparse granite soils force the vines to grow deep roots. A mountain range protects the vineyards from humid, cool Atlantic air. The climate in this plateau, where vines grow on average 500 metres above sea level, is continentally influenced, with great differences between daily highs and nightly lows and between summer and winter months. The terroir is ideal for cultivating complex, well-structured wines with great character, in which neither the acidity nor the sugar content needs to be artificially supplemented.

Home of the Touriga Nacional

Winemakers work almost exclusively with indigenous varieties. Researchers suspect that the fantastic Touriga Nacional variety, which today is grown beyond Portugal, in Australia and California, has its origins in the Dão region. Thus, in many wines, the Touriga Nacional plays the lead role; however, it is often supplemented with varieties such as Tinta Roriz, Tinta Cão, Alfrocheiro Preto or Jaen. The latter of these varieties comes from the same family as the Spanish Mencia variety and also yields distinctively fruity varietal wines with a cool character and plenty of freshness. Among white wines, the Encruzado variety has increasingly proven its quality potential in recent years. It yields complex wines with aromas of citrus fruit and herbs and is well-suited for oak maturation.

Innovative vintners as pioneers

As the city of Viseu played an important role in Roman times, it is assumed that the beginnings of viticulture here date to this era. When phylloxera devastated French vineyards in the 19th century, Dão wines were exported on a large scale to France. After the end of the Second World War, cooperatives took the reins in the Dão region, at times vinifying 95 percent of the grapes cultivated here. For about 25 years, innovative vintners have used the excellent conditions to produce wines that are among the best in all of Portugal..

Regions

Mendoza
Argentina

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec and more

Read more
Jumilla
Spain

Jumilla

Jumilla: The home of Monastrell

Read more
South Australia
Australia

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz as a driving force

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Dão

Dão: de nobles crus des hautes terres

Avec chaque millésime, le monde du vin montre un intérêt croissant pour la région de Dão, au nord du Portugal, située sur les contreforts de la montagne de l’étoile (serra da Estrela). Un climat frais, des sols granitiques pauvres et des cépages locaux exceptionnels produisent des vins capables de l’exploit de réunir corpulence fruitée et structure saine. Bien que la plupart des vins soient des assemblages, le Touriga Nacional rouge et l’Encruzado blanc sont les garants de vins de grande qualité.

Vins blancs de Dão

Encruzado Barrique
Plus que 1 Bouteille
Production intégrée certifiée
Vinum 15 Points
Encruzado Barrique
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Dão

Quinta dos Roques Reserva
Production intégrée certifiée
Vinum 17 Points
Quinta dos Roques Reserva
Plus que 4 Bouteilles
Production intégrée certifiée
Wine Spectator 87 Points
Quinta dos Roques vinho tinto
Plus que 17 Bouteilles
Production intégrée certifiée

Certes, les vignobles sont ici moins spectaculaires que dans la vallée du Douro située plus au nord, pourtant la région de Dão incarne la valeur contemplative du Portugal rural. Les vignobles sont clairsemés dans les paysages vallonnés, souvent entourés de forêts et de prairies, et la viticulture repose dans les mains de vignerons chevronnés, les domaines féodaux étant l’exception. Toutes les conditions pour la production de crus excellents sont réunies : les sols granitiques pauvres forcent les vignes à s’enfoncer profondément, une chaîne montagneuse les protège de l’air froid et humide de l’Atlantique, et enfin, le climat continental sur ce plateau s’élevant à 500 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer en moyenne, est marqué par de grandes amplitudes thermiques entre le jour et la nuit et entre l’été et l’hiver. Ce terroir est idéal pour la création de vins de caractères complexes et structurés où les niveaux de sucre ou d’acidité n’ont nul besoin d’être améliorés artificiellement.

La patrie du Touriga Nacional

Les vignerons travaillent presque exclusivement avec des cépages locaux. Les chercheurs supposent d’ailleurs que le Touriga Nacional, cultivé maintenant non seulement dans tout le Portugal, mais aussi en Australie et en Californie, trouve ses origines dans le Dão. Beaucoup de vins font la part belle à ce cépage, toutefois en général combiné au Tinta Roriz, au Tinta Cão, à l’Alfrocheiro Preto ou au Jaen. Ce dernier fait partie de la même famille que le Mencia espagnol, et donne ici, même en mono-cépage, des vins blancs très fruités ayant beaucoup de fraîcheur. Toujours pour les blancs, au cours des dernières années, l’Encruzado a de plus en plus prouvé son potentiel qualitatif en produisant des vins complexes aux arômes d’agrumes et d’herbes aromatiques qui se prêtent très bien à l’élevage en barrique.

Des vignerons innovants comme précurseurs

Puisque la ville de Viseu jouait un rôle prépondérant au temps des Romains, on assume que la viticulture remonte ici à cette époque. Lorsque le phylloxéra réduit la viticulture française à néant au 19ème siècle, les vins du Dão furent exportés vers la France en grande quantité. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les coopératives reprirent le flambeau, et vinifiaient même jusqu’à 95% des raisins produits dans cette région. Depuis maintenant environ 25 ans, ce sont de nouveau des vignerons indépendants qui, grâce à leur innovation, vinifient parmi les meilleurs crus du Portugal en exploitant au mieux les conditions exceptionnelles que réunissent ces terroirs.

Régions

Andalucía
Espagne

Andalucía

L’Andalousie: sherry et bien plus

en savoir plus
Mittelrhein
Allemagne

Mittelrhein

Rhin moyen: petit mais raffiné

en savoir plus
Niederösterreich
Autriche

Niederösterreich

Basse Autriche: des crus proches et lointains du Danube

en savoir plus