to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Dominio de Pingus

The first Pingus was bottled in 1995. This limited production wine from Ribera del Duero made history with a legendary rating from Robert Parker Junior (1998): "One of the greatest young red wines I have ever tasted." The vintage is also at the centre of a somewhat mythical-sounding story – the freighter carrying a quarter of the limited production sank off the Azores, with the wine ending up in Davy Jones's locker at the bottom of the sea.

 

Peter Sisseck, alias Pingus

Peter Sisseck, alias Pingus, was born in Copenhagen in 1962. His uncle, oenologist Peter Vinding-Diers who managed Château Rahoul in Bordeaux, awakened Peter's interest in wine at an early age. The 21-year-old subsequently learned winemaking from him.

Red wines from Dominio de Pingus

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Psi by Pingus 2018
In Stock
Parker 93+ Points
Psi by Pingus 2019

from Dominio de Pingus

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Psi by Pingus 2018
In Stock
Parker 93+ Points
Psi by Pingus 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus 2019

He stayed in Bordeaux for one and a half years, then returned to Denmark, studied agriculture and became an agricultural engineer. However, wine was to remain his central interest. He applied to Ridge, but before he could leave for California he was in 1990 offered the job of building up the Hacienda Monasterio winery in Ribera del Duero. Peter arrived from Bordeaux with a huge amount of surplus energy, carrying with him the manifesto of his friends, the 'Garagists' of the Right Bank of the Gironde estuary, which advocates the importance of getting back to basics, to the noble pursuit of creating liquid art in a natural way. During this time Peter became captivated by the old vineyards of the La Horra region. With this fascination a new era began, during which he defined his vision of creating a wine there that would, in time, be welcomed into the circle of the grands crus and could last for generations. 
 

The cellar

The small winery of Dominio de Pingus is located on the banks of the river Duero in the province of Valladolid. Within its whitewashed walls there is a hidden cellar, discovered in 1830, which reflects the monastic grandeur of the Cistercian period (12th century). It is said to be one of the oldest cellars in the region, and Peter was determined to produce the finest wines within its historic walls.

Trying to design and create a "lieu" in the hope that it would last for centuries to come requires a clear and effective strategy. In retrospect it was not an easy journey, but thanks to his passion and tireless determination Peter's dream of establishing his winery in this sleepy little village was realised with the completion of the project in 2004. 

In the winery under the cathedral-like ceiling, the 16 modern stainless steel fermentation tanks in which Flor de Pingus is produced face 5 Taransaud barrels, the cradle of Pingus. The production is limited by the capacity of the available area and is sure to remain small, because Dominio de Pingus has no intention of growing beyond its current size.

 

The vineyards

In the Pingus vineyards the biodynamic philosophy was the only possible direction to take. Respect had to be shown for the gnarled old Tinta del País (Tempranillo) vines planted in 1929 on the 4.2 hectare Barroso and San Cristobal plots. Peter is convinced that the purity of the grapes can best be preserved by staying true to traditional viticulture. "With our strong awareness of root welfare and biodiversity, we are protecting the future growth of the Pingus terroir." And this firm belief, he hopes, will carry the essence of these precious vines into the next century.

The two complementary Pingus vineyards are located on the rolling hills of La Horra, between 800 and 837 metres above sea level. The first, Barroso, is formed from old gravel and sand layers over calcareous soils from the Duero. San Cristobal, the second vineyard, is 200 metres away and lies on clayey slopes with a south-west exposure.

Flor de Pingus owes the balance of its character to 16 different plots which are blended together and are made up of young and older vineyards scattered throughout the La Horra region. Some of these plots (14 hectares) are owned by the winery, others (6 hectares) are cultivated by outside wine growers and are closely monitored. All vineyards are farmed sustainably and organically.

 

Bodegas y Viñedos Arnaldo

In 2007 Peter Sisseck launched the PSI project with the aim of preserving the region's old vineyards. More than 400 wine growers with tiny plots and ancient vines are involved in this unique project. Peter offers them advice and help, and buys their grapes for PSI. This wine is matured predominantly in used barrels, enabling it to express the full potential and typical character of this unique region. Not only the name (both Peter Sisseck's initials and the Greek letter Psi), but also the style of the wine bear the unmistakable signature of the master: full of body and at the same time perfectly balanced - a wine of extraordinary structure and complexity, as ambiguous and profound as the character Psi Ψ.   And at the same time it is intended to be an affordable wine for the wine lover, a wine for every day enjoyment.

Producer

Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

Read more
Heymann-Löwenstein / Fam. Löwenstein

Heymann-Löwenstein / Fam. Löwenstein

Read more
Son Mayol

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and – we are convinced of this – will come to set new standards on Majorca.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Dominio de Pingus

En 1995, le premier Pingus fut mis en bouteille. Un vin produit en quantité infime, qui fit l'histoire avec un jugement légendaire de Robert M. Parker Jr. (1998): «C'est l'un des plus grands et des plus passionnants jeunes vins rouges que je n’ai jamais dégusté». De plus, le millésime fut objet d'un incident presque mythique: le cargo transportant un quart de la production limitée fit naufrage au large des Açores, et le vin toucha le fond de la mer, dans la cave de Neptune.

 

Peter Sisseck alias Pingus

Pingus est le surnom de Peter Sisseck, né en 1962 à Copenhague (Danemark). C’est son oncle, Peter Vinding-Diers, œnologue au Château Rahoul à Bordeaux, qui suscita son intérêt pour le vin et qui apprit au jeune homme de 21 ans les secrets de la vinification.

Vins rouges de Dominio de Pingus

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Psi by Pingus
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Psi by Pingus
In Stock
Parker 100 Points
Pingus
Plus que 18 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus

de Dominio de Pingus

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Flor de Pingus
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Psi by Pingus
In Stock
Parker 100 Points
Pingus
Plus que 18 Bouteilles

Après un an et demi à Bordeaux, Peter retourna au Danemark pour faire des études d'agriculture et devenir ingénieur agronome. Pourtant, le vin resta pour lui le fil conducteur. Il postula à Ridge Vineyards en Californie. Mais avant même de pouvoir partir, il reçut l’offre de monter le domaine de l'Hacienda Monasterio à Ribera del Duero, au nord de l’Espagne. En 1990, Peter débarqua de Bordeaux, avec dans ses bagages un énorme surplus d'énergie et le manifeste de ses amis, les « garagistes » de la rive droite, exigeant un retour aux racines et à la noble quête de créer de l'art liquide naturel. Arrivé, Peter fut subjugué par les vieilles vignes de la région de La Horra. Il précisa sa propre vision d’un vin qui entrait dans le cercle des grands crus et qui durerait des générations.
 

La cave

Dominio de Pingus est une petite cave au bord du fleuve Duero dans la province de Valladolid. Entre ses murs blanchis à la chaux se cache une cave ancestrale, découverte en 1830, qui reflète toute la beauté monastique de l'époque cistercienne (XIIe siècle). Il se dit qu’il s’agit d'une des plus anciennes caves de la région. Ici, entre ces murs historiques, Peter voulait produire ses vins exceptionnels.

La tentative de concevoir et façonner un « lieu » qui durerait des siècles demande une vision claire et bien pensée. Avec le recul, le voyage ne fut pas facile. Mais le feu de la passion et une volonté inlassable firent vivre ce projet. En 2004, Peter réalisa son rêve : avoir sa propre cave dans ce petit village endormi.

Dans son chai sous le plafond de la cathédrale, les 16 cuves modernes en inox dans lesquelles Flor de Pingus est vinifié font face aux 5 foudres de Taransaud, le berceau de Pingus. La production limitée est due à la faible capacité de la pièce et elle restera minime, car Dominio de Pingus n'a aucunement l’intention de s’étendre au-delà du niveau actuel.

 

Les vignes

Dans les vignobles de Pingus, la culture biodynamique fut la seule voie possible. Les vieilles vignes noueuses de la Tinta del País (Tempranillo), plantées en 1929 sur les 4,2 hectares des parcelles de Barroso et de San Cristobal, exigent du respect. Peter est convaincu que les méthodes viticoles d'antan préserveront la pureté des raisins. « Avec notre forte conscience du bien-être des racines et de la biodiversité, nous protégeons la pérennité du terroir de Pingus ». Cette conviction profonde portera l'essence de ces vignes précieuses au siècle suivant.

Les deux vignobles complémentaires se situent de 800 à 837 mètres d’altitude sur les collines de La Horra. Le premier, Barroso, est formé d'anciennes couches de gravier et de sable sur des sols calcaires du Duero. Le deuxième, San Cristobal, se trouve à 200 mètres de distance sur des pentes argileuses exposées vers le sud-ouest.

Flor de Pingus doit son caractère bien équilibré à l’assemblage harmonieux de 16 parcelles différentes, composées de vignes jeunes et moins jeunes, qui sont dispersées dans la région de La Horra. La plupart des parcelles (14 hectares) est en possession propre, d’autres (6 hectares) sont exploitées avec un contrôle rigoureux. Toutes les vignes sont cultivées selon les méthodes écologiques et durables.

 

Bodegas y Viñedos Arnaldo

En 2007, Peter Sisseck lança son projet PSI visant à préserver les vieilles vignes de la région. Depuis, plus de 400 viticulteurs avec des parcelles minuscules et des vignes parfois ancestrales se sont joints à ce projet unique. Peter les conseille, il les soutient et achète leurs raisins pour PSI. Ce vin élevé en vieilles barriques, pour la plupart, exprime tout le potentiel et la typicité de sa provenance unique. Son nom (dérivé des initiales de Peter Sisseck ou de la lettre grecque psi) autant que son style portent la signature du maître : à la fois puissant et parfaitement équilibré. Le vin doté d’une structure et complexité exceptionnelles est aussi profond et ambigu que le signe psi Ψ. Et pourtant, il est censé être un vin abordable pour l’amateur de vin, un plaisir de tous les jours.

 

Producteurs

Weingut Ratzenberger / Fam. Ratzenberger

Weingut Ratzenberger / Fam. Ratzenberger

Pour se rendre à Bacharach sur le Rhin, le plus agréable est de prendre le bateau le long de la fameuse falaise de Loreley. Sur les deux rives de cette partie centrale du Rhin, châteaux moyenâgeux et charmants villages se succèdent sans relâche. Bacharach est l’une des plus belles bourgades de cette contrée classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. À l’arrivée, il suffit d’une petite demi-heure à pied ou de cinq minutes en voiture pour se rendre au quartier de Steeg en vue d’une balade.

en savoir plus
Ramiro Wine Cellar

Ramiro Wine Cellar

en savoir plus
Paladin

Paladin

Les vignes du domaine Paladin se trouvent aux confins de la Vénétie orientale et du Frioul, où déjà à l’époque romaine, la production de vin de qualité était établie. Pline fait mention dans ses écrits d’amphores chargées dans les ports des environs à destination de Rome.

en savoir plus