to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Castello del Terriccio

Castello del Terriccio is one of the largest agricultural estates in Tuscany (Province of Pisa) with its own microclimate. The approximately 1700 hectares extend from the northern end of the Maremma to the Tyrrhenian Sea. The vineyards enjoy a south-southwest exposure with the warming and luminous effect of the sea. The Mediterranean maquis and the eucalyptus trees growing all around it not only protect the grapes from the wind, but also imbue them with the scents and aromas that give the wines of the Terriccio their distinctive flavour.

Leaving the charming Tuscan town of Castellina Marittima via the narrow and picturesque serpentine road passing large pine trees and wonderful scenery, after a few kilometres you reach the gates of the splendid Castello del Terriccio estate. After the entrance, a private road leads up to the vineyard. On the way there, the gently rolling hills of the Maremma pass you by: forests, fields with Limousine cattle and horses, vineyards and of course olive groves. Situated at the top of a hill is the centre of the Castello, with a historic village centre, manor house, granary, wine cellar, olive press, and, of course, the obligatory church. The view of the seemingly infinite landscape and the dark blue Tyrrhenian Sea with the islands of Elba, Capraia, and Corsica is of a breathtaking, rare beauty. Castello del Terriccio is located north of Bolgheri in the Province of Pisa within the Maremma. With its impressive 1700 hectares, including 65 hectares of vineyards, it is one of the largest private estates in Tuscany.

White wines from Castello del Terriccio

In Stock
Con Vento 2019
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan

Con Vento 2019

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml
In Stock

Con Vento 2020

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml

Red wines from Castello del Terriccio

In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Tassinaia 2017

Tassinaia 2017

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 1500 ml
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Tassinaia 2017
Only 12 Bottles
Vegan

Tassinaia 2017

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Lupicaia 2014

Lupicaia 2014

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Castello del Terriccio 2016

from Castello del Terriccio

In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Tassinaia 2017

Tassinaia 2017

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 1500 ml
In Stock
Con Vento 2019
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan

Con Vento 2019

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Lupicaia 2016

Lupicaia 2016

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml
In Stock

Tassinaia 2018

IGT Toscana, Tenuta del Terriccio, 750 ml

The owner of this beautiful estate was the recently deceased former equestrian and charismatic patron Gian Annibale Rossi di Medelana Serafini Ferri, an enthusiastic horse breeder who pursued his passion for horses at his stud farm. Il Terriccio quite literally flourished under Gian Annibale. Vittorio Piozzo di Rosignano Rossi di Medelana, born in Turin and Gian Annibale’s only nephew, with whom he shared the passion for this corner of Tuscany, took the reins as his successor in late 2019. Today, Vittorio is at the helm and is responsible for this prestigious agricultural estate. He considers it a “great privilege to have inherited not only a company that produces wines of great value, known throughout the world, but also a winery that represents a unique microcosm in which an unspoilt and almost wild nature provides the setting for a rural settlement that has its own historical and cultural value”.

Its modern history began in the post-war period when the Ferri family bought the historic estate. Until the late 1970s the estate mostly produced cereals, although it also had 25 hectares of vineyards. The main focus of interest was on Bordeaux blends.

By the 1995 vintage the estate in the northern hills of Maremma had firmly established itself as a producer of first-rate wines. The soils of Castello del Terriccio are very similar to those of nearby Bolgheri: the sandy soils of the coast meet the rocks of the hills. The reddish soils are barren, with a high copper, iron, and magnesium content. The maritime Mediterranean microclimate ensures that the autumn storms generally don’t unleash their full force until they reach central Tuscany, sparing the vines in Terriccio. The Mediterranean maquis and the eucalyptus trees growing all around protect the grapes from the wind, but also imbue them with the scents and aromas that characterise the wines of this vineyard. In the state-of-the-art winery, the grapes from the 65 hectares of vineyards are still largely processed by hand.

Since 1993 the renowned oenologist Carlo Ferrini has played a key role in the success of the Castello del Terriccio estate as a consultant, which is why wines such as Lupicaia no longer have to take a back seat to Sassicaia and the like. Working together with the agronomist Emanuele Vergari and the resident oenologist Valerio Corsini, they make a formidable team. Ferrini’s high quality standards drive his constant ambition to create the best (Bordeaux) blends in Italy. And he succeeds in his mission year after year because the wines with his signature stand out thanks to their strong personality and deep connection to the earth, regularly receiving prestigious international awards such as the Tre Bicchieri of Gambero Rosso and Parker Points.

Producer

Château Mongiron

Château Mongiron

Set in the heart of the sea of vines between the Garonne and Dordogne rivers – in the so-called Entre-deux-Mers – lies Château Mongiron in the small town of Nérigean.

Read more
Rosa Bosco

Rosa Bosco

Rosa Bosco, already somewhat of a legend in the oenological world of Friuli, founded her label “RB” in 1998. Her wines are vinified and aged in the de Puppi family’s traditional azienda according to the credo "quality without compromise”.

Read more
Château Les Valentines

Château Les Valentines

Not far from the picturesque towns of Nice and Saint-Tropez, the owners of Château Les Valentines, Gilles and Pascale Pons, produce wines that reflect the summery lightness and intense sensuality of the beautiful Provence countryside.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Castello del Terriccio

Le Castello del Terriccio est l’un des plus grands domaines agricoles de Toscane (situé dans la province de Pise) avec un propre microclimat: ses quelque 1700 hectares s’étendent de l’extrémité nord de la Maremme jusqu’à la mer Tyrrhénienne. Les vignobles bénéficient d’une exposition au sud-sud-ouest, les effets réchauffant et lumineux de la mer en prime. Le maquis méditerranéen et les eucalyptus qui poussent tout autour protègent les raisins du vent, leur conférant aussi les parfums et les arômes qui caractérisent les vins du Terriccio.

Partant de la charmante ville toscane de Castellina Marittima en empruntant l’étroite et pittoresque route serpentine qui longe de grands pins de même qu’une faune et flore magnifiques, vous aboutirez, quelques kilomètres plus loin, au portail du magnifique domaine rural de Castello del Terriccio. Derrière l’entrée, un chemin privé mène à la propriété viticole, les douces collines de la Maremme pour décor, outre moult forêts, des champs avec des bovins limousins, des chevaux, des vignes et, bien sûr, des oliveraies. Un peu plus haut se trouve le centre du Castello, avec son noyau historique, un hôtel particulier, un grenier à blé, une cave à vin, un pressoir à olives et la traditionnelle église. La vue sur un horizon presque infini et le bleu sombre de la mer Tyrrhénienne, avec les îles d’Elbe, de Capraia et de Corse, est d’une beauté à couper le souffle. Le Castello del Terriccio est situé au nord de Bolgheri, dans la province de Pise, au cœur de la Maremme. Avec ses 1700 hectares impressionnants, dont 65 de vignobles, c’est l’un des plus grands domaines privés de la Toscane.

Vins blancs de Castello del Terriccio

Vins rouges de Castello del Terriccio

de Castello del Terriccio

Décédé il n’y a pas si longtemps, le propriétaire de ce magnifique domaine était Gian Annibale Rossi di Medelana Serafini Ferri, un ancien cavalier professionnel et un mécène charismatique, de même qu’un éleveur passionné qui a poursuivi sa passion pour les chevaux dans son haras. C’est sous Gian Annibale que le domaine Il Terriccio a vraiment prospéré. Sa passion pour ce coin de la Toscane, il la partageait avec son unique neveu qui lui succède fin 2019. Aujourd’hui, Vittorio est le directeur et le responsable de ce prestigieux domaine agricole. Il considère d’ailleurs comme un «grand privilège d’avoir hérité non seulement d’une entreprise qui produit des vins d’une grande valeur, connus dans le monde entier, mais aussi d’un domaine viticole qui constitue un microcosme unique dans lequel une nature intacte et quasi sauvage fournit le cadre à un établissement rural doté d’une propre valeur historique et culturelle».

L’histoire moderne a commencé dans l’après-guerre, lorsque la famille Ferri a acheté le domaine historique. Jusqu’à la fin des années 1970, on s’est surtout concentré sur la culture des céréales, l’exploitation comptant alors quelque 25 hectares de vignes, avec un accent sur les assemblages de Bordeaux.

C’est au plus tard avec le millésime 1995 qu’il devient apparent que de grands vins sont produits dans la région vallonnée du nord de la Maremme. Les sols du Castello del Terriccio sont très similaires à ceux de Bolgheri, à proximité, les terres sableuses de la côte habillant les roches des collines. Les sols rougeâtres sont pauvres, avec une forte teneur en cuivre, en fer et en magnésium. De plus, le microclimat maritime-méditerranéen a pour conséquence qu’en général, les tempêtes d’automne ne déchargent pas toute leur puissance avant d’atteindre la Toscane centrale, épargnant ainsi les vignes du Terriccio. Le maquis méditerranéen et les eucalyptus qui poussent tout autour protègent les raisins du vent, leur conférant aussi les parfums et les arômes qui caractérisent les vins de ce domaine. Dans la cave, équipée d’une technologie moderne, les raisins des 65 hectares de vignobles sont encore largement traités à la main.

Depuis 1993, le célèbre œnologue Carlo Ferrini conseille et pilote le domaine de Castello del Terriccio sur la voie du succès, raison pour laquelle des vins comme le Lupicaia n’ont plus rien à envier au Sassicaia et autres Toscans réputés. De concert avec l’agronome Emanuele Vergari et l’œnologue maison Valerio Corsini, il a pu mettre sur pied une équipe compétente, les exigences qualitatives et les objectifs de Ferrini consistant à créer les meilleurs assemblages (de Bordeaux) d’Italie. Il y est parvenu, année après année, car les vins qui portent sa signature convainquent tant par leur forte personnalité que par leurs liens profonds avec la terre, sans oublier de mentionner les prestigieuses distinctions internationales décrochées, comme les «3 Bicchieri» du Gambero Rosso ou des points Parker.

Producteur

Principe di San Martino

Principe di San Martino

en savoir plus
Paladin

Paladin

Les vignes du domaine Paladin se trouvent aux confins de la Vénétie orientale et du Frioul, où déjà à l’époque romaine, la production de vin de qualité était établie. Pline fait mention dans ses écrits d’amphores chargées dans les ports des environs à destination de Rome.

en savoir plus
Ramiro Wine Cellar

Ramiro Wine Cellar

en savoir plus