to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

France

France – Philosophy in a bottle

According to French philosophy, wine should be an expression of the soil and climate. They use the word “terroir” to describe this. Terroir makes every wine different, and many especially good. French wine is regarded worldwide as an expression of cultural perfection. The French believe that humans are responsible for the quality of the berries, the vine variety for their character, and nature for the quantity. This philosophy can be expressed succinctly as: “the truth is the vineyard, not the man.”

Sparkling wines from France

In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Philipponnat brut Royale Réserve

Philipponnat brut Royale Réserve

AOC Champagne, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
André Clouet brut Rosé

André Clouet brut Rosé

AOC Champagne, 750 ml
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 90 Points
Tarlant Brut Réserve

Tarlant Brut Réserve

AOC Champagne, 750 ml

White wines from France

In Stock

Touraine Sauvignon Blanc 2020

(sec), 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Rosé wines from France

In Stock
In Stock
Vinum 93 Points
Château Les Valentines rosé 2020
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 88 Points
Le Caprice de Clémentine rosé 2020

Red wines from France

In Stock

B de Biac 2014

AC Cadillac Côtes de Bordeaux, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 96-98 Points
Château Brane-Cantenac 2016
Only 3 Bottles
In Stock

Lirac 2018

AOC Lirac, Pères de l'Eglise, 750 ml

Sweet wines from France

In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Ch. Climens 2016
Only 5 Bottles

Ch. Climens 2016

AC Sauternes 1er cru classé, 375 ml
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Ch. Climens 2016
Only 1 Bottle

Ch. Climens 2016

AC Sauternes 1er cru classé, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 92-94 Points
Ch. Raymond-Lafon 2015
Only 14 Bottles

Ch. Raymond-Lafon 2015

AC Sauternes, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 97-99 Points
Château d'Yquem 2017
Only 12 Bottles

Spirits from France

In Stock

Cognac Park VS

Carte Blanche, 700 ml
In Stock

Cognac Park VSOP

Very Superior Old Pale, 700 ml
In Stock

Cognac Park XO

Traditional Reserve, Grande Champagne, 700 ml
In Stock

Cognac Park Cigar blend (XO)

Vieille Fine Champagne, 700 ml

France is one of the most recognized wine nations in the world. From a total area of around 900,000 hectares, approximately 60 million hectoliters of wine are produced annually. Some 70% of total production is given over to red wines and rosés, with white wine making up only 30%.

Wine makes history

The history of wine is closely linked to the history of France. The authors of the Communist Manifesto sipped French wine, as did the political representatives in the capital. When the Prussian-Bavarian treaty was signed in 1871, sealing Germany's unity, it was not a sparkling wine from the Mosel that was served, but champagne, even though France had declared war on Germany just a few months earlier.

The first vines arrived in France 600 years before Christ with the Greeks. The Greeks laid the foundations for cultivating vines, but it was the Romans who were responsible for their systematic propagation within the province of Gaul. In the mid-third century, emperor Marcus Aurelius ordered the planting of vines across all of Gaul, and his subjects obeyed with great zeal. Although the emperor was later killed by his own soldiers, wine production flourished, advancing to Champagne in the 4th century.

Who came up with it? Monks, of course.

The Catholic Cistercian Order was founded in Burgundy in 1098. These monks saw it as a pious act to establish vineyards at their monasteries. In the process, they were not the only ones who succumbed to the appeal of the intoxicating beverage – secular citizens also gladly allowed themselves to be seduced. The monks perfected viticulture, which affected not just France but the whole of Europe. The Order of the Benedictine monks, whose most famous member was Dom Pérignon, also provided a great service to French viticulture. They are considered the inventors of assemblage, or the art of blending of wines.

Small man, great law

French wine law is among the most complicated and confusing in the world. In 1855, emperor Napoleon commissioned the wine trade board of Bordeaux to carry out a classification of the country’s châteaux. This has retained its validity to this day.

French vintners quickly realized that certain grape varieties in particular soils, under the influence of prevailing climate, give rise to wines with distinctive character. The term “terroir” was coined in the early 20th century. Nonetheless, the history of the quality label used for this – “Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée” (controlled designation of origin) – stretches back to the 15th century.

Country

Germany

Germany

Germany – Into the elite the hard way

Read more
Switzerland

Switzerland

Switzerland – A small country with enormous diversity

Read more
Argentina

Argentina

Where nostalgia tangoes with innovation

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

France

La France – de la philosophie en bouteilles

En conformité avec la philosophie française, le vin doit être le miroir du sol et du climat. C’est pour cette raison qu’existe la notion de : « terroir ». Ce terroir rend chaque vin différent, plus particulièrement bon. Les vins français sont reconnus partout dans le monde comme l’expression de la perfection culturelle. Le Français est convaincu que l’homme est responsable de la qualité, le cépage du caractère et la nature de la quantité. La philosophie peut être exprimée succinctement par : «La vérité est dans le vin, non dans l’homme».

Vins pétillants de France

In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Nicolas Feuillatte Rosé Réserve Exclusive
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Philipponnat brut Royale Réserve
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
André Clouet brut Rosé
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 89 Points
Tarlant Brut Réserve

Vins blancs de France

In Stock
Chablis La Boissonneuse
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Alsace 1er cru Engelgarten
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Alsace 1er cru Gruenspiel
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Alsace Complantation
Végan

Vins rosés de France

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Château Les Valentines rosé
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Vinum 93 Points
Château Les Valentines rosé
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
In Stock
Le Grand Huit Rosé
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Vins rouges de France

In Stock
In Stock
Parker 94+ Points
Château Sansonnet
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Château Boyd-Cantenac
Plus que 23 Bouteilles

Vins doux de France

In Stock
Muscat de Beaumes de Venise
Plus que 5 Bouteilles
In Stock
Ch. Climens
Plus que 20 Bouteilles
In Stock
Ch. Climens
Plus que 18 Bouteilles
In Stock

Spritueux de France

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Cognac Park XO
Plus que 20 Bouteilles
In Stock

La France est sans conteste l’une des nations du vin les plus connues au monde. Sur une surface de plus de 900'000 hectares sont produits plus de 60 millions de litres de vin par an, dont 70% sont vinifiés en rouge et rosé et 30% en blanc.

Le vin écrit l’histoire.

L’histoire du vin est intimement liée à l’histoire de France. Les auteurs du manifeste communiste sirotaient tout autant le jus de raisins fermentés que les représentants du capitalisme. Lorsque le traité de Francfort fut signé en 1871, ce n’est pas une bouteille de mousseux allemand qui fut ouverte, mais une bouteille de champagne, bien que la France ait déclaré la guerre quelques mois plus tôt.

Les premiers plans de vignes arrivèrent en France en 600 avant J.C. avec les Grecs. Ceux-ci fondèrent les bases pour la culture de la vigne. Ce furent cependant les Romains qui en assurèrent la propagation dans la province gauloise. Au milieu du 3ème siècle, l’empereur Marcus Aurelius ordonna la plantation de vignes dans toute la Gaulle, chose que ses sujets firent avec beaucoup de zèle. Bien que l’empereur fut plus tard assassiné par ses propres soldats, la viticulture prospéra au 4ème siècle jusqu’en Champagne.

Qui l’a inventé ? Les moines, bien sûr.

L’ordre cistercien fut fondé en 1098 en Bourgogne. Ces moines voyaient la culture de la vigne près de leurs monastères comme un acte pieux. Mais ils n’étaient pas les seuls à apprécier l’enivrante boisson; tous les citoyens en étaient séduits. Les moines parfirent la viticulture, ce qui eut une influence non seulement en France mais dans toute l’Europe. L’ordre des Bénédictins, dont le membre le plus connu est Dom Pérignon, contribuèrent aussi au développement de la viticulture. Il leur est attribué l’invention de l’assemblage, l’art de mélanger les vins.

Petit homme, grande loi

La législation vinicole française est une des plus compliquées et des plus déroutantes au monde. En 1855, l’Empereur Napoléon mandata la chambre de commerce de Bordeaux d’effectuer une classification des châteaux, faisant toujours foi aujourd’hui.

Les vignerons français perçurent très tôt que certains cépages sur certains sols, influencés par le climat local, développaient des qualités organoleptiques uniques. Au début du 20ème siècle fut ainsi introduite la notion de «terroir». L’histoire du label de qualité utilisé pour ceci : «l’AOC» (appellation d’origine contrôlée) remonte quant à elle au 15ème siècle.

Pays

Autriche

Autriche

L’Autriche – une culture précieuse, accessible à tous

en savoir plus
Australie

Australie

L’Australie – notoriété internationale en un temps record

en savoir plus
Italie

Italie

L’Italie – où le vin est une manière de vivre

en savoir plus