to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Graubünden

Graubünden: Mecca for Burgundy varieties

Nowhere in Switzerland has a better ratio of first-class Pinot noir crops to cultivation area than Graubünden. The ageing philosophy of vintners here leaves its imprint even more than the subtle differences in terroir from one vineyard village to the next. In recent years, three Pinot types have established themselves here: the light and sweet Herrschäftler for everyday drinking, the selections aged in large wooden barrels or used barriques, and of course the premium selections of individual estates matured in barriques.

White wines from Graubünden

In Stock
Fläscher Chardonnay
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Fläscher Pinot Blanc
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Fläscher Pinot Gris
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Fläscher Sauvignon Blanc
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Graubünden

In Stock
Fläscher Pinot Noir
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Fläscher Pinot Noir Alte Rebe
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Fläscher Pinot Noir Barrique
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Graubünden is one of the few wine growing cantons in the German-speaking part of Switzerland which has seen steady growth in cultivation area in recent years. In 1990, only 300 hectares were planted with vines; today, this figure is 425 hectares. The reason for this boom is the resounding success of the Herrschäftler Pinot Noir, which, in its best form, combines alluring fruit, juicy fullness and Burgundian finesse.

The church as a pioneer of viticulture

The first wines vinified in this part of the Rhine valley are suspected to have been white wines. At the time when viticulture in Graubünden was first mentioned in writing, in a testament by Bishop Tello of Chur dating from 765 CE, white varieties like Elbing, Veltliner or Completer may have been exclusively cultivated here. Completer was first mentioned in 1321 in a church document. It received its name because monks drank this wine with the evening prayer, called “complete”. Pinot Noir was first introduced here during the 30 Years War (1618 to 1648) by the Bretonic Duke of Rohan.

High-standing white specialties

Although white wines are only grown on 20 percent of the cultivation area, Chardonnays, Pinot Blancs and Sauvignon Blancs in particular achieve a high level of quality here, even in international terms. Completer, with its highly pronounced acidity, has traditionally been oxidatively aged for years in large casks. Now, cushioned with a few grams of residual sugar, it is experiencing a small renaissance with a fresh and fruity style.

The wine-growing villages of Graubünden line the eastern side of the Rhine valley. Vines here grow between 500 and 600 metres above sea level. In higher locations, primary rock soils predominate, with high slate or lime proportions. In the valley flats, the soil is heavy, with a high clay content and gravel. The foehn, an exceedingly warm Alpine autumn wind, plays an important role in the final stage of maturation; it is thus also called “traubenkocher” (grape cooker) in Graubünden.

Subregions

McLaren Vale
South Australia

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale: Fruit abundance, paired with elegance

Read more
Carnuntum
Niederösterreich

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: Red finesse in Zweigelt country

Read more
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: a dynamic atmosphere north of the Danube

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Graubünden

Les Grisons: la Mecque des Pinots

Nulle part ailleurs en Suisse, le rapport entre grands vins de Pinot Noir et surface de culture n’est si élevé que dans les Grisons, sachant que la philosophie des vignerons a autant d’influence sur les vins que les différences subtiles de terroirs d’un village à l’autre. Au cours des dernières années, trois types de Pinots se sont établis ici: le «herrschäftler» de tous les jours, facile à boire, les «auslese» élevés en foudre ou en vieux fût et enfin les «top sélection» de chaque domaine élevées en barriques.

Vins blancs de Graubünden

Vins rouges de Graubünden

Les Grisons est un des rares cantons suisses dont la surface du vignoble n’a cessé de croître ces dernières années. En 1990, environ 300 hectares étaient couverts de vignes, aujourd’hui 425 hectares. La raison de cette expansion est le grand succès rencontré par les Pinots Noirs «herrschäftler» qui, sous leurs meilleurs habits, réunissent un fruité séduisant, une corpulence juteuse et une finesse bourguignonne.

L’église, un précurseur

Les premiers vins vinifiés dans cette partie de la vallée du Rhin étaient probablement des blancs. Lorsque la viticulture dans les Grisons est évoquée pour la première fois par écrit, en 765 apr. J.C., dans le testament de l’évêque Tello de Chur, seule la culture de cépages blancs est mentionnée comme l’Elbling, le Veltliner ou le Completer. Ce dernier apparaît pour la première fois dans un document ecclésiastique en 1321. Il tient ce nom du vin que buvaient les moines pendant la prière du soir, la «completa». Le Pinot Noir ne fut introduit que plus tard, pendant la guerre de Trente Ans ans (1618 – 1648), par le duc de Rohan breton.

Des spécialités en blanc de grande qualité

Bien que les vins blancs ne représentent que 20% du vignoble, les Chardonnays, Pinots Blancs et Sauvignons Blancs obtiennent des niveaux de qualités internationales. Le Completer, si acide, fut traditionnellement élevé en oxydatif pendant des années en foudre. Aujourd’hui, il traverse une renaissance, adoucit par quelques grammes de sucre résiduel, dans un style frais et fruité.

Les villages des Grisons s’alignent sur les flancs est de la vallée du Rhin. Les vignes poussent entre 500 et 600 mètres d’altitude, où dominent dans les terroirs les plus élevés les roches primitives de schiste ou de calcaire. Dans la plaine, les sols sont plus lourds, en grande partie formés d’argile et de gravier. En fin de maturité, le foehn, un vent plus chaud descendant des Alpes, joue un rôle important, et vaut aux Grisons son nom de «traubenkocher» (bouilleur de raisin).

Sous-région

Jumilla
Murcia

Jumilla

Jumilla: patrie du Monastrell

en savoir plus
Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: la légèreté de l’être

en savoir plus
Péssac-Léognan
Bordeaux

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: cru fantastique des faubourgs

en savoir plus