to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

St-Julien

Saint-Julien: in the heart of the Médoc

Although Saint-Julien often stands somewhat in the shadow of the neighboring Pauillac and Margaux appellations, wines from this region promise the best Médoc characteristics. It is also the communal appellation that is the most clearly and compactly structured. The area resembles a square, with sides roughly four kilometres long and an area of 900 hectares. The eleven crus classés occupy 75 percent of this area. Nowhere else in the Médoc does the grand cru classé occupy such a large share of the total vineyard area.

Red wines from St-Julien

In Stock
In Stock
Parker (90-92) Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2014
In Stock
Ch. Saint-Pierre 2014
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock

With Pauillac in the north and Margaux in the south, the crus of Saint-Julien combine the noble qualities of these two prominent neighbouring regions. A successful Saint-Julien thus embodies both the power of Pauillac and the delicateness of a Margaux growth.

Saint-Julien represents a prime example of how meaningful and detectable to the senses the structure of the communal appellations of the Médoc is. Thus the finesse and delicateness of nearby Margaux is evident in the crus from the south of Saint-Julien, near the village of Beychevelle. In the north, on the other hand, where Saint-Julien directly borders Pauillac, and the vines are rooted in the same loamy soil, wines also demonstrate the almost legendary strength of Pauillac.

Top sites on the Gironde

With eleven crus classés and an area of just 900 hectares, the proportion of prestigious wines is higher here than anywhere else in the Médoc. The best sites in the appellation are located in the immediate vicinity of the Gironde, where the typical gravel banks are found, guaranteeing good drainage. Here, Cabernet Sauvignon is able to express its best qualities. Thus, it shapes the assemblages in this eastern part of the appellation, with a proportion of usually over 65%. In addition, the Gironde, which reaches nearly three kilometres wide here, has a moderating influence on the climate. It mellows both the high temperatures in the summer and the lows in the winter. The danger of late frosts here is therefore low.

In the west of the appellation, where the soils are far sandier and the climate a bit cooler, the somewhat earlier-ripening Merlot yields excellent results.

Subregion

St-Emilion
Bordeaux

St-Emilion

Saint-Emilion: unique Bordeaux idyll

Read more
Chablis
Bourgogne

Chablis

Chablis: the pure finesse of Chardonnay

Read more
Graubünden
Ostschweiz

Graubünden

Graubünden: Mecca for Burgundy varieties

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

St-Julien

Saint-Julien: au cœur du Médoc

Bien que Saint-Julien reste souvent dans l’ombre de ses voisins Pauillac et Margaux, les vins de cette appellation présentent les meilleurs caractéristiques du Médoc. C’est aussi l’appellation communale qui montre le plus une structure compacte et claire. Le vignoble est plus ou moins un carré de quatre kilomètres de côté et représente une surface de 900 hectares dont 75% sont exploités par onze crus classés. Nulle part ailleurs en Médoc, les grands crus classés ne représentent une surface d’exploitation aussi grande.

Vins rouges de St-Julien

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2014
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Château Beychevelle 2018
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2004
Plus que 12 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 88 Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2006
Plus que 12 Bouteilles

Avec Pauillac au nord et Margaux au sud, les crus de Saint-Julien réunissent les nobles caractéristiques de ses voisins prestigieux. Ainsi, un saint-julien réussi incarne à la fois la puissance des pauillacs et l’élégance des margaux.

Avec Saint-Julien, on a l’exemple parfait illustrant à quel point les appellations communales en Médoc ont un sens et sont sensoriellement compréhensibles. Ainsi au sud de l’appellation, près du village de Beychevelle, on retrouve dans ses crus la finesse et l’élégance de ceux provenant de l’AOC margaux si proche. Au nord par contre, non loin du terroir de Pauillac, où les vignes sont plantées sur les mêmes sols argileux, on retrouve dans les vins un soupçon de la puissance de l’AOC voisine.

Des terroirs fantastiques sur la Gironde

Avec onze crus classés sur une surface de 900 hectares, la concentration de vins prestigieux est plus concentrée ici que nulle part ailleurs dans le Médoc. Les meilleurs terroirs de l’appellation se situent à l’immédiate proximité de la Gironde, où les bancs graveleux typiques se trouvent, garantissant le bon drainage de la terre. Le Cabernet Sauvignon peut développer toute sa complexité, et marque ici de son empreinte ces assemblages de l’est de l’appellation, en étant en général utilisé à plus de 65 pour cent. De plus, mesurant à cet endroit près de trois kilomètres de large, la Gironde influence grandement le climat, l’adoucissant en été, et le réchauffant en hiver, réduisant de ce fait les risques de gel tardif.

A l’ouest, où les sols sont beaucoup plus sableux et le climat légèrement plus frais, le Merlot, mûrissant plus tôt, donne d’excellents résultats.

Sous-région

Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: garant de finesse

en savoir plus
Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adélaïde Hills: pays de collines idylliques pour le vin

en savoir plus
Südsteiermark
Steiermark

Südsteiermark

Styrie du Sud: blancs de grande classe en de nombreuses nuances

en savoir plus