to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Hawkes Bay

Hawke’s Bay is located in the east of New Zealand’s North Island and is the country’s oldest and second-largest wine-growing region (approx. 4640 hectares), dating back to 1851. Hawke’s Bay is New Zealand’s largest wine-growing region for high-quality red wines, accounting for over 80 percent of its total production of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah. Chardonnay and the two varieties Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot make up around 50 percent of total production at Hawke’s Bay. White and red wines are produced in approximately equal amounts. The region produces a total of 10 percent of all New Zealand wines.

Hawke’s Bay is situated on the 39th southern parallel (which corresponds to Madrid’s location in the northern hemisphere) making it one of the hottest and sunniest areas in New Zealand. A maritime Mediterranean climate, permeable soil types with low natural fertility, hot, dry winds from the northwest, low rainfall and a long vegetation period allow for the cultivation of a wide variety of grapes in the different vineyards. Compared to Europe, some parts of the region are slightly warmer than Burgundy, while others are cooler than Bordelais. Hawke’s Bay has over 25 different types of soil and a particularly high soil diversity. In addition to clay, limestone, sand and gravel, it features the typical Gimblett Gravels, which consists of dry, permeable gravel soil with sandy lime.

Hawke’s Bay has the country’s highest percentage of wineries accredited according to the guidelines of Sustainable Winegrowing New Zealand (SWNZ): 70 percent of over 170 wineries. Hawke’s Bay is committed to this independently conducted sustainability programme and the number of accredited businesses is growing steadily.

The unique and elegant red wines of this region blend the fruit of the New World with the structure of the old world of wine. Due to its very high quality, which can easily hold its own against the best red wines worldwide, and its competitive prices compared to high-priced world-class wines, Hawke’s Bay continues to grow consistently. 

The region is connected to the world via the airport of the city of Napier. Napier is a centre of Art Deco and offers a wide variety of attractions: both architectural and culinary. The nearby Ruahine Forest National Park is the perfect getaway for extended hikes.

Sparkling wines from Hawkes Bay

In Stock
The Super-Nat Pétillant Naturel Sauvignon blanc
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

White wines from Hawkes Bay

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Green Glow Sauvignon blanc
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
The Supernatural Sauvignon blanc
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Regions

Tessin
Switzerland

Tessin

Ticino: the Merlot Mecca of Switzerland

Read more
Rhône
France

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

Read more
South Australia
Australia

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz as a driving force

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Hawkes Bay

La région viticole de Hawke’s Bay est située dans une baie à l'est de l'île Nord de la Nouvelle Zélande. C'est la plus ancienne et la deuxième plus grande région viticole néo-zélandaise (env. 4640 hectares), dont l'origine remonte à 1851. La région de Hawke's Bay est la plus grande région viticole de la Nouvelle Zélande en ce qui concerne les vins rouges de haute qualité, avec une proportion de plus de 80% de l'intégralité de la production néo-zélandaise de Cabernet Sauvignon, de Merlot et de Syrah. Environ 50% de la production totale de la région de Hawke's Bay concernent le Chardonnay et autres sortes de Cabernet Sauvignon et de Merlot. Vins blancs et vins rouges sont produits dans des proportions à peu près égales. La région produit au total 10% de tous les vins néo-zélandais.

La région de Hawke's Bay est située sur 39ème parallèle sud (ce qui correspond à peu près à Madrid dans l’hémisphère nord) et compte donc parmi les régions les plus chaudes et les plus ensoleillées de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Un climat méditerranéen empreint de douceur maritime, des sols perméables à l'eau et de faible fertilité naturelle, des vents chauds et secs du Nord-Ouest, de faibles précipitations et une longue période de végétation permettent la culture des cépages les plus divers dans les différents vignobles. Dans certaines parties de la région, les températures sont un peu plus chaudes que par exemple en Bourgogne, dans d'autres encore elles sont plus fraîches que dans le Bordelais. Avec plus de 25 types de sols différents, la région de Hawke's Bay possède une grande diversité de terroirs. Outre l'argile, la glaise, le sable et le gravier, l'on trouve le fameux Gimblett Gravel, composé de gravier sec et bien drainé et d'argile sablonneuse.

Au niveau national, la région de Hawke's Bay a le pourcentage de production le plus élevé de vignobles accrédités conformément aux directives du Programme de durabilité «Sustainable Winegrowing NZ (SWNZ)»: 70% des quelques 170 vignobles. La région de Hawke's Bay est étroitement impliquée dans ce programme de durabilité mis en œuvre de façon indépendante, et le nombre des exploitations accréditées est en constante augmentation.

Dans les rouges uniques et élégants de cette région, le fruit du nouveau monde s'allie à la structure de l'ancien. En raison de sa très grande qualité, qui peut rivaliser avec les meilleurs vins rouges du monde entier, et de ses tarifs concurrentiels par rapport aux prix élevés des vins de classe internationale, la région de Hawke's Bay n’a jamais cessé son expansion.

La région est facilement accessible via l'aéroport de la ville de Napier. En tant que centre Art Déco, Napier propose un grand éventail de curiosités: non seulement architecturales, mais aussi culinaires. Le Parc national forestier de Ruahine, tout proche, invite à de longues randonnées.

Vins pétillants de Hawkes Bay

In Stock
The Super-Nat Pétillant Naturel Sauvignon blanc
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Vins blancs de Hawkes Bay

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Green Glow Sauvignon blanc
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
The Supernatural Sauvignon blanc
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Régions

Mittelrhein
Allemagne

Mittelrhein

Rhin moyen: petit mais raffiné

en savoir plus
South Australia
Australie

South Australia

Australie du Sud: la Shiraz comme cheval de Troie

en savoir plus
Campbeltown
Écosse

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: élégance salée

en savoir plus