to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling meets Burgundy

Palatine winemakers manage the feat of vinifying top-tier crus from both white and red varieties. In addition, Riesling presents the same class here as Chardonnay and other Burgundy varieties. This versatility at high quality levels makes Germany’s second-largest wine region a trove of discoveries of all kinds. Tranquil winegrowing towns with a diverse range of culinary offerings and hotels make the Palatinate region a perfect wine travel destination.

White wines from Pfalz

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Jesuitengarten G.C. Riesling 2010
In Stock
Parker 94-96 Points
Deidesheimer Kalkofen GC Riesling 2019
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 94-96 Points
Deidesheimer Kalkofen GC Riesling 2019

Red wines from Pfalz

In Stock
Roter Satz 2014
Only 13 Bottles
Vegan

Roter Satz 2014

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das kleine Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2018

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml

Sweet wines from Pfalz

In Stock

The boom the winegrowing town of Deidesheim has experienced is representative of the general upswing in quality in the Palatinate region. Here, where Helmut Kohl once enjoyed his Saumagen, a multitude of new hotels and restaurants have cropped up in recent years. The top wineries in town offer visitors a comprehensive programme. While the Palatinate cannot impress with steep slopes or spectacular forts and castles perched over the valley, a high-quality, holistic wine culture can be found here.

Mild climate, low precipitation

Viticulture in the Palatinate benefits primarily from its preferential climate conditions. The hill and mountain chains of the Palatinate Forest, which are essentially a continuation of the Vosges, provide effective protection from the cold, wet air masses from the west. Thus the winegrowing areas of the Palatinate record an impressive 2,000 hours of sunshine per year. Rainfall of 500 millimetres per year per square metre is lower than almost anywhere else in Germany. The average yearly temperature is 11 degrees Celsius. For this reason, the climate in the Palatinate is often described as moderate Mediterranean. Soil conditions are varied: in general, sand, loam and loess predominate, but marl, Keuper, granite and porphyry also play a role depending on the zone.

Dry Rieslings are best

The assortment of varieties is great: Müller-Thurgau, Portugieser and especially Dornfelder play important roles in the Palatinate. But for wine enthusiasts, Riesling and Burgundy varieties are the most interesting. In the prime locations of the Palatinate, Riesling yields dry growths which – with their perfect balance of delicateness and lush fruit body – are among the best in Germany. And the best Chardonnay and Pinot Noir selections from the Palatinate can take on premium wines from Burgundy.

Region

Veneto
Italy

Veneto

Veneto: land of the Amarone and Prosecco

Read more
Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Pfalz

Le Palatinat: là où le Riesling rencontre la Bourgogne.

Les vignerons du Palatinat réussissent le tour de force de produire d’excellents crus autant en rouge qu’en blanc. De plus, le Riesling montre ici tout autant de classe que le Chardonnay ou autres différents Pinots. Cette diversité au niveau qualitatif élevé fait de la deuxième plus grande région viticole allemande une véritable mine de trouvailles pour toutes sortes de découvertes. De plus, de petites villes pittoresques, une grande diversité culinaire et de bons hôtels font du Palatinat une destination de tourisme viticole idéale.

Vins blancs de Pfalz

In Stock
In Stock
Riesling Weilberg 2015
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Sauvignon blanc Freinsheim 2015
Plus que 5 Bouteilles
Végan

Vins rouges de Pfalz

Vins doux de Pfalz

Le boom qu’a subi la petite ville viticole de Deidesheim est l’exemple de l’essor qualitatif dans le Palatinat. Helmut Kohl préférait venir ici déguster sa panse de porc farcie à la palatine. Toute une série d’hôtels et de restaurants s’y sont ainsi développés. Les meilleurs producteurs locaux proposent en plus aux touristes un programme riche dans cette petite ville. Le Palatinat n’offre peut-être pas de vignobles sur des pentes escarpées à couper le souffle ou des châteaux perchés avec une vue imprenable sur la vallée. Par contre, il offre une véritable culture de plaisir du vin.

Climat modéré, peu de précipitations

Dans le Palatinat, la viticulture profite tout d’abord de ses conditions climatiques privilégiées. Les chaînes de montagnes et les paysages vallonnés des forêts du Palatinat, qui sont en fait le prolongement des Vosges, protègent efficacement les vignobles des masses d’air froid et humide venant de l’ouest. Le Palatinat profite ainsi fièrement de plus de 2'000 heures d’ensoleillement et de moins de 500 millimètres de précipitations par an, ce qui est mieux que partout ailleurs en Allemagne. Avec de plus une température moyenne annuelle est de 11°C, cette région est souvent considérée comme bénéficiant d’un climat méditerranéen modéré. Les types de sols sont diversifiés avec une dominance de sable, d’argile et de lœss, et, en fonction des zones, la marne, le keuper, le granit et le porphyre jouent aussi leur rôle.

Les Rieslings secs sont fantastiques.

Dans le Palatinat, l’éventail des cépages exploités est large avec, entre autres, le Müller-Thurgau, le Portugais bleu et aussi le Dornfelder. Mais c’est le Riesling et les Pinots qui gagnent le plus d’intérêt auprès des amateurs de vins. Dans les meilleures parcelles, le Riesling y produit des vins secs qui, avec leur équilibre parfait entre leur aspect filigrane et leur fruité tout en rondeur, font partie des meilleurs en Allemagne. Par ailleurs, certains Chardonnay et Pinot Noir du Palatinat n’ont rien à envier à leurs homologues issus de Bourgogne.

Région

Rioja
Espagne

Rioja

La Rioja: une légende en mutation

en savoir plus
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: de vin de Porto à vin culte

en savoir plus
Jumilla
Espagne

Jumilla

Jumilla: patrie du Monastrell

en savoir plus