to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Maipo

Maipo Valley: Seat of wine-nobility

Wealthy landowners laid the foundations for today’s Chilean wine wonder. Most of them set up grand estates south of the city in the 19th century, where, along with horse-breeding, wine cultivation has long been carried out. Today, these residences and their legendary vineyards have been enveloped by the city as it expands outward into the countryside. But many of the most prestigious Chilean red wines still originate here. Cabernet Sauvignon, Carménère and Syrah are the area’s leading varieties.

Red wines from Maipo

In Stock
Almaviva
Only 24 Bottles

Almaviva

Rothschild / Concha y Toro, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 155.–
In Stock
Almaviva
Only 11 Bottles

Almaviva

Rothschild / Concha y Toro, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 158.–

Maipo is the northernmost sub-region of the Valle Central, and has a distinctly hot climate. For this reason, particularly concentrated, high-quality assemblages with aging potential have been produced here based on Cabernet Sauvignon for generations. While many Maipo wineries have invested in new vineyards in Chile’s cooler growing areas to produce more elegant wines, Maipo has not lost any of its reputation for magic. On the contrary: the majority of Chilean cult wines (also called icon wines) are still grown here, in the southern outskirts of the metropolis of Santiago. Old stocks of true-rooted (ungrafted) Cabernet vineyards play an important role here.

Terroir for top Cabernets

With its approximately 12,000 hectares of vines, the Maipo Valley is divided into three distinct zones. In Alto Maipo, grapes ripen in the foothills of the Andes at altitudes of up to 800 metrs. The microclimate is shaped by the nearby mountains, especially because of the nightly winds, which provide for cool nights. It is a terroir of very well-structured, elegant Cabernet Sauvignon wines. It is warmer in Central Maipo, where most sites in the valley floor are located. It is here that the classic, concentrated Maipo Cabernet is grown, providing Chile with its image of quality as early as the 80s and 90s. Finally, the Pacific Maipo area, which is small relative to vineyard area, comprises the western part of the valley, where the cool influence of the Pacific is stronger. White varieties such as Chardonnay and Sauvignon play an important secondary role here.

Low precipitation

In general, a Mediterranean climate dominates in the Maipo Valley. Precipitation is low, at only 320 millimetres per year per square metre, such that irrigating the vineyards is often essential. The soils here are distinctively sandy (a perfect defence against phylloxera). More gravel occurs in eastern areas, while the terroir in the west is influenced by a higher proportion of clay.

Subregions

Bierzo
Galicia

Bierzo

Bierzo: to the top with the Mencia variety

Read more
Schaffhausen
Ostschweiz

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: the elegance of the north

Read more
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Maipo

La Maipo Valley: le siège de la noblesse du vin

Le miracle qu’est aujourd’hui le vin chilien n’a été possible que grâce à de riches propriétaires terriens. Dès le 19ème siècle, ils fondèrent de grandes propriétés seigneuriales, au sud de la capitale, où la vigne fut cultivée en parallèle avec l’élevage de chevaux. Depuis, ces résidences et leurs légendaires vignobles ont été par la ville en expansion. Pourtant, c’est ici que naissent encore les vins rouges les plus connus du Chili. Le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Carmenère et la Syrah sont les cépages les plus répandus.

Vins rouges de Maipo

In Stock
Almaviva
Plus que 11 Bouteilles
In Stock
Almaviva
Plus que 24 Bouteilles

La Maipo Valley est la plus septentrionale des sous-régions de la Valle Central et il y règne un climat assez chaud. C’est pourquoi l’on y produit depuis des générations des vins concentrés, de haute qualité et au grand potentiel de garde issus d’assemblages autour du Cabernet Sauvignon. Même si beaucoup de domaines de la Maipo ont, durant les vingt dernières années, investis dans des vignobles situés dans des endroits plus frais afin de produire des vins plus élégants, la région n’a cependant jamais perdu de sa superbe réputation. Au contraire, la majeure partie des vins cultes chiliens (encore appelés icônes du vin) sont toujours produits à la périphérie de l’immense métropole de Santiago. Des vignobles de vieux pieds de Cabernet non greffés en sont pour une grande partie la raison.

Un terroir pour les meilleurs Cabernets

La vallée de Maipo et ses 12'000 hectares de vignes se divise en 3 zones. Dans le Alto Maipo, sur les contreforts des Andes, les vignes mûrissent jusqu’à environ 800 mètres d’altitude. Le microclimat est influencé par la proximité des montagnes surtout du fait de la brise descendant tous les soirs assurant des nuits fraîches. C’est un terroir propice au Cabernet Sauvignon de bonne structure. Dans la Maipo Central, le climat est plus chaud que pour les vignobles situés en majorité en plaine. C’est ici que mûrissent les Cabernets classiques et concentrés de la Maipo qui lui ont valu ses lettres de noblesse depuis les années 80 et 90. Enfin, dans la zone de la Pacific Maipo, l’étendue des vignobles est proportionnellement plus petite que dans les deux autres zones. Il y règne un climat plus froid, dû à l’influence du Pacifique, qui permet aux cépages blancs de Chardonnay et de Sauvignon de jouer un second rôle, mais pas des moindres.

Peu de précipitations

De façon générale, il règne un climat méditerranéen sur la Maipo. Les précipitations sont de 320 millimètres au mètre carré par an en moyenne, ce qui est peu. Cette situation rend indispensable un arrosage des vignes. Les sols sont ici extrêmement sableux (une défense parfaite contre le phylloxéra), avec à l’Est du gravier et à l’Ouest de l’argile.

Sous-régions

Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: un terroir pour la Shiraz et bien d’autres

en savoir plus
Penedès
Catalunya

Penedès

Penedès: de nouvelles idées créent l’essor.

en savoir plus
Zürich
Ostschweiz

Zürich

Zurich: en route pour la gloire

en savoir plus