to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mallorca

Mallorca: new premium wines from old varieties

The party island is showing an entirely different, more delightful side: every year, more premium wines are produced in Mallorca. While international varieties like Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot yield excellent wines in Mallorca’s terroir, top winemakers increasingly use the best native varieties, such as Manto Negro, Callet and Prensal Blanc. The results are independent wines with Mediterranean charm and surprising freshness.

White wines from Mallorca

In Stock
Vin Blanc Son Mayol
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Ribas blanco
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Ribas blanco

VdT, Ribas, 2018, 750 ml
In Stock

Coa Negra Blanc

Vi de la Terra Mallorca, Son Palou, 2018, 750 ml
In Stock

Coa Negra Blanc

Vi de la Terra Mallorca, Son Palou, 2017, 750 ml

Rosé wines from Mallorca

Red wines from Mallorca

In Stock
Premier Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Ribas de Cabrera
Only 3 Bottles
Certified integrated production

Ribas de Cabrera

VdT, Ribas, 2016, 750 ml
In Stock
Ribas Negre
Certified integrated production

Ribas Negre

VdT, Ribas, 2017, 750 ml
Out Of Stock
Sió
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Mallorca’s vintners have elevated their wines to a new level in recent years, making the island one of the leading viticultural regions in Spain. It is interesting that a significant number of the premium Mallorcan wines are assemblages.

The Carthaginians and Romans established viticulture in Mallorca, but it was only after the Christians recaptured the island from the Moors in 1231 that wine culture could really flourish. When phylloxera raged on the mainland in the late 19th century, there were around 30,000 hectares of vines in Mallorca. However, Mallorcan vineyards eventually succumbed to phylloxera. The 1990s saw the beginning of the quality development that continues today. Currently, around 2,500 hectares on the island are planted with vines. There are two superior indications of origin – Vinos de la Tierra de Tramuntana-Costa Nord Serra and Vinos de la Tierra Illes Balears – which give winemakers great freedom in formulating varieties. There are also two more narrowly controlled DOs.

Calcareous soils

The Binissalem DO is located in the western interior of the island, where the vineyards are protected from chilly northern winds by two mountain ranges. In the brown limestone soils, the long-established Manto Negro variety yields velvety wines with alluring ripe fruit and spice, while the autochthonous Callet variety, along with international varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah, supply the necessary structure and freshness.

In the second DO area, Plà i Llevant, in the eastern part of the island, vines grow in calcareous, reddish clay soils with high iron oxide content. In addition to the native Callet variety, international varieties like Cabernet

Long-established varieties on the way up

The trend is clearly moving towards native varieties. Besides Manto Negro and Callet, near-forgotten red varieties like Gorgollassa and Fogoneu are once again playing a role. White cuvées from varieties like Prensal Blanc, Macabeo, Parallada and Giró are fresh and multi-facetted.

A pronounced, yet not too hot Mediterranean climate prevails in Mallorca, with an annual mean temperature of 16 degrees. Annual precipitation, averaging at 500 millimeters per square metre, is sufficient.

Regions

Campbeltown
Scotland

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: Salzige Eleganz

Read more
Armagnac
France

Armagnac

Armagnac: high-percentage, high-standing, authentic

Read more
Castilla y León
Spain

Castilla y León

Castile and León: Increasing diversity

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mallorca

Majorque: de nouveaux excellents crus à partir d’anciennes variétés

L’île, connue pour ses fêtes endiablées, montre aujourd’hui toujours plus, son côté plus calme et agréable, en produisant chaque année, des vins de meilleure qualité. A Majorque, des cépages internationaux comme le Chardonnay, le Cabernet Sauvignon ou le Merlot produisent d’excellents vins sur de très bons terroirs. Cependant, les vignerons locaux se tournent de plus en plus vers des variétés locales anciennes comme le Manto Negro, le Callet ou le Prensal Blanc. En résultent des vins au charme individuel et méditerranéen d’une fraîcheur surprenante.

Vins blancs de Mallorca

In Stock
In Stock
Coa Negra Blanc
Plus que 18 Bouteilles
In Stock
Ribas blanco
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Ribas blanco
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Vins rosés de Mallorca

In Stock
Ribas rosado
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Mallorca

In Stock
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
subscription

Les vignerons de Majorque ont élevés leurs vins à un niveau tel, que l'île est l'une des principales régions viticoles espagnoles. Il est intéressant de noter que la majorité des vins de Majorque sont des assemblages.

Ce sont les Carthaginois et les Romains, qui commencèrent la viticulture sur Majorque. Mais ce n’est qu’en 1231, lors de la reconquête de l’île, alors maure, par les chrétiens, qu’elle put se développer. A la fin du 19ème siècle, alors que le phylloxéra décimait déjà les vignes sur le continent, Majorque en comptait près de 30'000 hectares, finalement aussi détruits par le fléau. A partir des années 1990, un effort qualitatif a été entreprit, constant jusqu’à maintenant. À l'heure actuelle, les vignes représentent environ 2'500 hectares réparties sur deux appellations: vinos-de-la-tierra-serra-de-tramuntana-costa-nord et vinos-de-la-tierra- illes-balears, qui donnent aux viticulteurs une grande liberté dans la composition de leurs assemblages, ainsi que deux D.O. étroitement liées.

Des sols calcaires

L’appellation D.O. Binissalem est située dans le centre-ouest de l'île, où les vignobles sont protégés des vents froids du nord par deux chaînes montagneuses. Dans les sols calcaires bruns, le Manto Negro, variété ancienne, produit des vins soyeux et envoûtants aux parfums de fruits mûrs et d’épices, tandis que le Callet, aussi un autochtone, ainsi que des cépages internationaux comme le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Merlot ou la Syrah, procurent la structure et la fraîcheur requises.

Dans la seconde D.O., Pla i Llevant, sur la partie orientale de l'île, les pieds s’enracinent dans des sols calcaires d'argile rougeâtre avec une forte teneur en oxyde de fer. En plus du Callet local, des variétés internationales telles que le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Merlot, la Syrah ou le Chardonnay jouent ici également un rôle important.

Les cépages anciens ont le vent en poupe.

La tendance se tourne cependant clairement vers les cépages locaux. En plus des Manto Negro et Callet, des variétés rouges, presque oubliées, telles que Gorgollassa et Fogoneu tirent leur épingle du jeu. Prensal Blanc, Macabeo, Parellada ou Giró vinifiés en blanc se montrent étonnants de fraîcheur et de complexité.

À Majorque règne un climat distinctement méditerranéen, sans être trop chaud, avec une température annuelle moyenne de 16 degrés. Les précipitations annuelles sont adéquates avec une moyenne de 500 millimètres au mètre carré.

Régions

Bordeaux
France

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: beaucoup de prestige, grande qualité

en savoir plus
Steiermark
Autriche

Steiermark

La Styrie: une source blanche et fraîche

en savoir plus
Lombardia
Italie

Lombardia

Lombardie: grande variété de qualité croissante

en savoir plus