to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling meets Burgundy

Palatine winemakers manage the feat of vinifying top-tier crus from both white and red varieties. In addition, Riesling presents the same class here as Chardonnay and other Burgundy varieties. This versatility at high quality levels makes Germany’s second-largest wine region a trove of discoveries of all kinds. Tranquil winegrowing towns with a diverse range of culinary offerings and hotels make the Palatinate region a perfect wine travel destination.

White wines from Pfalz

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Jesuitengarten G.C. Riesling 2010
In Stock
Parker 94-96 Points
Deidesheimer Kalkofen GC Riesling 2019
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 94-96 Points
Deidesheimer Kalkofen GC Riesling 2019

Red wines from Pfalz

In Stock
Roter Satz 2014
Only 13 Bottles
Vegan

Roter Satz 2014

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das kleine Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2018

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml

Sweet wines from Pfalz

In Stock

The boom the winegrowing town of Deidesheim has experienced is representative of the general upswing in quality in the Palatinate region. Here, where Helmut Kohl once enjoyed his Saumagen, a multitude of new hotels and restaurants have cropped up in recent years. The top wineries in town offer visitors a comprehensive programme. While the Palatinate cannot impress with steep slopes or spectacular forts and castles perched over the valley, a high-quality, holistic wine culture can be found here.

Mild climate, low precipitation

Viticulture in the Palatinate benefits primarily from its preferential climate conditions. The hill and mountain chains of the Palatinate Forest, which are essentially a continuation of the Vosges, provide effective protection from the cold, wet air masses from the west. Thus the winegrowing areas of the Palatinate record an impressive 2,000 hours of sunshine per year. Rainfall of 500 millimetres per year per square metre is lower than almost anywhere else in Germany. The average yearly temperature is 11 degrees Celsius. For this reason, the climate in the Palatinate is often described as moderate Mediterranean. Soil conditions are varied: in general, sand, loam and loess predominate, but marl, Keuper, granite and porphyry also play a role depending on the zone.

Dry Rieslings are best

The assortment of varieties is great: Müller-Thurgau, Portugieser and especially Dornfelder play important roles in the Palatinate. But for wine enthusiasts, Riesling and Burgundy varieties are the most interesting. In the prime locations of the Palatinate, Riesling yields dry growths which – with their perfect balance of delicateness and lush fruit body – are among the best in Germany. And the best Chardonnay and Pinot Noir selections from the Palatinate can take on premium wines from Burgundy.

Region

Veneto
Italy

Veneto

Veneto: land of the Amarone and Prosecco

Read more
Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling trifft Burgund

Die Pfälzer Winzer schaffen das Kunststück, sowohl aus weissen, als auch aus roten Sorten absolute Topcrus zu keltern. Zudem zeigt hier der Riesling genau so seine Klasse wie der Chardonnay und andere Burgundersorten. Diese Vielseitigkeit auf hohem Qualiätsniveau macht das zweitgrösste Weinbaugebiet Deutschlands zu einer Fundgrube für Entdeckungen aller Art. Zudem: Beschauliche Winzerstädtchen, ein vielseitiges kulinarisches Angebot und gute Hotels machen die Pfalz zum perfekten Weinreiseland.

Weissweine aus Pfalz

In Stock
Parker 90 Punkte
Jesuitengarten G.C. Riesling 2010
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 94-96 Punkte
Deidesheimer Kalkofen GC Riesling 2019
In Stock

Rotweine aus Pfalz

In Stock
Roter Satz 2014
Nur noch 7 Flaschen
Vegan

Roter Satz 2014

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das kleine Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Das Kreuz 2018

QbA Pfalz, Rings, 750 ml

Süssweine aus Pfalz

In Stock

Der Boom, den das Winzerstädtchen Deidesheim erlebt hat, steht stellvertretend für den allgemeinen qualitativen Aufschwung in der Pfalz. Hier, wo Helmut Kohl vorzugsweise seinen Pfälzer Saumagen genoss, sind in den letzten Jahren eine ganze Reihe neuer Hotels und Restaurants entstanden. Dazu bieten die Top-Weingüter im Städtchen den Besuchern ein reichhaltiges Programm. Zwar kann die Pfalz kaum mit schwindelerregenden Steillagen aufwarten und auch nicht mit spektakulär über dem Tal thronenden Burgen und Schlössern, dafür wird hier eine hochstehende wie auch ganzheitliche Weingenuss-Kultur geboten.

Mildes Klima, wenig Regen

Der Weinbau in der Pfalz profitiert in erster Linie von seinen bevorzugten klimatischen Bedingungen. Die Gebirgs- und Hügelzüge des Pfälzerwaldes, bei dem es sich im Prinzip um die Fortsetzung der Vogesen handelt, schützen die Weinberge äusserst wirksam vor nasskalten Luftmassen aus dem Westen. So verzeichnen die Weinbaugebiete der Pfalz stolze 2000 Sonnenstunden pro Jahr und die Niederschlagsmenge von 500 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter ist so gering wie kaum anderswo in Deutschland. Die durchschnittliche Jahrestemperatur liegt bei 11 Grad Celsius. Darum wird das Klima in der Pfalz häufig als moderat mediterran beschrieben. Die Bodenverhältnisse sind vielseitig, grundsätzlich dominieren Sand, Lehm und Löss, doch je nach Zone spielen auch Mergel, Keuper, Granit und Porphyr eine Rolle.

Trockene Rieslinge sind top

Der Sortenspiegel ist gross, auch Müller-Thurgau, Portugieser und vor allem Dornfelder spielen in der Pfalz eine wichtige Rolle, für Weinliebhaber stehen aber vor allem der Riesling und die Burgundersorten im Zentrum des Interesses. In den Toplagen der Pfalz bringt der Riesling trockene Gewächse hervor, die mit ihrer perfekten Balance zwischen Filigranität und schmelziger Fruchtfülle, zu den besten in Deutschland gehören. Und die besten Chardonnay- und Pinot Noir-Selektionen aus der Pfalz können es heute durchaus mit Spitzenweinen aus dem Burgund aufnehmen.

Region

Italien

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Weiterlesen
Ostschweiz
Schweiz

Ostschweiz

Ostschweiz: Ein spannendes Puzzle

Weiterlesen
Neuenburg
Schweiz

Neuenburg

Neuenburg: Das Burgund der Schweiz

Weiterlesen