to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

The Rhône’s source is in Valais, and it flows into the Mediterranean 800 kilometres to the south. In the last 200 kilometres of its course, it is lined with vines which yield a range of red crus that are among the most prestigious wines in the world – for example, on the spectacular cliffs of the Hermitage Mountains, or in the gravelly terraces of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The river valley, however, is also a rich source of characterful white wines and affordable, high-quality, everyday red wines.

White wines from Rhône

In Stock
In Stock
Château Rayas blanc
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Châteauneuf-du-Pape Clos des Papes blanc

Rosé wines from Rhône

In Stock

Séguret rosé

AC, Domaine de Cabasse, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 16.30

Red wines from Rhône

In Stock
In Stock

Gigondas Jucunditas

AC Domaine de Cabasse, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 28.50
In Stock

Caprice

VdP, Pères de l'Eglise, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 18.70
In Stock

Sweet wines from Rhône

In Stock

On its way south, the Rhône flows through shifting vegetation. Pines and oaks line the river initially, later replaced by olive trees and fields of lavender. With the warming climate, the character of the wines also changes. In the north, the wine region starts off with a bang: the Côte Rôtie, where well-structured Syrahs rich in tannins grow in slate soils. Although the adjoining wine region of Condrieu nearly disappeared from the scene after the war, the aromatic Viognier wines from here are experiencing a renaissance today. The cultivation areas of Saint-Joseph and Crozes-Hermitage, also located in the north guarantee well-structured Syrah wines of moderate fullness and cool style. In addition, the richest, most impressive and storable Syrah crus in the world originate in the legendary vineyards of Hermitage, comprising just 136 hectares.

From the Alps to the sea

The Rhône valley can be divided into two sections in terms of climate and soil. North of Valence, a temperate continental climate prevails, with soils high in slate and granite. Syrah presents all of its class here, while white specialties result from Viognier, Marsanne and Roussanne. South of Montélimar, the Mediterranean climate takes the reins. Vines are rooted here in limestone soils with a varying overlay of gravel, sand or clay. Here, the significance of Syrah slowly diminishes, and varieties such as Grenache and Mourvèdre play an increasingly important role. The range of white varieties also increases. The top wines from the area’s prestigious appellations, such as Gigondas and Châteauneuf-du-Pape, are usually meticulously structured assemblages, while varietal Grenache Crus form the exception.

Cradle of French viticulture

The Rhône valley is considered the oldest winegrowing area in France. The Phocian tribe that migrated from the Middle East are thought to have planted the first vines as early as 2400 BCE. Later, the Romans further developed viticulture. Thus, wine was already cultivated in Hermitage and in the Côte Rôtie in the 4th century BCE. In the 12th century, the Knights Templar began planting vines in Châteauneuf-du-Pape; later, when the Papal residence moved to Avignon, viticulture here experienced its first heyday. Today, the Rhône valley produces both prestigious top crus as well as high-quality everyday wines, primarily under the designations of Côtes du Rhône and Côtes du Rhône-Villages.

Regions

Murcia
Spain

Murcia

Murcia: Home to the Monastrell variety

Read more
Languedoc-Roussillon
France

Languedoc-Roussillon

Languedoc and Roussillon: the wine-giant of the south

Read more
Aconcagua
Chile

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: an alpine, Bordeaux feeling

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rhône

Rhône: puissance au nord, charme au sud

Le Rhône prend sa source dans le Valais et se jette 800 kilomètres plus loin, dans la Méditerranée. Sur les derniers 200 kilomètres de son parcours, ses rives sont parsemées de vignes produisant quantité de crus rouges prestigieux de renommée internationale, comme par exemple, dans les spectaculaires pentes escarpées de l’Hermitage ou sur les terrasses graveleuses de Châteauneuf-du-Pape. La vallée du Rhône est également une source inépuisable de vins blancs de caractère et de vins rouges de bonne qualité.

Vins blancs de Rhône

In Stock
Château Rayas blanc
Plus que 1 Bouteille
In Stock
Parker 88 Points
Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
Plus que 19 Bouteilles

Vins rosés de Rhône

In Stock

Vins rouges de Rhône

In Stock
In Stock
Château Rayas
Plus que 4 Bouteilles
In Stock
Château Rayas
Plus que 1 Bouteille

Vins doux de Rhône

In Stock
Muscat de Beaumes de Venise
Plus que 1 Bouteille
In Stock
In Stock

Le long de son parcours vers le sud, le Rhône traverse une végétation changeante. D’abords bordé de pins et de chênes, le fleuve s’enfonce ensuite dans les oliviers et les champs de lavande. Le climat devenant plus chaud, les vins changent également de caractère. La région viticole débute tout de suite au nord avec un grand coup de timbale, à savoir la Côte-Rôtie, où sur des sols de schistes la Syrah produit des vins tanniques et bien structurés. Juste à côté, le Condrieu,  qui a bien failli être rayé de la carte après la guerre, vit aujourd’hui une renaissance avec ses Viogniers aromatiques. Toujours dans la partie septentrionale de la vallée, Saint-Joseph et Crozes-Hermitage sont les garants de vins de Syrah bien structurés, de corpulence moyenne et de style frais alors que dans l’Hermitage voisin légendaire, un vignoble de seulement 136 hectares, sont produit les crus de Syrah les plus riches, les plus impressionnants et au plus grand potentiel de garde au monde.

Des Alpes à la mer

La vallée du Rhône se divise en deux, en raison des différences climatiques et de la nature des sols. Au nord de Valence, règnent climat continental, sols schisteux et granitiques. La Syrah montre ici sa grande classe, et les spécialités en blanc sont issues de Viognier, de Marsanne et de Roussanne. Au sud de Montélimar, le climat méditerranéen prend le relais. Les racines s’enfoncent ici dans des sols calcaires aux surfaces variant entre cailloux, sable et argile. L’importance de la Syrah est moindre ici et laisse place au Grenache ou au Mourvèdre. La variété de cépages utilisée pour les blancs augmente ici aussi. Les meilleurs vins d’appellations prestigieuses comme gigondas ou châteauneuf-du-pape sont en général des assemblages minutieusement conçus, avec l’exception des crus de grenache pur.

Berceau de la viticulture française

La vallée du Rhône est l’une des régions viticoles les plus anciennes de France. Les Phocidiens, immigrés d’Asie mineure, y auraient planté des vignes dès 2 400 av. J.C. Plus tard, les Romains ont continué d’y développer la viticulture. Ainsi, l’on exploitait la vigne en hermitage et côte-rôtie déjà au 4ème siècle av. J.C. Au 12ème siècle, les templiers commencèrent la plantation de vignobles sur Châteauneuf-du-Pape, et lorsque plus tard les papes investirent Avignon, la région connut un épanouissement. De nos jours, la vallée du Rhône produit à la fois des grands crus et des vins de tous les jours de bonne qualité, surtout sous les appellations côtes-du-rhône et côtes-du-rhône villages.

Régions

Pfalz
Allemagne

Pfalz

Le Palatinat: là où le Riesling rencontre la Bourgogne.

en savoir plus
Niederösterreich
Autriche

Niederösterreich

Basse Autriche: des crus proches et lointains du Danube

en savoir plus
Alto Adige
Italie

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: des vins des Alpes au charme méridional

en savoir plus