to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

The Rhône’s source is in Valais, and it flows into the Mediterranean 800 kilometres to the south. In the last 200 kilometres of its course, it is lined with vines which yield a range of red crus that are among the most prestigious wines in the world – for example, on the spectacular cliffs of the Hermitage Mountains, or in the gravelly terraces of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The river valley, however, is also a rich source of characterful white wines and affordable, high-quality, everyday red wines.

White wines from Rhône

In Stock
Parker 88 Points
Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
Only 16 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Hermitage blanc
Only 4 Bottles

Hermitage blanc

AC, Jean-Louis Chave, 1996, 750 ml
CHF 185.–

Rosé wines from Rhône

In Stock

Séguret rosé

AC, Domaine de Cabasse, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 16.–
In Stock

Séguret rosé

AC, Domaine de Cabasse, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 16.30

Red wines from Rhône

In Stock
In Stock

Caprice

VdP, Pères de l'Eglise, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 18.70
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Only 8 Bottles
In Stock
Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Only 11 Bottles

Sweet wines from Rhône

In Stock
In Stock

On its way south, the Rhône flows through shifting vegetation. Pines and oaks line the river initially, later replaced by olive trees and fields of lavender. With the warming climate, the character of the wines also changes. In the north, the wine region starts off with a bang: the Côte Rôtie, where well-structured Syrahs rich in tannins grow in slate soils. Although the adjoining wine region of Condrieu nearly disappeared from the scene after the war, the aromatic Viognier wines from here are experiencing a renaissance today. The cultivation areas of Saint-Joseph and Crozes-Hermitage, also located in the north guarantee well-structured Syrah wines of moderate fullness and cool style. In addition, the richest, most impressive and storable Syrah crus in the world originate in the legendary vineyards of Hermitage, comprising just 136 hectares.

From the Alps to the sea

The Rhône valley can be divided into two sections in terms of climate and soil. North of Valence, a temperate continental climate prevails, with soils high in slate and granite. Syrah presents all of its class here, while white specialties result from Viognier, Marsanne and Roussanne. South of Montélimar, the Mediterranean climate takes the reins. Vines are rooted here in limestone soils with a varying overlay of gravel, sand or clay. Here, the significance of Syrah slowly diminishes, and varieties such as Grenache and Mourvèdre play an increasingly important role. The range of white varieties also increases. The top wines from the area’s prestigious appellations, such as Gigondas and Châteauneuf-du-Pape, are usually meticulously structured assemblages, while varietal Grenache Crus form the exception.

Cradle of French viticulture

The Rhône valley is considered the oldest winegrowing area in France. The Phocian tribe that migrated from the Middle East are thought to have planted the first vines as early as 2400 BCE. Later, the Romans further developed viticulture. Thus, wine was already cultivated in Hermitage and in the Côte Rôtie in the 4th century BCE. In the 12th century, the Knights Templar began planting vines in Châteauneuf-du-Pape; later, when the Papal residence moved to Avignon, viticulture here experienced its first heyday. Today, the Rhône valley produces both prestigious top crus as well as high-quality everyday wines, primarily under the designations of Côtes du Rhône and Côtes du Rhône-Villages.

Regions

Murcia
Spain

Murcia

Murcia: Home to the Monastrell variety

Read more
Jumilla
Spain

Jumilla

Jumilla: The home of Monastrell

Read more
Hawkes Bay
New Zealand

Hawkes Bay

Hawke’s Bay is located in the east of New Zealand’s North Island and is the country’s oldest and second-largest wine-growing region (approx. 4640 hectares), dating back to 1851. Hawke’s Bay is New Zealand’s largest wine-growing region for high-quality red wines, accounting for over 80 percent of its total production of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah. Chardonnay and the two varieties Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot make up around 50 percent of total production at Hawke’s Bay. White and red wines are produced in approximately equal amounts. The region produces a total of 10 percent of all New Zealand wines.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rhône

Rhône: Nördliche Kraft, südlicher Charme

Die Rhône entspringt im Wallis und mündet 800 Kilometer südlich ins Mittelmeer. Auf den letzten 200 Kilometer ihre Weges wird sie von Reben gesäumt, die beispielsweise in den spektakulären Steilhängen des Hermitage-Berges oder auf den Kiesterrassen von Châteauneuf-du-Pape eine Reihe von roten Crus hervorbringt, die zu den prestigeträchtigsten weltweit gehören. Aber auch in Bezug auf charaktervolle Weissweine und preisgünstige rote Alltagsweine von guter Qualität, ist das Flusstal eine ergiebige Quelle.

Weissweine aus Rhône

In Stock
Château Rayas blanc
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock
Parker 88 Punkte
Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
Nur noch 18 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock

Roséweine aus Rhône

In Stock

Séguret rosé

AC, Domaine de Cabasse, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 16.–

Rotweine aus Rhône

In Stock
In Stock

Caprice

VdP, Pères de l'Eglise, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 18.70
In Stock
Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
In Stock
Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Nur noch 17 Flaschen

Süssweine aus Rhône

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Auf seinem Weg in den Süden durchfliesst die Rhône eine wechselnde Vegetation. Säumen anfangs Kiefern und Eichen den Fluss, so sind es später Olivenbäume und Lavendelfelder. Mit dem wärmer werdenden Klima ändert sich auch der Charakter der Weine. Schon im Norden beginnt das Weingebiet mit einem Paukenschlag, nämlich der Côte Rôtie, wo auf schieferhaltigen Böden tanninreiche und gut strukturierte Syrahs reifen. Das daran anschliessende Weinbaugebiet Condrieu wäre nach dem Krieg beinahe von der Bildfläche verschwunden, heute erleben die aromatischen Viognier-Weine von hier eine Renaissance. Die ebenfalls noch im nördlichen Teil gelegenen Anbaugebiete Saint-Joseph und Crozes-Hermitage sind Garanten für gut strukturierte Syrah-Weine von mittlerer Fülle und kühler Stilistik, während in den legendären, nur gerade 136 Hektar umfassenden Rebbergen von Hermitage die mithin reichhaltigsten, eindrücklichsten und lagerfähigsten Syrah-Crus weltweit reifen.

Von den Alpen zum Meer

Das Rhônetal lässt sich in Bezug auf Klima und Böden in zwei Abschnitte unterteilen. Nördlich von Valence herrscht ein gemässigt kontinentales Klima, die Böden sind sehr schiefer- und granithaltig. Hier zeigt der Syrah seine ganze Klasse, weisse Spezialitäten entstehen aus Viognier, Marsanne und Roussanne. Südlich von Montélimar übernimmt das mediterrane Klima das Zepter. Die Reben wurzeln hier in Kalksteinböden mit einer wechselnden Auflage aus Kies, Sand oder Ton. Hier nimmt die Bedeutung des Syrahs langsam ab, und Sorten wie Grenache oder Mourvèdre spielen eine zunehmend wichtigere Rolle. Auch bei den Weissweinen nimmt die Sortenvielfalt zu. Die Topweine aus den prestigeträchtigen Appellationen in diesem Bereich wie Gigondas oder Châteauneuf-du-Pape sind in der Regel minuziös konzipierte Assemblagen, Ausnahme wie die reinsortigen Grenache-Crus bilden die Ausnahme.

Wiege des französischen Weinbaus

Das Rhônetal gilt als eine der ältesten Weinbaugebiete in Frankreich. Der Stamm der Phoker, der aus Vorderasien einwanderte, sollen schon 2400 vor Christus erste Reben angepflanzt haben. Später haben die Römer den Weinbau weiter entwickelt. So wurde in Hermitage und der Côte Rôtie schon im 4.Jahrhundert vor Christus Wein angebaut. Im 12. Jahrhundert begannen Tempelritter mit dem Anpflanzen von Reben in Châteauneuf-du-Pape, als später die Päpste in Avignon residierte, erlebte der Weinbau hier eine erste Blütezeit. Heute bringt das Rhônetal sowohl prestigeträchtige Topcrus hervor, aber auch qualitativ hochstehende Alltagsweine, vor allem unter der Bezeichnung Côtes du Rhône und Côtes du Rhône-Villages.

Regionen

Victoria
Australien

Victoria

Victoria: Verblüffende Vielfalt

Weiterlesen
Rioja
Spanien

Rioja

Rioja: Eine Legende im Umbruch

Weiterlesen
Lazio
Italien

Lazio

Lazio: Die weissen Crus von Rom

Weiterlesen