to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rueda

Rueda: Everybody’s Darling

The crisp, fruity white wines from Rueda have become an export hit, and there is no end to this success story in sight. These primarily fruity white wines, matured in stainless steel tanks, come on the market just five months after harvest. The Rueda boom is based almost entirely on Verdejo, a variety long-established here. But the Sauvignon Blanc wines impress as well, with aromas typical of the variety and crisp freshness intrinsic to all Rueda wines.

White wines from Rueda

In Stock
Verdejo Quivira
Vegan

Verdejo Quivira

DO Rueda, Altaencina Global, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 14.50

Perhaps it was actually a lucky accident that helped Rueda on its track to success. The owners of Rioja bodega Marqués de Riscal were travelling in Spain in the 1970s with the legendary Bordeaux oenologist Émile Peynaud, when they made a stop in Rueda. Peynaud quickly recognised that the white Verdejo variety planted here demonstrated an interesting potential for quality. At the time, almost exclusively oxidative wines in the style of sherry were produced from the variety. Using a temperature-controlled, rather cold fermentation, Marqués de Riscal’s team successfully created a very fresh, almost crisp wine type, which was very well-received by consumers. Since then, the region has experienced an as-yet unabated upturn. In 2010, vineyards here totaled around 7,000 hectares; today, there are already 13,000 hectares.

Wine diversity increases

Around 85 percent of the wines are fresh and fruity, uncomplicated, and vinified in steel tanks. A typical Rueda presents aromas of apples, mint, citrus and a hint of fennel. Now, however, more full-bodied wines are also trending. These are carefully aged on the fine lees in wood. This type of wine can continue developing in the bottle for years. In recent years some interesting sparkling wines and sweet wines have emerged. And even the original oxidative style has experienced a renaissance under the name “Dorado”.

Nighttime harvest

The vineyards are located in the provinces of Valladolid, Segovia and Ávila, stretching north to the Duero River. The vines here are rooted mainly in gravel debris with little organic matter, on a foundation of clay and sand. The climate is continentally influenced, with cold winters and short, very hot summers. The vineyards are between 600 and 800 metres above sea level. In order to bring the grapes into the cellar when they are fresh and cool, the grape harvest in many farms is carried out during the night with mechanical harvesters. Especially in the area around Segovia, there are also very old stocks of bush vines that are handled entirely manually.

Subregions

Mâconnais
Bourgogne

Mâconnais

Mâconnais: Chardonnay country

Read more
Listrac
Bordeaux

Listrac

Listrac-Médoc: special climate, special soils

Read more
Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: a hint of Burgundy

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Rueda

Rueda: chéris de tous

Les vins blancs frais et fruités de Rueda sont devenus un véritable succès à l’international ; succès, d’ailleurs, qui semble ne jamais prendre fin. Cinq mois seulement après les vendanges, arrivent sur le marché, des vins vinifiés en cuve inox à l’aromatique de fruits primaires. Le boom de Rueda est presque entièrement basé sur le Verdejo, mais les vins issus de Sauvignon Blanc sont tout aussi séduisants grâce à l’aromatique typique de ce cépage et à leur fraîcheur croquante, communes à tous les vins de cette région.

Vins blancs de Rueda

In Stock
Verdejo Quivira
Végan

C’est en fait peut-être une heureuse coïncidence qui a permis à la Rueda de s’engager sur la voie du succès. Au début des années 1970, les propriétaires de la bodega Marqués de Riscal en Rioja, et le légendaire œnologue bordelais Émile Peynaud, étaient en voyage en Espagne ensemble, et firent une halte dans la Rueda. Peynaud aurait rapidement reconnu que le cépage blanc de Verdejo planté ici possède un potentiel qualitatif intéressant. A cette époque, le cépage était presque exclusivement utilisé à la production de vins oxydatifs dans le style des sherrys. Grâce à un processus de fermentation à température contrôlée, plutôt froid, l’équipe de Marqués de Riscal réussit à produire un type de vin très frais et croquant, très bien accueilli par les consommateurs. Depuis, la région connait un essor ininterrompu jusqu’à maintenant. En 2010 seulement, la surface viticole était encore d'environ 7'000 hectares au total. Elle dépasse aujourd’hui les 13'000 hectares.

La diversité des vins s’accroît.

Environ 85% des vins sont des vins frais, fruités et simples, vinifiés en cuve inox. Un rueda typique présente des arômes de pommes, de menthe, d’agrumes et un soupçon de fenouil. Mais il y a aussi une tendance vers des vins plus substantiels, qui sont soigneusement élevés en bois sur les lies. C’est précisément ce type de vin qui peut continuer à se développer en bouteille pendant quelques années. Au cours des dernières années sont apparus aussi d’intéressants vins mousseux et des vins doux, et même le vin original oxydatif de la région, connait un nouvel essor, sous le nom de «dorado».

Des vendanges de nuit

Les vignobles sont situés dans les provinces de Valladolid, Ségovie et Ávila et s’étendent au nord jusqu’au Duero. Les vignes y s’enracinent principalement dans du gravier, avec peu de matière organique, sur un socle d'argile et de sable. Le climat est continental avec des hivers froids et des étés courts, mais très chauds. Les vignobles sont situés entre 600 et 800 mètres d’altitude. Afin que les baies parviennent fraîches et froides dans les chais, beaucoup de domaines pratiquent des vendanges à la machine pendant la nuit. Il existe encore quelques très vieilles vignes en arbustes, particulièrement à proximité de Ségovie, celles-ci étant exclusivement travaillées à la main.

Sous-régions

St-Estèphe
Bordeaux

St-Estèphe

Saint-Estèphe: un classique puissant et juteux

en savoir plus
Chablis
Bourgogne

Chablis

Chablis: la finesse pure du Chardonnay

en savoir plus
Côte Chalonnaise
Bourgogne

Côte Chalonnaise

Côte Chalonnaise: des crus de caractère francs

en savoir plus