to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Zürich

Zurich: On the way to the top

With a cultivated area of 620 hectares, Zurich is the largest wine-producing canton in German-speaking Switzerland. The potential is great at prime locations on Lake Zurich and in the various river valleys. It is no surprise that a steadily increasing number of top wines are vinified here. The major variety is Pinot Noir. But white varieties also exceed exquisitely, such as Müller-Thurgau and the long-established Räuschling, as well as international varieties like Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc. The wine-producing canton of Zurich is currently experiencing the most sustained upswing in quality in its history.

White wines from Zürich

In Stock
Chardonnay
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Chardonnay

AOC Uetikon, Weingut Erich Meier, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Chardonnay*
Only 22 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Chardonnay*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Müller-Thurgau*
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Müller-Thurgau*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 19.–
In Stock
Pinot Gris
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Pinot Gris

AOC Uetikon, Weingut Erich Meier, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 28.–

Red wines from Zürich

In Stock
Pinot Noir Barrique
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Pinot Noir Classic
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Pinot Noir Kirche
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Plural*
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Plural*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 34.–

Climate change has undoubtedly helped Zurich winemakers in their quality efforts, especially with the leading red variety, Pinot Noir. Thirty years ago, it was too cold seven out of ten years to produce top wines. Today, seven in ten years see perfect conditions, and in the remaining three years, it tends to be too hot. Thus the rustic, light Clevner – once the embodiment of Pinots from Zurich – has already become a near-rarity, while fully-structured Blauburgunders, aged in large or small oak barrels, have become the norm.

Impressive steep slopes

Today, the vineyards of the canton of Zurich are widely scattered throughout the canton. Quality crus are even produced in the district of the city of Zurich (in Sonnenberg, Bürgli and Höngg locations) and Winterthur (in Goldberg). Zurich has a large number of sometimes very steep prime locations, which may be described – in the fullest sense of the word – as grand cru: among others, these include Sternenhalde and Lattenberg in Stäfa; Chorb in Rheinau, Schiterberg in Andelfingen and Stadtberg in Eglisau.

Deep soils dominate

Viticulture is carried out in Zurich on primarily deep, weathered moraine soils that are moderately calcareous. In the upper stretches of the slopes, Nagelfluh (conglomerate) belts and sandstone can be found; in the lowlands, on the other hand, there is mostly loam or gravel. The vineyards lie between 400 and 600 metres above sea level. Precipitation is usually slightly higher than 1,000 millimetres per year per square metre.

Benedictine monks as pioneers

On the monastery island of Rheinau, Benedictine grew wine as early as the 9th century. Around 1880, more than 5,500 hectares were planted with vines in Zurich, but phylloxera spelled an abrupt end to this boom. Today, Zurich viticulture is experiencing a small renaissance. Even the long-established Räuschling, once notorious for its horrendous acid, has developed into a finely fruity, balanced planting. Along with Pinot Noir and Müller-Thurgau, first-class specialties today succeed from varieties such as Viognier, Scheurebe, Riesling, Gamay and even Malbec. Fungus-resistant varieties are also yielding more and better results than ever.

Subregions

Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanish temperament in a glass

Read more
Coteaux du Libron
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Zürich

Zurich: en route pour la gloire

Avec 620 hectares de vignes, Zurich est le canton viticole le plus imposant de Suisse alémanique et le potentiel des terroirs exceptionnels, près du lac de Zurich et dans les vallées de ses affluents, est énorme. C’est donc sans surprise que de plus en plus de très bons vins soient vinifiés ici. Le cépage fétiche est le Pinot Noir, mais des cépages blancs comme le Riesling-Sylvaner ou le Räuschling autochtone, ainsi que des cépages internationaux comme le Chardonnay et le Sauvignon Blanc, se plaisent ici aussi beaucoup. Enfin, le canton viticole de Zurich est actuellement en train de vivre l’essor qualitatif le plus durable de son histoire!

Vins blancs de Zürich

In Stock
Chardonnay
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Chardonnay*
Plus que 19 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Müller-Thurgau*
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Pinot Gris
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Zürich

In Stock
Pinot Noir Barrique
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Pinot Noir Classic
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Pinot Noir Kirche
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Plural*
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Il ne fait aucun doute que le réchauffement climatique a aidé les vignerons dans leurs efforts qualitatifs, surtout pour le Pinot Noir, le cépage dominant. Il y a encore trente ans, sept années sur dix étaient trop froides pour pouvoir produire d’excellents vins. A l’inverse, de nos jours, sept années sur dix, les conditions sont idéales, et les trois autres années sont plutôt trop chaudes. Ainsi, le Clevner rustique et léger, autrefois l’incarnation du Pinots zurichois, est presque devenu une rareté, tant les vins modernes, élevés en foudre ou en barriques, montrant une belle structure, sont maintenant la norme.

Des coteaux pentus impressionnants

Les vignobles zurichois parsèment le canton entier. Même dans ceux situés tout proches des villes de Zurich (terroirs de Sonnenberg, Bürgli et Höngg) ou de Winterthur (Goldenberg), de très bons crus mûrissent. Zurich dispose ainsi d’une quantité d’excellents coteaux, parfois très pentus, qui puissent se qualifier, au sens propre du terme, de grands crus: parmi eux, on trouve « sternenhalde » et « lattenberg » près de Stäfa, « chorb » à Rheinau, « schiterberg » près de Andelfingen ou encore « stadtberg » à Eglisau.

Les sols profonds dominent.

A Zurich, en majorité, les sols sont de profondes moraines glaciaires effritées de teneur moyenne en calcaire. Sur les hauteurs des coteaux, l’on trouve aussi du poudingue et du grès, alors que sur les plaines, l’argile et le gravier sont plus fréquents. Les vignes poussent entre 400 et 600 mètres d’altitude et les précipitations moyennes annuelles sont de l’ordre de 1'000 millimètres au mètre carré.

Des pionniers bénédictins

Sur l’île monastère de Rheinau, les moines bénédictins cultivaient déjà la vigne au 9ème siècle. Autour de 1880, le vignoble de Zurich s’étendait sur plus 5'500 hectares, mais le phylloxéra mit fin brutalement à cette expansion. De nos jours, le canton viticole vit une petite renaissance, et même le Räuschling autochtone, jadis célèbre pour son énorme acidité, se développe maintenant en des crus équilibrés et finement fruités. En plus du Pinot Noir et du Riesling-Sylvaner, des spécialités de première qualité comme le Viognier, le Scheurebe, le Rheinriesling, le Blaufränkisch et même le Malbec se plaisent beaucoup. D’autres sortes, résistantes aux moisissures, donnent maintenant avec le temps de meilleurs résultats.

Sous-régions

Maipo
Valle Central

Maipo

La Maipo Valley: le siège de la noblesse du vin

en savoir plus
Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: garant de finesse

en savoir plus
Listrac
Bordeaux

Listrac

Listrac-Médoc: climat et sols spéciaux

en savoir plus