to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Zürich

Zurich: On the way to the top

With a cultivated area of 620 hectares, Zurich is the largest wine-producing canton in German-speaking Switzerland. The potential is great at prime locations on Lake Zurich and in the various river valleys. It is no surprise that a steadily increasing number of top wines are vinified here. The major variety is Pinot Noir. But white varieties also exceed exquisitely, such as Müller-Thurgau and the long-established Räuschling, as well as international varieties like Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc. The wine-producing canton of Zurich is currently experiencing the most sustained upswing in quality in its history.

White wines from Zürich

In Stock
Chardonnay
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Chardonnay

AOC Uetikon, Weingut Erich Meier, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Chardonnay*
Only 22 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Chardonnay*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Müller-Thurgau*
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Müller-Thurgau*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 19.–
In Stock
Pinot Gris
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Pinot Gris

AOC Uetikon, Weingut Erich Meier, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 28.–

Red wines from Zürich

In Stock
Pinot Noir Barrique
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Pinot Noir Classic
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Pinot Noir Kirche
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Plural*
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Plural*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 34.–

Climate change has undoubtedly helped Zurich winemakers in their quality efforts, especially with the leading red variety, Pinot Noir. Thirty years ago, it was too cold seven out of ten years to produce top wines. Today, seven in ten years see perfect conditions, and in the remaining three years, it tends to be too hot. Thus the rustic, light Clevner – once the embodiment of Pinots from Zurich – has already become a near-rarity, while fully-structured Blauburgunders, aged in large or small oak barrels, have become the norm.

Impressive steep slopes

Today, the vineyards of the canton of Zurich are widely scattered throughout the canton. Quality crus are even produced in the district of the city of Zurich (in Sonnenberg, Bürgli and Höngg locations) and Winterthur (in Goldberg). Zurich has a large number of sometimes very steep prime locations, which may be described – in the fullest sense of the word – as grand cru: among others, these include Sternenhalde and Lattenberg in Stäfa; Chorb in Rheinau, Schiterberg in Andelfingen and Stadtberg in Eglisau.

Deep soils dominate

Viticulture is carried out in Zurich on primarily deep, weathered moraine soils that are moderately calcareous. In the upper stretches of the slopes, Nagelfluh (conglomerate) belts and sandstone can be found; in the lowlands, on the other hand, there is mostly loam or gravel. The vineyards lie between 400 and 600 metres above sea level. Precipitation is usually slightly higher than 1,000 millimetres per year per square metre.

Benedictine monks as pioneers

On the monastery island of Rheinau, Benedictine grew wine as early as the 9th century. Around 1880, more than 5,500 hectares were planted with vines in Zurich, but phylloxera spelled an abrupt end to this boom. Today, Zurich viticulture is experiencing a small renaissance. Even the long-established Räuschling, once notorious for its horrendous acid, has developed into a finely fruity, balanced planting. Along with Pinot Noir and Müller-Thurgau, first-class specialties today succeed from varieties such as Viognier, Scheurebe, Riesling, Gamay and even Malbec. Fungus-resistant varieties are also yielding more and better results than ever.

Subregions

Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanish temperament in a glass

Read more
Coteaux du Libron
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Zürich

Zürich: Auf dem Weg zur Spitze

Mit einer Rebfläche von  620 Hektar ist Zürich der grösste Weinbaukanton in der Deutschschweiz. Das Potential an erstklassigen Lagen am Zürichsee und den verschiedenen Flusstälern ist gross. Kein Wunder wird hier eine stetig wachsend Zahl von Topweinen gekeltert. Die Paradesorte ist der Pinot Noir. Aber auch weisse Sorten wie der Riesling-Silvaner und der alteingesessene Räuschling, sowie internationale Gewächse wie Chardonnay und Sauvignon Blanc gelingen vorzüglich. Der Weinbaukanton Zürich erlebt gerade der nachhaltigste qualitative Aufschwung seiner Geschichte!

Weissweine aus Zürich

In Stock
Chardonnay*
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Chardonnay*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Müller-Thurgau*
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Müller-Thurgau*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 19.–
In Stock
Pinot Gris
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Riesling
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Riesling

AOC Uetikon, Weingut Erich Meier, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 29.80

Rotweine aus Zürich

In Stock
Pinot Noir Barrique
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Pinot Noir Classic
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Plural*
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Plural*

(*CH + IT Traubengut), 2017, 750 ml
CHF 34.–
In Stock
Stäfner Pinot Noir
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Ohne Zweifel hat die  Klimaerwärmung den Zürcher Winzern bei ihren Qualitätsbemühungen geholfen. Vor allem bei der roten Leitsorte Pinot Noir. Noch vor dreissig Jahren war es sieben von zehn Jahren zu kühl, um Topweine zu keltern. Heute herrschen in sieben von zehn Jahren perfekte Verhältnisse, und in den übrigen drei Jahren ist es tendenziell eher zu heiss. So ist der rustikal, leichte Clevner, einst der Inbegriff eines Pinots aus Zürich schon fast zur Rarität geworden, voll strukturierte, im grossen oder kleinen Eichenfass ausgebaute Blauburgunder dagegen der Normalfall.

Eindrückliche Steillagen

Die Rebberge des Kantons Zürich liegen weit verstreut über den ganzen Kanton. Selbst im Stadtgebiet von Zürich (in den Lagen Sonnenberg, Bürgli und Höngg) und Winterthur (in der Lage Goldenberg) reifen heute hochwertige Crus. Überhaupt verfügt Zürich über eine Vielzahl von teilweise sehr steilen Toplagen, die sich im wahrsten Sinnes des Wortes als Grand Cru bezeichnen lassen: Dazu gehören unter anderem die «Sternenhalde» und der «Lattenberg» bei Stäfa, der «Chorb» in Rheinau, «Schiterberg» bei Andelfingen oder der «Stadtberg» bei Eglisau.

Tiefgründige Böden dominieren

Weinbau wird in Zürich vorwiegend auf tiefgründigen, verwitterten Moränenböden mit mittlerem Kalkgehalt betrieben. In den oberen Bereichen von Hanglagen sind auch Nagelflühbänder oder Sandstein zu finden, im Flachland dagegen mehrheitlich Lehm oder Kies. Die Rebberge befinden sich zwischen 400 und 600 Meter über Meer. Die Niederschlagsmengen liegen meist leicht über 1‘000 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter.

Benediktinermönche als Pioniere

Auf der Klosterinsel Rheinau haben Benediktiner-Mönche schon im 9. Jahrhundert Weinbau betrieben. Um das Jahr 1880 herum, waren in Zürich mehr als 5‘500 Hektar mit Reben bestockt, doch die Reblaus setzte diesem Boom ein apruptes Ende. Heute erlebt der Zürcher Weinbau eine kleine Renaissance. Selbst der alteingesessene Räuschling, einst wegen seiner horrende Säure berüchtigt, hat sich zum feinfruchtigen, ausgewogenenen Gewächs entwickelt. Nebst Pinot Noir und Riesling-Silvaner gelingen heute erstklassige Spezialitäten aus Sorten wie Viognier, Scheurebe, Rheinriesling, Blaufränkisch oder sogar Malbec. Auch pilzresistente Sorten ergeben je länger je mehr gute Ergebnisse.

Unterregionen

Toro
Castilla y León

Toro

Toro: Charakterweine mit grosser Tradition

Weiterlesen
Bierzo
Galicia

Bierzo

Bierzo: Mit der Sorte Mencia zur Spitze

Weiterlesen
Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac
Bordeaux

Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac

Fronsac und Canon Fronsac: In bester Gesellschaft

Weiterlesen