to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Burgundy and Bordeaux are France’s most prestigious wine regions. Nonetheless, they are completely distinct in character: while Bordeaux, as the land of the chateaux, enjoys an aristocratic image, Burgundy has retained its rustic agrarian structure. Burgundy stretches for over 200 kilometres, from Dijon in the north to Lyon in the south. In a highly complex jigsaw of the most diverse of terroirs, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir demonstrate the subtle ways in which they embody their sources.

Sparkling wines from Bourgogne

In Stock

White wines from Bourgogne

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Red wines from Bourgogne

In Stock
Charmes-Chambertin Grand cru 2013
Only 9 Bottles
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton 2010

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 750 ml
CHF 64.–
In Stock
Aloxe-Corton 2015
Only 16 Bottles
Vegan

Aloxe-Corton 2015

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 750 ml
CHF 52.50
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton 2017

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 750 ml
CHF 49.50

Spirits from Bourgogne

In Stock
Marc de Bourgogne
Only 6 Bottles

Marc de Bourgogne

Comte Georges de Vogüé, 700 ml
CHF 280.–

Although astronomical prices are paid for parcels at grand cru sites, and investors worldwide (particularly from Asia) have Burgundy in their sights, life in the rural villages still continues on its usual course. Signs requesting visitors to remain on the dirt roads and not to trample through the vineyards are indicators of how valued the growths here are. This is particularly true in the Côte d’Or, the core of the region, which is composed of the Côte de Nuits in the north and the Côte de Beaune in the south. Classic Burgundy comprises 24,000 hectares; if Beaujolais, administratively a part of Burgundy, is counted, too, then the wine region is almost twice as large. The region’s most prestigious wines – the 33 grand crus and 562 premier crus –collectively represent just 15 percent of wine production here.

Continentally influenced climate

Vines are rooted here on southeast-facing slopes from 200 to 400 metres above sea level, in soils dominated by Jurassic limestone. The best sites are located on middle slopes, under an escarpment where there is a relatively thin layer of marl or loam on the limestone base. Detailed studies in the Côte de Nuits area have revealed that the character and quality of a site is primarily determined by factors such as slope gradient and proportions of stone, loam and limestone. The climate is continentally influenced, with long, dry winters and summers which tend to be short. Annual precipitation, at around 700 millimetres per year per square metre, is ideal for viticulture. Due to the finesse that both Chardonnay and Pinot Noir achieve at top sites, these two varieties have made a splash worldwide. Nonetheless, they seldom achieve a class abroad that is on par with that of their homeland.

The legacy of the monks

It was the Benedictine monks in Cluny, along with the Cistercian monks, who recognized the potential of the region for viticulture in the 10th century, already then defining prime locations. The Dukes of Burgundy who ruled in the 14th century particularly promoted the marketing of Burgundian wines.

With Chablis (which is closer to Paris than to Lyon), where Chardonnay yields admirably clean, pure and mineral white crus, and Beaujolais, the stronghold of the Gamay grape, Burgundy has two satellites that are removed from the core area, yet decisively contribute to the diversity of its wines.

Region

Mittelrhein
Germany

Mittelrhein

Mittelrhein: small but fine

Read more
Navarra
Spain

Navarra

Navarre: a land of many terroirs

Read more
Highland-Speyside
Scotland

Highland-Speyside

Speyside: Das Herz der Whisky-Kultur

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bourgogne

Burgund: In der Heimat der Crus

Burgund und Bordeaux sind die prestigeträchtigsten Weinbaugebiete Frankreichs, aber im Charakter völlig verschieden: Während Bordeaux als Land der Châteaux ein aristokratisches Image geniesst, hat sich das Burgund bis heute seine ländlich-bäuerliche Struktur bewahrt. Das Burgund reicht von Dijon im Norden über 200 Kilometer nach Lyon im Süden. In einem höchst komplexen Puzzle verschiedenster Terroirs zeigen Chardonnay und Pinot Noir exemplarisch, in welch subtiler Weise sie ihre Herkunft verkörpern.

Obwohl heute für Rebparzellen in Grand Cru-Lagen astronomisch hohe Preis bezahlt werden und Investoren aus der ganzen Welt, insbesondere aber solche aus Asien, das Burgund im Visier haben, nimmt das Leben in den ländlichen Dörfern noch immer seinen gewohnten Lauf. Nur Hinweistafeln, auf denen Besucher gebeten werden, auf den Feldwegen zu bleiben und nicht durch die Rebberge zu trampeln, deutet darauf hin, wie Wertvolles hier inzwischen wächst. Vor allem an der Côte d’Or, dem Herzteil dieses Gebietes, welches sich aus der Côte de Nuits im Norden und der Côte de Beaune im Süden zusammensetzt. Das klassische Burgund umfasst 24‘000 Hektar, zählt man das verwaltungstechnisch zum Burgund gehörende Beaujolais dazu, ist das Weingebiet fast doppel so gross. Die prestigeträchtigsten Weine der Region, die 33 Grands Crus und 562 Premiers Crus machen zusammen nur gerade 15 Prozent der Weinproduktion aus.

Kontinental geprägtes Klima

Die Reben wurzeln hier an südöstlich ausgerichteten Hängen zwischen 200 und 400 Meter über Meer, in Böden, die von Jurakalk dominiert werden. Die besten Lagen befinden sich dabei in mittleren Hanglagen unter einer Abbruchkante, wo über dem Sockel aus Jurakalk eine vergleichsweise dünne Auflage aus Mergel oder Lehm liegt. Detaillierte Studien im Bereich der Côte de Nuits haben ergeben, dass der Charakter und die Qualität einer Lage vor allem durch Faktoren wie der Hangneigung und dem jeweiligen Anteil von Stein, Lehm und Kalk bestimmt werden. Das Klima ist Kontinental geprägt, mit langen aber trockenen Wintern und eher kurzen Sommern. Die jährliche Niederschlagsmenge von rund 700 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter ist ideal für den Weinbau. Aufgrund der Finesse, die sowohl der Chardonnay, als auch der Pinot Noir hier in den Toplagen erreichen, haben diese zwei Sorten weltweit Furore gemacht, doch selten erreichen sie in der Ferne eine ähnliche Klasse wie in ihrer Heimat.

Das Erbe der Mönche

Es waren die Benediktiner-Mönche in Cluny, sowie Zisterzienser-Mönche, die ab dem 10. Jahrhundert das Potential der Region für den Weinbau erkannten und bereits Spitzenlagen definierten. Die ab dem 14. Jahrhundert herrschenden Herzöge von Burgund förderten vor allem die Vermarktung der Burgunder Weine.

Mit dem Chablis (das bereits näher bei Paris als bei Lyon liegt), wo der Chardonnay bewundernswert reintönige mineralische weisse Crus ergibt, und dem Beaujolais als Hochburg der Gamay-Traube verfügt das Burgund über zwei Satelliten abseits vom Kerngebiet, die aber entscheidend zur Vielfalt der Weine beitragen.

Schaumweine aus Bourgogne

Blanc de blancs

AC,Georges Blanc, 750 ml
CHF 19.80

Weissweine aus Bourgogne

Bienvenues-Batard-Montrachet
Nur noch 19 Flaschen
Parker 90 Punkte
Chablis La Boissonneuse
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
Chablis La Boissonneuse
Nur noch 2 Flaschen
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Rotweine aus Bourgogne

Aloxe-Corton
Nur noch 14 Flaschen

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2010, 375 ml
CHF 25.80

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2011, 375 ml
CHF 25.50

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2009, 750 ml
CHF 47.50

Spirituosen aus Bourgogne

Regionen

Genf
Schweiz

Genf

Genf: Vielfalt auf hohem Niveau

Weiterlesen
Languedoc-Roussillon
Frankreich

Languedoc-Roussillon

Languedoc und Roussillon: Der Weingigant im Süden

Weiterlesen
Pfalz
Deutschland

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling trifft Burgund

Weiterlesen