to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

The southern cultivation area of Austria surprises with its refreshing white wines. Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling and Chardonnay (referred to here as Morillon) impress with their own profiles. Since the opening of the border with Slovenia – where the Iron Curtain once hung in its more moderate form – a dynamic, cross-border wine culture has developed. It almost seems as if the vibrancy of the hilly landscapes is reflected in the wines themselves.

White wines from Steiermark

In Stock
Gelber Muskateller Steirische Klassik
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Gelber Muskateller Steirische Klassik
Vegan
In Stock
Gelber Muskateller Steirische Klassik
Only 24 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Morillon Moth
Vegan

The Sauvignon Blanc variety is trending worldwide. Generally speaking, three different flavor types can be distinguished today. In Sancerre, linear, mineral wines still are produced, while in the New World they are more trimmed to intense primary fruit, with a “sweet and sour” touch. Styria lies somewhere in the middle. The best crus impress with a combination of crispness, melodiousness and complexity that makes them unique.

A white wine country

Styria has a vineyard area of approximately 4,300 hectares, divided into the areas of Südsteiermark (Southern Styria) with 2,340 hectares, Südoststeiermark (Southeast Styria) with 1,400 hectares and Weststeiermark (West Styria) with 500 hectares. With a share of 76 percent, white varieties very clearly set the tone. Although Welschriesling is the dominant variety, at 790 hectares, the region’s image today has been defined by Sauvignon Blanc, which grows on 520 hectares. Also important are Pinot Blanc (510 hectares) and Chardonnay (330 hectares).

Each of the three wine-growing regions has its specialty: in Southern Styria it is the Sauvignon Blanc; in Southeastern Styria, the aromatic Traminer; and Western Styria is home to the Wildbacher, from which the eminently-crisp rosé Schilcher is produced.

Mediterranean-stamped climate

Throughout Styria, vines grow in a temperate Mediterranean climate. The soil conditions are diverse: in South Styria, where wine cultivation is carried out up to 564 meters above sea level, gravelly soils with sometimes high sand content dominate. By contrast, vines in Southeast Styria, where steep slopes can often be found, are rooted in reddish volcanic soils with high iron content, as well as in terroirs with lots of sand, schist or marl. In Western Styria, primary rock with schist and gneiss prevails.

Regions

Burgenland
Austria

Burgenland

Burgenland: Reds, sweets and other wonders

Read more
Campbeltown
Scotland

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: Salzige Eleganz

Read more
Veneto
Italy

Veneto

Veneto: land of the Amarone and Prosecco

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Steiermark

Steiermark: Die weisse, frische Welle

Ausgerechnet das südlichste Anbaugebiet Österreichs überrascht mit seinen erfrischenden Weissweinen. Sauvignon Blanc, Welschriesling und Chardonnay (der hier Morillon genannt wird) überzeugen mit eigenem Profil. Seit die Grenze zu Slowenien (ehemals verlief hier in gemässigter Form der Eiserne Vorhang) offen ist, hat sich hier eine grenzübergreifend dynamische Weinkultur entwickelt. Fast scheint es, als finde man in den Weinen die Beschwingtheit der Hügellandschaft wieder, in der sie reifen.

Weissweine aus Steiermark

Gelber Muskateller Steirische Klassik
Nur noch 3 Flaschen
Vegan
Gelber Muskateller Steirische Klassik
Vegan
Morillon Moth
Vegan
Morillon Steirische Klassik
Vegan

Die Sorte Sauvignon Blanc liegt weltweit im Trend. Generell betrachtet lassen sich heute drei verschiedene Geschmackstypen ausmachen. In Sancerre entstehen noch immer geradlinig, mineralische Weine, in der Neuen Welt eher auf intensive Primärfrucht getrimmte Gewächse mit «Sweet & Sour»-Touch. Die Steiermark liegt irgendwie dazwischen. Die besten Crus überzeugen mit einer Kombination von Frische, Schmelz und Komplexität, die sie einzigartig macht.

Ein Weisswein-Land

Die Steiermark verfügt über eine Rebfläche von rund 4‘300 Hektar,  unterteilt in die Gebiete Südsteiermark (2‘340 Hektar), Südoststeiermark (1‘400 Hektar) und Weststeiermark (500 Hektar). Die weissen Sorten geben mit einem Anteil von 76 Prozent ganz klar den Ton an. Obwohl der Welschriesling mit 790 Hektar die dominierende Sorte ist, wird das Image der Region heute vom Sauvignon Blanc bestimmt, der auf 520 Hektar wächst. Wichtig sind auch Weissburgunder (510 Hektar) und Chardonnay (330 Hektar).

Jedes der drei Weinbaugebiete hat seine Spezialität: In der Südsteiermark ist es der Sauvignon Blanc, in der Südoststeiermark der aromatische Traminer und die Weststeiermark ist die Heimat des Blauen Wildbacher, aus welcher der überaus knackige, roséfarbene Schilcher hergestellt wird.

Mediterran geprägtes Klima

In der ganzen Steiermark wachsen die  Reben in einem gemässigten Mittelmeerklima. Die Bodenverhältnisse sind vielfältig: In der Südsteiermark, wo bis in eine Höhe von 564 Meter über Meer Weinbau betrieben wird, dominieren schottrige Böden mit teilweise hohem Sandanteil. Dagegen wurzeln die Reben in der Südoststeiermark, wo häufig Steillagen zu finden sind, in rötlich gefärbten Vulkanböden mit hohem Eisenanteil, aber auch in Terroirs mit viel Sand, Schiefer oder Mergel. In der Weststeiermark herrscht Urgestein mit Schiefer und Gneis vor.

Regionen

Aconcagua
Chile

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: Alpines Bordeaux-Feeling

Weiterlesen
Navarra
Spanien

Navarra

Navarra: Ein Land mit vielen Terroirs

Weiterlesen
Abruzzo
Italien

Abruzzo

Abruzzen: Charakterweine zwischen Berg und Meer

Weiterlesen