to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: an alpine, Bordeaux feeling

The valley gets its name from the highest mountain in the western hemisphere, the 6,962-metre-high Aconcagua. The shimmering white peak, which is actually on Argentinian soil, can be easily seen from the vineyards. In a moderate Mediterranean climate with cool breezes, Bordeaux varieties in particular yield fully concentrated yet always well-structured crus. The vineyards, variously aligned along the valley flanks, bring subtle terroir differences into the glass.

White wines from Aconcagua

In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Sauvignon Blanc
Vegan
In Stock
Sauvignon blanc Reserva
Vegan

Red wines from Aconcagua

In Stock
Syrah
Vegan

Syrah

DO Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 19.40 CHF 29.80
In Stock
Syrah
Vegan

Syrah

DO Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 29.80

An overwhelming share of Chile’s top red wines are produced south of the capital city, Santiago. The wine-growing areas north of the metropolis are considered ideal for white wines, or at most Pinot Noir. The Aconcagua Valley is thus the exception that proves the rule. Red wine was already cultivated here on a large scale by around 1870. Afterwards, viticulture was forgotten, only to again experience a renaissance in the last 30 years. Currently, approximately 1,000 hectares are planted with vines. Cabernet Sauvignon (about 310 hectares), Syrah (160 hectares) and Carménère (70 hectares) set the tone.

Between the Pacific and the Andes

The valley named after the Aconcagua peak (English: “sentinel of stone”) runs from the Andes in the east to the Pacific coast in the west, where the Aconcagua River flows into the sea at Concón, a few kilometres north of Valparaiso. By day, cool air flows from the Andean mountaintops, running through the valley. In the evenings the wind changes, with cool pacific air permeating the valley. Not all vineyards are equally exposed to the cool air masses. Higher locations in particular can be significantly warmer. Depending on the microclimate, Cabernet Sauvignon can be harvested up to two weeks earlier or later.

Little rain, lots of glacier water

These cool air flows in a generally Mediterranean climate contribute to the fact that Bordeaux varieties in particular yield full-flavored, fully matured crus, which nonetheless do not lack in structure and elegance. The precipitation of only 220 millimetres per square metre per year is insufficient for viticulture, but ample meltwater from Andes glaciers is available to irrigate the vineyards. The sparser, water-permeable soils were formed by erosion. While loam and sand tend to dominate in the valley’s eastern part, loam and granite are encountered in the valley’s west. Above all, the red assemblages produced here according to the Bordeaux recipe have great aging potential.

Regions

Galicia
Spain

Galicia

Galicia: shaped by the cool Atlantic

Read more
Burgenland
Austria

Burgenland

Burgenland: Reds, sweets and other wonders

Read more
Lowlands
Scotland

Lowlands

Lowlands: Hochprozentig subtil

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: un feeling de bordeaux alpin

La vallée tient son nom du plus haut sommet du continent américain, l’Aconcagua  qui culmine à 6 962 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Cette montagne au sommet blanc brillant et situé principalement sur le sol argentin se distingue très bien depuis les vignobles. Grâce à un climat méditerranéen modéré, les cépages bordeaux typiques produisent des crus concentrés mais structurés. Les différences dans l’alignement des vignobles le long des flancs de la vallée apportent de subtiles nuances de terroirs dans le verre.

Vins blancs de Aconcagua

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Sauvignon Blanc
Végan
In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Végan
In Stock

Vins rouges de Aconcagua

In Stock
Syrah
Plus que 10 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Syrah
Végan

La grande majorité des grands vins rouges chiliens sont produits au sud de Santiago, les vignobles au nord sont plus prédestinés aux vins blancs et au Pinot Noir. L’Aconcagua Valley est, dans ce contexte, l’exception qui confirme la règle. Déjà en 1870, on y produisait des vins rouges en grande quantité, mais plus tard, la viticulture y est tombée en désuétude. Ce n’est que plus d’un siècle plus tard, il y a environ une trentaine d’années, que la région vécut une renaissance. À l’heure actuelle, près de 1'000 hectares sont plantés de vignes, avec entre autres, environ 310 hectares de Cabernet Sauvignon, 160 hectares de Syrah et 70 hectares de Carmenère.

Entre le Pacifique et les Andes

La vallée, nommée ainsi après la montagne Acongagua (qui signifie « sentinelle de pierre), laisse courir un fleuve du même nom, des Andes à l’est, jusqu’au Pacifique à l’ouest, où il se jette dans l’océan à Concón, à quelques kilomètres au nord de Valparaiso. Le jour, un air frais descend la vallée venant des Andes, mais la nuit, le vent se retourne et apporte un air frais venant du Pacifique (brise de montagne et de mer). Tous les vignobles ne sont pas exposés à ces masses d’air frais de la même façon. Ceux situés plus en altitude sont remarquablement plus chauds. En fonction des microclimats, par exemple, le Cabernet Sauvignon peut arriver à maturité avec deux semaines de différences.

Peu de pluie, beaucoup d’eau de fonte des glaciers

Ces mouvements d’air frais dans un climat méditerranéen général permettent aux cépages bordeaux de produire des crus amples et mûrs auxquels il ne manque ni structure ni élégance. Les faibles précipitations de seulement 220 millimètres par an et par mètre carré ne suffiraient pas pour la culture de la vigne, mais l’eau provenant de la fonte des glaciers des Andes assure une irrigation suffisante. Les sols plutôt pauvres et poreux formés par l’érosion sont généralement à l’est de la vallée composés d’argile et de sable, alors qu’à l’ouest, ce sont l’argile et le granit qui dominent. Les vins rouges en provenant, et assemblés d’après le style bordeaux, ont un bon potentiel de garde.

Régions

Mosel
Allemagne

Mosel

Moselle: le territoire souverain du Riesling

en savoir plus
Mallorca
Espagne

Mallorca

Majorque: de nouveaux excellents crus à partir d’anciennes variétés

en savoir plus
Loire
France

Loire

La Loire: le fleuve des rois

en savoir plus