to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: an alpine, Bordeaux feeling

The valley gets its name from the highest mountain in the western hemisphere, the 6,962-metre-high Aconcagua. The shimmering white peak, which is actually on Argentinian soil, can be easily seen from the vineyards. In a moderate Mediterranean climate with cool breezes, Bordeaux varieties in particular yield fully concentrated yet always well-structured crus. The vineyards, variously aligned along the valley flanks, bring subtle terroir differences into the glass.

White wines from Aconcagua

In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Sauvignon Blanc
Vegan
In Stock
Sauvignon blanc Reserva
Vegan

Red wines from Aconcagua

In Stock
Syrah
Vegan

Syrah

DO Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 19.40 CHF 29.80
In Stock
Syrah
Vegan

Syrah

DO Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 29.80

An overwhelming share of Chile’s top red wines are produced south of the capital city, Santiago. The wine-growing areas north of the metropolis are considered ideal for white wines, or at most Pinot Noir. The Aconcagua Valley is thus the exception that proves the rule. Red wine was already cultivated here on a large scale by around 1870. Afterwards, viticulture was forgotten, only to again experience a renaissance in the last 30 years. Currently, approximately 1,000 hectares are planted with vines. Cabernet Sauvignon (about 310 hectares), Syrah (160 hectares) and Carménère (70 hectares) set the tone.

Between the Pacific and the Andes

The valley named after the Aconcagua peak (English: “sentinel of stone”) runs from the Andes in the east to the Pacific coast in the west, where the Aconcagua River flows into the sea at Concón, a few kilometres north of Valparaiso. By day, cool air flows from the Andean mountaintops, running through the valley. In the evenings the wind changes, with cool pacific air permeating the valley. Not all vineyards are equally exposed to the cool air masses. Higher locations in particular can be significantly warmer. Depending on the microclimate, Cabernet Sauvignon can be harvested up to two weeks earlier or later.

Little rain, lots of glacier water

These cool air flows in a generally Mediterranean climate contribute to the fact that Bordeaux varieties in particular yield full-flavored, fully matured crus, which nonetheless do not lack in structure and elegance. The precipitation of only 220 millimetres per square metre per year is insufficient for viticulture, but ample meltwater from Andes glaciers is available to irrigate the vineyards. The sparser, water-permeable soils were formed by erosion. While loam and sand tend to dominate in the valley’s eastern part, loam and granite are encountered in the valley’s west. Above all, the red assemblages produced here according to the Bordeaux recipe have great aging potential.

Regions

Galicia
Spain

Galicia

Galicia: shaped by the cool Atlantic

Read more
Burgenland
Austria

Burgenland

Burgenland: Reds, sweets and other wonders

Read more
Lowlands
Scotland

Lowlands

Lowlands: Hochprozentig subtil

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Aconcagua

Aconcagua Valley: Alpines Bordeaux-Feeling

Seinen Namen hat das Tal von höchsten Berg des amerikanischen Kontinents, dem 6962 Meter hohen Aconcagua. Der weiss schimmernde Gipfel, der allerdings auf argentinischem Boden steht, ist von den Weinbergen aus gut zu sehen. In einem moderat mediterranen Klima mit kühlen Brisen ergeben besonders die Bordeaux-Sorten voll konzentrierte aber doch stets gut strukturierte Crus. Die verschieden ausgerichtete Rebberg entlang den Talflanken bringen subtile Terroir-Unterschiede ins Glas.

Der überwältigende Teil der chilenischen Top-Rotweine reift südlich der Hauptstadt Santiago. Die Rebgebiete nördlich der Metropole gelten gemeinhin als prädestiniert für Weissweine oder allenfalls Pinot Noir. Das Aconcagua Valley ist in diesem Kontext so etwas wie die Ausnahme, welche diese Regel bestätigt. Schon um 1870 wurde hier im grossen Stil Rotwein angebaut. Danach geriet der Weinbau in Vergessenheit, erst seit den letzten 30 Jahren erlebt er wieder eine Renaissance. Gegenwärtig sind rund 1‘000 Hektar mit Reben bestockt. Cabernet Sauvigon (ca. 310 Hektar), Syrah (160 Hektar) und Carménère  (70 Hektar) geben den Ton an.

Zwischen Pazifik und den Anden

Das nach dem Aconcagua Gipfel benannte Tal (zu deutsch «Steinerner Wächter») verläuft von den Anden im Osten bis an die Pazifikküste im Westen, wo der Rio Aconcagua bei Concón, wenige Kilometer nördlich von Valparaiso, ins Meer mündet. Tagsüber strömt kühle Luft von den Andengipfel her kommend durch das Tal. Abends dann, wechselt der Wind, nun dringt kühle Pazifikluft ins Tal. Nicht alle Rebberge sind den kühlen Luftmassen gleichermassen ausgesetzt, vor allem in den höheren Lagen ist es bedeutend wärmer. Je nach Mikroklima wird darum beispielsweise der Cabernet Sauvignon mit bis zu zwei Wochen früher oder später geerntet.

Wenig Regen, viel Gletscherwasser

Diese kühlen Luftströme in einem generell mediterranen Klima tragen dazu bei, dass besonders die Bordeaux-Sorten zwar vollmundige, voll ausgereifte Crus hervorbringen, denen es aber trotzdem nicht an der nötigen Struktur und Eleganz fehlt. Die Niederschläge von lediglich 220 Millimeter pro Quadratmeter und Jahr würden für den Weinbau nicht ausreichen, doch es steht genügend Schmelzwasser von den Anden-Gletschern zur Verfügung, um die Rebberge zu bewässern. Die eher kargen, wasserdurchlässigen Böden wurden durch Erosion gebildet. Während im östlichen Teil des Tales eher Lehm und Sand dominieren, kommen im westlichen Teil des Tales mehr Lehm und Granit vor. Vor allem die roten Assemblagen nach der Bordeaux-Rezeptur, die hier reifen, verfügen über ein gutes Entwicklungspotential.

Weissweine aus Aconcagua

Chardonnay Reserva
Vegan
Parker 89 Punkte
Sauvignon blanc
Vegan

Sauvignon blanc

DO, Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 19.80
Parker 89 Punkte
Sauvignon blanc
Vegan

Sauvignon blanc

DO, Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 19.80
Sauvignon blanc Reserva
Vegan

Rotweine aus Aconcagua

Parker 88 Punkte
Syrah
Vegan

Syrah

DO Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 29.80

Regionen

Neuenburg
Schweiz

Neuenburg

Neuenburg: Das Burgund der Schweiz

Weiterlesen
Alto Adige
Italien

Alto Adige

Alto Adige : des vins des Alpes au charme méridional

Weiterlesen
Mittelrhein
Deutschland

Mittelrhein

Mittelrhein: Klein aber fein

Weiterlesen