to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

He wanted to prove to the world that he could produce the best white wine in all of Spain -- and he succeeded!

A migrant from Rioja, Rafael Palacios came to Valdeorras and quickly made a name for himself there. He regularly proved his worth in his family home of Palacios Remondo. In 2004, he founded his own vineyard in a northwestern nook of Spain, at the centre of Galicia, in the remote Valle del Bibei. Meanwhile, his brother Álvaro assumed the management of the vineyard in Rioja.

In light of the autochtonous godello grape's potential, Rafael was convinced he could use it to produce world-class wines from the very beginning. Little by little, he purchased parcels stocked with old vines -- locally referred to as sortes. Sortes found in elevated, north-facing locations caught his attention in particular. These yield fresh, mineral, and well structured wines. The oldest location is Sorte Antiga, planted in 1920. The Valle del Bibei in the parish of O Bolo is the highest located area of Valdeorras and is situated 680 to 740 metres above sea level. The ground, which developed through the erosion of granite, is barren with a sandy surface.

By now, Rafael is faced with hard work on 30 hectares spread over 30 vineyards, since the mostly abandoned sortes need to be maintained, the walls must be repaired, the grounds must be vitalised, and the neglected vines must be cosseted up. While doing this, he applies organic and partially biodynamic methods of cultivation.

Louro do Bolo stems from various parcels. The Godello is refined with 6% of the indigenous Treixedura and fermented and developed in large 3000 litre wooden barrels. After having sampled this wine, you will be ready to get to know the As Sortes, which was hailed as the best white wine of Spain. However, Rafael Palacios does not simply sit on his laurels. His latest attempt, called Sorte O Soro, has taken over this title and sees its place along the biggest names of the world of white wines.

White wines from Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

In Stock
Sorte Antiga 2019
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

Sorte Antiga 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock

Louro do Bolo 2020

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Sorte O Soro 2019
Only 23 Bottles
Vegan

Sorte O Soro 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
As Sortes 2018

As Sortes 2018

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml

from Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

In Stock
Sorte Antiga 2019
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

Sorte Antiga 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
As Sortes 2018

As Sortes 2018

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock

Louro do Bolo 2020

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Sorte O Soro 2019
Only 23 Bottles
Vegan

Sorte O Soro 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml

Producer

Weingut Salzl

Weingut Salzl

The Austrian winery Salzl Seewinkelhof is located in Illmitz, surrounded by the picturesque lakes and plains of the Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel National Park in Burgenland. A good hour’s drive from Vienna lies this family winery that also provides comfortable 4-star accommodation in an attached guesthouse with a pool.

Read more
Château Biac

Château Biac

Sometimes life is full of surprises. The Lebanese Asseily family experienced this first-hand when they became the owners of Château Biac as if by accident in 2006. They regularly spent their summer holidays near Biac, but never would they have dreamt that they would own and manage this wonderful property themselves one day. It’s a fascinating story that Tony and Youmna Asseily are happy to share over a glass of their wine.

Read more
Massena / Jaysen Collins

Massena / Jaysen Collins

Dan Standish and Jaysen Collins were college friends, and in the late 1990s they decided to put their talents together to produce wine. Recently, Jaysen Collins has taken charge of the "Massena" project on his own.The grapes are purchased from growers in Greenock, Kalimna and Koonunga Hill in the northwest Barossa Valley.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

Il voulait prouver au monde entier qu'il pouvait faire le meilleur vin blanc d'Espagne - et il l'a fait!

En Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios est un migrant de la Rioja - mais pas un inconnu. Dans la maison de ses parents Palacios Remondo a su prouvé son talent de façon régulière et entreprit son propre projet de cave dès 2004 dans le nord-ouest de l'Espagne, au milieu de la Galicie, dans la vallée du Bibei. Entre temps, son frère Álvaro prenait la direction de la cave dans la Rioja.

Rafael était dès le départ convaincu du potentiel du cépage Godello indigène pour produire des vins de classe mondiale. Petit à petit, il acheta des parcelles avec de vieilles vignes, appelées ici Sortes. Il s'intéressait particulièrement à celles situées en altitude et orientées vers le nord. Celles-ci produisent des vins frais, minéraux et bien structurés. La plus ancienne parcelle, Sorte Antiga, fut plantée en 1920. La Valle del Bibei, dans la commune d'O Bolo, est la zone la plus élevée de Valdeorras et se trouve entre 680 et 740 mètres d'altitude. Les sols créés par l'érosion du granit sont pauvres avec des surfaces sablonneuses.

Rafael travaille aujourd'hui dur sur les 30 hectares que représentent plus de 30 parcelles éparpillées, les vignobles, ayant souvent été abandonnés, devant être repris en main, les murs réparés, les sols revitalisés et les vignes assainies. Il utilise des méthodes de culture biologique et partiellement biodynamique.

Le Louro do Bolo provient de parcelles différentes. Au Godello, 6% du Treixadura local sont ajoutés, le vin est ensuite fermenté et élevé en barriques de 3’000 litres. Une fois celui-ci dégusté, vous êtes prêt pour découvrir le As Sortes, considéré comme le meilleur vin blanc d'Espagne. Mais Rafael Palacios ne se repose pas sur ses lauriers pour autant. Sa dernière création, Sorte O Soro, convoite ce même titre et une place aux côtés des plus grands noms du vin blanc à l’échelle mondiale.

Vins blancs de Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

In Stock
Parker 95 Points
As Sortes 2018
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
As Sortes 2017

de Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
As Sortes 2017
In Stock
Sorte Antiga 2019
Plus que 7 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
As Sortes 2018

Producteur

Château Biac

Château Biac

La vie est parfois pleine de surprises. C'est ce qu'ont été forcés de constater les membres de la famille libanaise Asseily, après qu'ils soient devenus "par hasard" les propriétaires imprévus du Château Biac en 2006. Ils passaient régulièrement leurs vacances près de Biac, mais n'auraient jamais rêvé de posséder et de gérer eux-mêmes cette merveilleuse propriété. Autour d'un verre de leur vin, Tony und Youmna Asseily eux-mêmes racontent mieux que personne la véritable histoire qui se cache là-derrière.

en savoir plus
Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

en savoir plus
Peter Michael Estate

Peter Michael Estate

Dans les années 1970, Sir Peter Michael débarquait en Californie en tant que jeune ingénieur et découvrait l’univers du vin californien, qui était alors en plein essor et que quelques noms de premier plan avaient porté sur la scène internationale.

en savoir plus