to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: Red finesse in Zweigelt country

With a cultivation area of just 910 hectares, stretching from Vienna’s city limits to the Slovak border, Carnuntum is one of Austria’s smallest wine regions. However, a wide diversity of red wines is cultivated here, from drinkable Zweigelt Rubin to multi-faceted Blaufränkisch from Spitzerberg to Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. Also highly interesting is the interplay between Bordeaux varieties and the native Zweigelt and Blaufränkisch cultivars.

White wines from Carnuntum

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Karpatenschiefer
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Pinot Blanc
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Pinot Blanc

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 17.–

Red wines from Carnuntum

In Stock
Blaufränkisch
Certified integrated production

Blaufränkisch

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 16.–
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Spitzerberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Stix
Vegan
In Stock
Rubin Carnuntum
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Rubin Carnuntum

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 21.90

Carnuntum is a small wine country with a long history: ultimately, the name derives from a large military camp in the Roman city immediately adjacent, which had their heyday in the 1st century CE. Even in ancient Carnuntum, wine was produced. The success of Carnuntum wines in the last few decades is closely linked to the Zweigelt variety, which Professor Zweigelt crossed from St Laurent and Blaufränkisch in 1922. Thanks to the warm Pannonian climate that prevails in the growing season, the variety ripens perfectly here. In contrast to the often corpulent Zweigelt wines from Lake Neusiedl, Carnuntum Zweigelt is fruity and well structured, with robust tannins and juicy acidity, making it a perfect food pairing. Rubin Carnuntum was created in 1992 as a prototype of this style, and is produced today by over 40 winemakers according to exact specifications.

Blaufränkisch makes a splash

In recent years, the Carnuntum wine country has gained new facets. Most interesting is the development of the area’s eastern extremity, almost in the commuter belt of the Slovakian capital, Bratislava. Here, in the Hundsheimer Mountains near Spitzerberg, highly independent Blaufränkisch crus with great elegance and finesse mature in soils marked by mica schist, granite gneiss, limestone and sand.

Successful assemblages

Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon can also mature perfectly in Carnuntum. Consequently, the top assemblages from certain winemakers are among the best red wines of the region, in which Bordeaux varieties join together with Zweigelt, or even Blaufränkisch.

The Carnuntum region spans three hill zones. Vines take root in soils characterized by heavy clay with varying proportions of lime and sandy-gravelly formations. Annual sunshine is high by Austrian standards, at 2,000 hours.

Subregions

Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
St-Julien
Bordeaux

St-Julien

Saint-Julien: in the heart of the Médoc

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: finesse du rouge au pays du Zweigelt

Avec «seulement» 910 hectares, le Carnuntum fait partie des plus petites régions viticoles d’Autriche. Il s’étend des limites municipales de la ville de Vienne à la frontière slovaque. Malgré sa petite taille, il est l’origine d’une grande diversité de vins rouges. Le spectre va du Zweigelt rubin gourmand, au Blaufränkisch de Spitzerberg complexe, jusqu’au Merlot et Cabernet Sauvignon. D’ailleurs, l’assemblage des cépages bordelais avec les cépages autochtones que sont le Zweigelt et le Blaufränkisch, est des plus intéressants.

Vins blancs de Carnuntum

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner
Végan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Karpatenschiefer
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Pinot Blanc
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Carnuntum

In Stock
Blaufränkisch Spitzerberg
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Stix
Plus que 21 Bouteilles
Végan
In Stock
Rubin Carnuntum
Végan
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Le Carnuntum est une petite région viticole à l’histoire riche. En fait, le nom provient de la grande réserve de légions et de la ville civile romaine directement à proximité qui vécut son apogée au 1er siècle apr. J.C. Et déjà à l’époque, la vigne y était cultivée. Le succès des vins de Carnuntum au cours des dernières décennies et le cépage Zweigelt sont indissociables. Le cépage est un croisement entre le Sankt Laurent et le Blaufränkisch, qui vit le jour en 1922, aux mains du professeur Zweigelt. Grâce au chaud climat pannonien, qui règne pendant la période de végétation, les raisins arrivent parfaitement à maturité. A contrario des vins de Zweigelt du lac de Neusiedl, souvent corpulents, ceux du Carnuntum montrent un fruité délicat, une belle structure, une acidité juteuse et des tanins fins, qui en font d’excellents accompagnateurs des spécialités culinaires. Un précurseur de ce style est le «rubin carnuntum» créé en 1992, et qui est aujourd’hui produit par une quarantaine de vignerons, respectant un cahier des charges très précis.

Le Balufraänkisch fait fureur.

Au cours des dernières années, le Carnuntum a gagné en facettes, et l’évolution qui s’opère à l’extrémité de la région, presque déjà dans la zone de chalandise de la capitale slovaque Bratislava, est des plus intéressantes. Ici, sur les flancs de la montagne Hundsheimer, sur des sols de micaschiste, de gneiss granitique, de calcaire et de sable, le terroir de Spitzerberg produit des crus de blaufränkisch de grande élégance et de grande finesse.

Des assemblages aboutis

Même le Merlot et le Cabernet Sauvignon ont la possibilité de mûrir parfaitement dans le Carnuntum. D’ailleurs, les meilleurs assemblages de cépages bordelais avec le Zweigelt, voire même de Blaufränkisch, de quelques vignerons, font partie des meilleurs vins de la région.

La région s’étend sur trois zones de collines. Les vignes prennent racines dans des sols argileux lourds de diverses concentrations en calcaire et aussi dans des sols de rocaille sableuse. Enfin, avec 2'000 heures par an, l’ensoleillement de cette région est grand, comparé au reste du pays.

Sous-régions

Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: garant de finesse

en savoir plus
Premières Côtes de Bordeaux
Bordeaux

Premières Côtes de Bordeaux

Premières-côtes-de-bordeaux: croissance en province

en savoir plus
St-Emilion
Bordeaux

St-Emilion

Saint-Emilion: une idylle indépendante de Bordeaux

en savoir plus