to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: Red finesse in Zweigelt country

With a cultivation area of just 910 hectares, stretching from Vienna’s city limits to the Slovak border, Carnuntum is one of Austria’s smallest wine regions. However, a wide diversity of red wines is cultivated here, from drinkable Zweigelt Rubin to multi-faceted Blaufränkisch from Spitzerberg to Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. Also highly interesting is the interplay between Bordeaux varieties and the native Zweigelt and Blaufränkisch cultivars.

White wines from Carnuntum

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Karpatenschiefer
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Pinot Blanc
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Pinot Blanc

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 17.–

Red wines from Carnuntum

In Stock
Blaufränkisch
Certified integrated production

Blaufränkisch

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 16.–
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Spitzerberg
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Stix
Vegan
In Stock
Rubin Carnuntum
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Rubin Carnuntum

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 21.90

Carnuntum is a small wine country with a long history: ultimately, the name derives from a large military camp in the Roman city immediately adjacent, which had their heyday in the 1st century CE. Even in ancient Carnuntum, wine was produced. The success of Carnuntum wines in the last few decades is closely linked to the Zweigelt variety, which Professor Zweigelt crossed from St Laurent and Blaufränkisch in 1922. Thanks to the warm Pannonian climate that prevails in the growing season, the variety ripens perfectly here. In contrast to the often corpulent Zweigelt wines from Lake Neusiedl, Carnuntum Zweigelt is fruity and well structured, with robust tannins and juicy acidity, making it a perfect food pairing. Rubin Carnuntum was created in 1992 as a prototype of this style, and is produced today by over 40 winemakers according to exact specifications.

Blaufränkisch makes a splash

In recent years, the Carnuntum wine country has gained new facets. Most interesting is the development of the area’s eastern extremity, almost in the commuter belt of the Slovakian capital, Bratislava. Here, in the Hundsheimer Mountains near Spitzerberg, highly independent Blaufränkisch crus with great elegance and finesse mature in soils marked by mica schist, granite gneiss, limestone and sand.

Successful assemblages

Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon can also mature perfectly in Carnuntum. Consequently, the top assemblages from certain winemakers are among the best red wines of the region, in which Bordeaux varieties join together with Zweigelt, or even Blaufränkisch.

The Carnuntum region spans three hill zones. Vines take root in soils characterized by heavy clay with varying proportions of lime and sandy-gravelly formations. Annual sunshine is high by Austrian standards, at 2,000 hours.

Subregions

Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
St-Julien
Bordeaux

St-Julien

Saint-Julien: in the heart of the Médoc

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: Rote Finesse im Zweigeltland

Mit einer Rebfläche von «nur» gerade 910 Hektar gehört Carnuntum, dass sich von der Wiener Stadtgrenze bis zur slowakischen Grenze erstreckt, zu den kleinsten Weinbaugebieten in Österreich. Gross ist aber die Vielfalt an Rotweinen die hier angebaut werden. Das Spektrum reicht vom trinkigen Zweigelt Rubin über vielschichtige Blaufränkisch vom Spitzerberg bis zu Merlot und Cabernet Sauvignon. Hoch interessant ist auch das Zusammenspiel von Bordeaux-Sorten mit den heimischen Gewächsen Zweigelt und Blaufränkisch.

Weissweine aus Carnuntum

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Karpatenschiefer
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Pinot Blanc
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Pinot Blanc

QWt Carnuntum, Weingut Trapl, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 17.–

Rotweine aus Carnuntum

In Stock
Blaufränkisch
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Spitzerberg
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Blaufränkisch Stix
Vegan
In Stock
Rubin Carnuntum
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Carnuntum ist ein kleines Weinland mit grosser Geschichte: Schliesslich geht der Name auf das grosse Legionslager und die unmittelbar daneben liegende Zivilstadt der Römer zurück, die ab dem 1. Jahrhundert nach Christus ihre Blütezeit erlebte. Und schon in diesem antiken Carnuntum wurde Weinbau betrieben. Der Erfolg der Carnuntum-Weine in den letzten Jahrzehnten hängt   eng mit der Sorte Zweigelt zusammen, die 1922 von Professor Zweigelt aus St. Laurent und Blaufränkisch gekreuzt wurde. Dank dem pannonisch warmen Klima, das in der Vegetationszeit hier vorherrscht, reift die Sorte perfekt aus. Im Gegensatz zu den oft fülligen Zweigelt-Weinen vom Neusiedlersee, zeigt sich Carnuntum-Zweigelt feinfruchtig, gut strukturiert, mit kernigem Gerbstoff und saftiger Säure. Damit ist er ein perfekter Essensbegleiter. Als Prototyp dieser Stilistik gilt der «Rubin Carnuntum», der 1992 kreiert wurde und heute von mehr als 40 Winzern nach exakten Vorgaben produziert wird.

Blaufränkisch sorgt für Furore

In dem letzten Jahren das Weinland Carnuntum neue Facetten dazugewonnen. Höchst interessant ist die Entwicklung im äussersten Osten des Gebietes, fast schon im Einzugsgebiet der slowakischen Hauptstadt Bratislava. Hier, in den Hundsheimer Bergen reifen in der Lage Spitzerberg, auf Böden die von Glimmerschiefer, Granitgneis, Kalk und Sand geprägt werden, höchst eigenständige Blaufränkisch-Crus mit grosser Eleganz und Finesse.

Gelungene Assemblagen

Auch Merlot oder Cabernet Sauvignon können in Carnuntum perfekt ausreifen. Zu den besten Rotweinen der Region gehören darum die Top-Assemblagen mancher Winzer, in denen sich Bordeaux-Sorten mit Zweigelt, oder gar Blaufränkisch vereinen.

Das Carnuntum erstreckt sich über drei Hügelzonen. Die Reben wurzeln in Böden, die von schwerem Lehm mit unterschiedlichem Kalkanteil sowie sandig-schottrigen Formationen geprägt werden. Die Jahressonnenscheindauer ist für österreichische Verhältnisse mit 2000 Stunden hoch.

Unterregionen

Chablais
Waadt

Chablais

Chablais: Zwischen Rhônetal und See

Weiterlesen
Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills: Idyllisches Wein-Hügelland

Weiterlesen
Haut-Médoc
Bordeaux

Haut-Médoc

Haut-Médoc: Bordeaux-Feeling pur

Weiterlesen