to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Beaune

Côte de Beaune: guarantor of elegance

The city of Beaune is the cultural and economic centre of Burgundy. The prestigious vineyard sites, stretching in a band from Santenay (located about 20 kilometres south of Beaune) to the village of Aloxe-Corton (five kilometres north of Beaune), form the Côte de Beaune. Legendary, uniquely expressive crus originate here. In fact, the most prestigious Chardonnay growths in the world are produced around Chassagne-Montrachet, Puligny-Montrachet and Meursault.

White wines from Côte de Beaune

In Stock
Bourgogne blanc
Only 12 Bottles
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Bourgogne blanc

AC, Domaine Leflaive, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 47.50
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Chassagne-Montrachet Chaumées
Only 12 Bottles

Red wines from Côte de Beaune

In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2011, 375 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 750 ml
CHF 48.90
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 375 ml
CHF 26.30

While the top sites of the Côte de Nuits stretch like a pearl necklace just beneath the escarpment of the central slope, the vineyards of the adjacent Côte de Beaune form a significantly broader band, extending up to two kilometres in width. The climate here is somewhat more balanced. The topography also seems more uniform at first glance. But even more astonishing is the highly individual character that wines from different sites show. The Pinot Noir crus from the adjoining villages of Volnay and Pommard demonstrate this in an absolutely exemplary fashion. While Pinots are produced from calcareous marl in Volnay that are full of finesse and are even almost delicate, those from Pommard, which are produced on limestone, tend more towards the robust, earthy and powerful. Similar terroir differences can be found in many places on the Côte de Beaune.

Chardonnays of world renown

On the Côte de Beaune, vines are generally cultivated at higher sites than on the Côte de Nuits – the highest sites here reach 400 metres, and sometimes more. This is also one reason why the Pinots from the Beaune region turn out slightly more elegant and delicate. The Côte de Beaune also possesses eight grand cru locations. Seven of them are reserved for Chardonnay, including legendary sites like Montrachet, Bâtard-Montrachet and Chevalier Montrachet. No less-known are the sites of Meursault, the best of which are classified as premier crus. The fine, stylistic differences between growths from Montrachet villages and Meursault also electrify the world. While the Chardonnay develops an admirable clarity and liveliness on the limestone soils between Chassagne- and Puligny-Montrachet, the Meursault wines from somewhat heavier soils delight with their creamy mildness.

Wine-metropolis Beaune

The sole red grand cru site in the cultivation area is Corton, located on the hill of the same name just a few kilometres north of Beaune. Here, Pinot vines are rooted in a calcareous “mother-of-pearl” sheet, with an overlay of brown earth. Corton wines are concentrated and characterized by tannin.

It was probably the Romans who founded viticulture in the Beaune region. Their legacy was maintained in subsequent times primarily by the monasteries. By the 18th century at the latest, Beaune was viewed as the wine capital of Burgundy. The yearly wine auctions by the Hospices de Beaune are legendary.

Subregions

Pauillac
Bordeaux

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristocratic crus

Read more
Untermosel
Mosel

Untermosel

Lower Mosel: the finesse of steep slopes

Read more
Pomerol
Bordeaux

Pomerol

Pomerol: the charm of Merlot

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Beaune

Côte de Beaune: un garant de l’élégance

La ville de Beaune est le centre culturel et économique de la Bourgogne. Les terroirs prestigieux s’étirent de Santenay (une vingtaine de kilomètre au sud de Beaune) à Aloxe-Corton (cinq kilomètres au nord) pour former la côte de Beaune. Des crus légendaires aux caractères individuels naissent ici, comme le chassagne-montrachet, le puligny-montrachet ou le meursault, des Chardonnay parmi les plus prestigieux au monde.

Vins blancs de Côte de Beaune

In Stock
Parker 96 Points
Bienvenues-Batard-Montrachet Grand Cru
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 91-92 Points
Bourgogne Blanc
Plus que 6 Bouteilles
In Stock
Bourgogne Blanc
Plus que 6 Bouteilles
In Stock
Bourgogne Blanc
Plus que 6 Bouteilles

Vins rouges de Côte de Beaune

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Alors que dans la côte de Nuits, les terroirs fantastiques s’enchaînent à la queue leu leu, juste en-dessous de la falaise du versant central, dans la côte de Beaune voisine, les vignobles s’étalent beaucoup plus, formant une large bande de près de deux kilomètres. Le climat y est équilibré et la topographie semble assez homogène, ce qui rend d’autant plus surprenant le caractère individuel des vins issus des différentes parcelles. Cela est particulièrement flagrant avec les crus de Pinot Noir des villages directement voisins de Volnay et de Pommard. Alors qu’à Volnay, le Pinot produit des vins tout en finesse et presque délicats sur des marnes calcaires, ceux de Pommard, par contre, mûris sur des sols calcaires, sont plutôt robustes, vigoureux et puissants. De pareilles différences de terroirs sont fréquentes sur la côte de Beaune.

Des Chardonnay de renommée mondiale

Sur la côte de Beaune, les vignobles se situent en général à des altitudes plus élevées que sur la côte de Nuits. Les parcelles les plus élevées sont à 400 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, parfois même un peu plus. C’est une autre raison pour laquelle les Pinots de la région de Beaune paraissent légèrement plus élégants et plus graciles. Il existe en côte de Beaune huit grands crus, dont sept sont réservés au Chardonnay, parmi lesquels, on trouve les légendaires montrachet, bâtard-montrachet ou chevalier-montrachet. Tout aussi connus sont les vignobles de Meursault, dont les meilleurs bénéficient de la dénomination de premier cru. D’ailleurs, les fines différences stylistiques entre les vins des villages de Meursault et de Montrachet continuent à jamais d’électriser le monde. Alors que les sols calcaires situés entre Chassagne et Puligny-Montrachet tendent à produire des Chardonnays admirablement vifs et clairs, ceux plus lourds de Meursault produisent eux des vins presque onctueux.

Beaune: une métropole du vin

Le seul vignoble de la région en grand cru, qui soit rouge, est celui de corton. Il est situé sur la colline du même nom à quelques kilomètres seulement au nord de Beaune. Les racines du Pinot s’enfoncent ici dans une plaque de «nacre» calcaire avec en surface de la terre brune. Les cortons sont considérés comme concentrés et tanniques.

Ce sont les Romains, encore une fois, qui entreprirent de cultiver la vigne dans la région de Beaune et leur héritage fut entretenu, en premier lieu, surtout par des moines. Beaune obtint son statut de capitale du vin en Bourgogne dès le 18ème siècle et aujourd’hui les enchères annuelles des Hospices de Beaune sont légendaires.

Sous-régions

Rías Baixas
Galicia

Rías Baixas

Rias Baixas: la fraîcheur de l’Atlantique

en savoir plus
Mittelburgenland
Burgenland

Mittelburgenland

Mittelburgenland: variations de Blaufränkisch

en savoir plus
Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: un soupçon de Bourgogne

en savoir plus