to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Beaune

Côte de Beaune: guarantor of elegance

The city of Beaune is the cultural and economic centre of Burgundy. The prestigious vineyard sites, stretching in a band from Santenay (located about 20 kilometres south of Beaune) to the village of Aloxe-Corton (five kilometres north of Beaune), form the Côte de Beaune. Legendary, uniquely expressive crus originate here. In fact, the most prestigious Chardonnay growths in the world are produced around Chassagne-Montrachet, Puligny-Montrachet and Meursault.

White wines from Côte de Beaune

In Stock
Bourgogne blanc
Only 12 Bottles
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Bourgogne blanc

AC, Domaine Leflaive, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 47.50
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Chassagne-Montrachet Chaumées
Only 12 Bottles

Red wines from Côte de Beaune

In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2011, 375 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 750 ml
CHF 48.90
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 375 ml
CHF 26.30

While the top sites of the Côte de Nuits stretch like a pearl necklace just beneath the escarpment of the central slope, the vineyards of the adjacent Côte de Beaune form a significantly broader band, extending up to two kilometres in width. The climate here is somewhat more balanced. The topography also seems more uniform at first glance. But even more astonishing is the highly individual character that wines from different sites show. The Pinot Noir crus from the adjoining villages of Volnay and Pommard demonstrate this in an absolutely exemplary fashion. While Pinots are produced from calcareous marl in Volnay that are full of finesse and are even almost delicate, those from Pommard, which are produced on limestone, tend more towards the robust, earthy and powerful. Similar terroir differences can be found in many places on the Côte de Beaune.

Chardonnays of world renown

On the Côte de Beaune, vines are generally cultivated at higher sites than on the Côte de Nuits – the highest sites here reach 400 metres, and sometimes more. This is also one reason why the Pinots from the Beaune region turn out slightly more elegant and delicate. The Côte de Beaune also possesses eight grand cru locations. Seven of them are reserved for Chardonnay, including legendary sites like Montrachet, Bâtard-Montrachet and Chevalier Montrachet. No less-known are the sites of Meursault, the best of which are classified as premier crus. The fine, stylistic differences between growths from Montrachet villages and Meursault also electrify the world. While the Chardonnay develops an admirable clarity and liveliness on the limestone soils between Chassagne- and Puligny-Montrachet, the Meursault wines from somewhat heavier soils delight with their creamy mildness.

Wine-metropolis Beaune

The sole red grand cru site in the cultivation area is Corton, located on the hill of the same name just a few kilometres north of Beaune. Here, Pinot vines are rooted in a calcareous “mother-of-pearl” sheet, with an overlay of brown earth. Corton wines are concentrated and characterized by tannin.

It was probably the Romans who founded viticulture in the Beaune region. Their legacy was maintained in subsequent times primarily by the monasteries. By the 18th century at the latest, Beaune was viewed as the wine capital of Burgundy. The yearly wine auctions by the Hospices de Beaune are legendary.

Subregions

Pauillac
Bordeaux

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristocratic crus

Read more
Untermosel
Mosel

Untermosel

Lower Mosel: the finesse of steep slopes

Read more
Pomerol
Bordeaux

Pomerol

Pomerol: the charm of Merlot

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Beaune

Côte de Beaune: Garant für Eleganz

Die Stadt Beaune ist das kulturelle und wirtschaftliche Zentrum des Burgunds. Die prestigeträchtigen Weinbergslagen die die sich hier einem Band gleich von Santenay (rund 20 Kilometer südlich von Beaune gelegen) bis zum Dorf Aloxe-Corton (fünf Kilometer nördlich von Beaune) ziehen, bilden zusammen die Côte de Beaune. Hier entstehen legendäre Crus mit individuellem Ausdruck. So reifen etwa in Chassagne-Montrachet, Puligny-Montrachet und Meursault die prestigeträchtigsten Chardonnay-Gewächse der Welt.

Weissweine aus Côte de Beaune

In Stock
Bourgogne blanc
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Bourgogne blanc

AC, Domaine Leflaive, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 47.50
In Stock
In Stock
Chassagne-Montrachet Chaumées
Nur noch 12 Flaschen
In Stock

Rotweine aus Côte de Beaune

In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 375 ml
CHF 26.30
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2012, 750 ml
CHF 48.90
In Stock

Aloxe-Corton

AC, Tollot-Beaut, 2011, 375 ml
CHF 25.50

Während sich die Toplagen an der Côte de Nuits einer Perlenkette gleich unterhalb der Abbruchkante des zentralen Hanges entlang ziehen, so bilden die Rebberge der anschliessenden Côte de Beaune ein wesentlich breiteres, sich bis zu zwei Kilometer ausdehnendes, Band. Das Klima ist hier etwas ausgeglichener und auch die Topographie wirkt auf den ersten Blick einheitlicher, umso erstaunlicher ist der höchst individuelle Charakter, den die Weine aus den verschiedenen Lagen zeigen. Geradezu exemplarisch zeigt sich dies bei den Pinot Noir-Crus an den direkt nebeneinander liegenden Dörfern Volnay und Pommard. Während in Volnay auf kalkhaltigem Mergel überaus finessenreiche, ja fast zarte Pinots reifen, zeigen sich jene aus Pommard, die auf Kalkstein reifen, eher robust, kernig und kräftig. Ähnliche Terroirunterschiede finden sich vielerort an der Côte de Beaune.

Chardonnays von Weltruf

An der Côte de Beaune reifen die Weine generell in höheren Lagen als an der Côte de Nuits, die höchsten Lagen erreichen hier 400 Meter und manchmal auch mehr. Auch dies ist ein Grund, warum die Pinots aus der Region Beaune eine Spur eleganter und feingliedriger ausfallen. Die Côte de Beaune besitzt acht Grand Cru-Lagen. Sieben davon sind dem Chadonnay vorbehalten, darunter befinden sich legendäre Lagen wie Montrachet, Bâtard-Montrachet oder Chevalier Montrachet. Nicht weniger bekannt sind die Lagen von Meursault, von denen die besten als Premiers Crus eingestuft sind. Auch die feinen, stilistischen Unterschiede zwischen den Gewächsen aus den Montrachet-Dörfern und Meursault elektrisieren die Weinwelt. Denn während auf den kalksteinhaltigen Böden zwischen Chassagne- und Puligny-Montrachet der Chardonnay eine bewunderswerte Klarheit und Lebendigkeit entwickelt, begeistern die Meursault-Weine, die auf etwas schwereren Böden reifen, mit ihrer crèmigen Milde.

Wein-Metropole Beaune

Die einzige rote Grand Cru-Lage des Anbaugebietes ist Corton, am gleichnamigen Hügel nur wenige Kilometer nördlich von Beaune, gelegen. Hier wurzeln die Pinot-Stöcke in einer kalkhaltigen «Perlmuttplatte» mit einer Auflage aus brauner Erde. Die Corton-Weine gelten als konzentriert und vom Gerbstoff geprägt.

Es waren wohl die Römer, die in der Region von Beaune den Weinbau begründet haben. Ihr Erbe wurde in der Folgezeit vor allem von den Klöster gepflegt. Spätestens ab dem 18. Jahrhundert gilt Beaune als die Weinhauptstadt des Burgund. Legendär sind die jährlichen Wein-Versteigerungen des Hospices de Beaune.

Unterregionen

Péssac-Léognan
Bordeaux

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: Topcrus aus der Vorstadt

Weiterlesen
Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills: Idyllisches Wein-Hügelland

Weiterlesen
Mâconnais
Bourgogne

Mâconnais

Mâconnais: Das Chardonnay-Land

Weiterlesen