to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

The Coteaux du Libron designation of origin is named after the eponymous river, which rises in the south of Languedoc in the foothills of the Cévennes, flowing into the Mediterranean 44 kilometres later. Today, the majority of wines that come onto the market under the Coteaux du Libron designation are from international varieties like Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay, and are distinguished by their strong relationship between quality and price.

The Coteaux du Libron cultivation area is located in the Département Hérault, in the hilly hinterland of the coast. Limestone cliffs, ravines and the typical garrigue-scrub landscape dominate the land. Farmers here traditionally hail from agriculture and livestock farming. Only after the expansion of railways and the commercial port in the nearby city of Sète did the area become a point of interest for viticulture..

Terroir from marl and sand

The climate is influenced by the Mediterranean; precipitation, at around 400 to 600 millimetres per year per square metre, is low. Cool wind flows from the northwest, however. These provide consistent cooling during the growing season, which promotes the development of aromas in the grapes. As the Coteaux du Libron is located in the transition area between the hills and the coastal plain, soil conditions vary. In the north, the soils consist of marl and sediments from the Tertiary period; however, in the southern area, near the coast, alluvial soils with a high proportion of sand dominate.

Great diversity of varieties

The region was once considered a source of simple everyday wines, but quality has improved significantly in the last 30 years through investment in cultivation and vinification. In 1982, the growing area was recognized as Vin de Pays. Later, this designation was changed to the Coteaux du Libron IGP (Indication géographique protégée), to which 17 villages belong today. 15 individual wine producers and five cooperatives in the designation of origin bottle around 20,000 hectolitres of wine each year. Both long-established and newly introduced grape varieties are authorized for the designation of origin. Wines from Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc are particularly impressive thanks to their Mediterranean charm, wholesome freshness and a strong relationship between price and quality.

Subregions

Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanish temperament in a glass

Read more
Schaffhausen
Ostschweiz

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: the elegance of the north

Read more
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: le charme du sud dans le verre

L’appellation Ccoteaux-du-libron provient du fleuve du même nom, qui prend sa source dans les Cévennes, et se déverse 44 kilomètres plus loin dans la Méditerranée. De nos jours, la majorité des vins de la région provient de cépages internationaux comme la Syrah, le Cabernet Sauvignon ou le Chardonnay. Ces vins se distinguent souvent pour leur excellent rapport qualité-prix.

Vins rouges de Coteaux du Libron

In Vino Erotico rouge
Plus que 6 Bouteilles
Végan

La zone de production des coteaux-du-libron se situe dans le département de l’Hérault dans l’arrière-pays vallonné de la côte. Des roches calcaires, des gorges et la garrigue si typique du sud forment le paysage. Traditionnellement, les paysans vivaient ici de l’agriculture et de l’élevage, mais grâce au développement du système ferroviaire et du port marchand de Sète, la région devint plus intéressante pour la viticulture.

Un terroir de marne et de sable

Le climat est méditerranéen avec des précipitations annuelles d’environ 400 à 600 millimètres au mètre carré. Des vents venus du nord-ouest permettent de rafraîchir l’air pendant toute la période de végétation, un avantage certain pour le développement aromatique du raisin. Les coteaux-du-libron étant dans la zone de transition entre la côte et les collines de l’arrière-pays, la composition des sols en varie grandement. Au nord, les sols se composent de marne et de sédiments de l’ère tertiaire, alors qu’au sud, avec la proximité de la côte, ce sont des terrains alluviaux à grande concentration sableuse.

Une grande diversité de cépages

Cette zone a longtemps été l’origine de simples vins de table, mais au cours des trente dernières années, les investissements, l’arrachage et le replantage de vignes ont considérablement amélioré la qualité des produits. La zone reçut en 1982 la dénomination de vin de pays, plus tard, celle de coteaux-du-libron IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée), à laquelle appartiennent aujourd’hui 17 villages. Il existe pour l’instant 15 producteurs indépendants et 5 coopératives qui produisent quelques 20'000 hectolitres de vin de cette IGP.  Elle autorise autant les cépages traditionnels que ceux plus récemment importés comme le Merlot, le Cabernet Sauvignon, la Syrah, le Chardonnay ou le Sauvignon Blanc. Tous produisent des vins convaincants au charme méditerranéen et à la fraîcheur agréable, mais aussi et surtout, à l’excellent rapport qualité-prix.

  • Coteaux du Libron L

Sous-régions

Péssac-Léognan
Bordeaux

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: cru fantastique des faubourgs

en savoir plus
Carnuntum
Niederösterreich

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: finesse du rouge au pays du Zweigelt

en savoir plus
Thurgau
Ostschweiz

Thurgau

Thurgovie: un petit canton monte sur scène

en savoir plus