to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

The Coteaux du Libron designation of origin is named after the eponymous river, which rises in the south of Languedoc in the foothills of the Cévennes, flowing into the Mediterranean 44 kilometres later. Today, the majority of wines that come onto the market under the Coteaux du Libron designation are from international varieties like Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay, and are distinguished by their strong relationship between quality and price.

The Coteaux du Libron cultivation area is located in the Département Hérault, in the hilly hinterland of the coast. Limestone cliffs, ravines and the typical garrigue-scrub landscape dominate the land. Farmers here traditionally hail from agriculture and livestock farming. Only after the expansion of railways and the commercial port in the nearby city of Sète did the area become a point of interest for viticulture..

Terroir from marl and sand

The climate is influenced by the Mediterranean; precipitation, at around 400 to 600 millimetres per year per square metre, is low. Cool wind flows from the northwest, however. These provide consistent cooling during the growing season, which promotes the development of aromas in the grapes. As the Coteaux du Libron is located in the transition area between the hills and the coastal plain, soil conditions vary. In the north, the soils consist of marl and sediments from the Tertiary period; however, in the southern area, near the coast, alluvial soils with a high proportion of sand dominate.

Great diversity of varieties

The region was once considered a source of simple everyday wines, but quality has improved significantly in the last 30 years through investment in cultivation and vinification. In 1982, the growing area was recognized as Vin de Pays. Later, this designation was changed to the Coteaux du Libron IGP (Indication géographique protégée), to which 17 villages belong today. 15 individual wine producers and five cooperatives in the designation of origin bottle around 20,000 hectolitres of wine each year. Both long-established and newly introduced grape varieties are authorized for the designation of origin. Wines from Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc are particularly impressive thanks to their Mediterranean charm, wholesome freshness and a strong relationship between price and quality.

Subregions

Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanish temperament in a glass

Read more
Schaffhausen
Ostschweiz

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: the elegance of the north

Read more
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: Südlicher Charme im Glas

Die Ursprungsbezeichnung Coteaux du Libron ist nach dem gleichnamigen Fluss benannt, der im südlichen Languedoc in den Ausläufern der Cevennen entspringt und nach 44 Kilometern ins Mittelmeer mündet. Unter der Bezeichnung Coteaux du Libron kommen heute mehrheitlich Weine aus internationalen Sorten wie Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon oder Chardonnay auf den Markt, die sich mit ihrem guten Verhältnis zwischen Qualität und Preis auszeichnen.

Das Anbaugebiet Coteaux du Libron befindet sich im Département Hérault im hügeligen Hinterland der Küste. Kalkstein-Felsen, Schluchten und die typische Garrique-Strauchlandschaft prägen das Land. Traditionell lebten die Bauern hier vor allem von Ackerbau und Viehzucht. Erst durch den Ausbau der Eisenbahn und den Handelshafen der nahegelegenen Stadt Sète wurde das Gebiet vermehrt für den Weinanbau interessant.

Terroir aus Mergel und Sand

Das Klima ist hier mediterran geprägt, die Niederschläge sind mit rund 400 bis 600 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter gering. Kühle Windströme aus dem Nordwesten sorgen aber in der Vegetationszeit immer wieder für Abkühlung, was die Aromenbildung der Trauben begünstigt. Da sich das Coteaux du Libron im Übergang zwischen dem Hügelland und der Küstenebene befindet, sich die Bodenverhältnisse unterschiedlich. Im Norden bestehen die Böden aus Mergel und Sedimenten aus dem Tertiär, im südlichen, schon nahe der Küste gelegenen Teil herrschen dagegen Schwemmlandböden mit einem hohen Sandanteil vor.

Grosse Sortenvielfalt

Das Gebiet galt früher als ein Reservoir für einfache Alltagsweine, in den letzten 30 Jahren wurde aber die Qualität durch Investitionen im An- und Ausbau signifikant verbessert. 1982 wurde das Anbaugebiet als Vin de Pays anerkannt, später wurde diese Bezeichnung in Coteaux du Libron IGP (Indication géographique protégée) umgewandelt, zu der heute 17 Dörfer gehören. 15 Selbstkelterer und fünf Genossenschaften füllen unter der Ursprungsbezeichnung jährlich rund 20‘000 Hektoliter Wein ab. Für die Ursprungsbzeichnung sind sowohl alteingesessene, sowie neu eingeführte Traubensorten zugelassen. Vor allem Weine aus Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Chardonnay und Sauvignon Blanc überzeugen nicht nur mit mediterranem Charme und bekömmlicher Frische, sondern mit ihrem guten Verhältnis zwischen Preis und Qualität.

Rotweine aus Coteaux du Libron

In Vino Erotico rouge
Nur noch 12 Flaschen
Vegan

Unterregionen

Graubünden
Ostschweiz

Graubünden

Graubünden: Mekka für Burgundersorten

Weiterlesen
Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills: Idyllisches Wein-Hügelland

Weiterlesen
Péssac-Léognan
Bordeaux

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: Topcrus aus der Vorstadt

Weiterlesen