to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Gut Oggau

What’s the secret of the wines of Austria's Gut Oggau?

 

Gut Oggau wines are among the best organic wines in Austria, and are produced by Eduard Tscheppe and his wife Stephanie Tscheppe Eselböck on the shores of Lake Neusiedl in Burgenland.

Before Eduard founded the winery, he produced conventional wine with his father in Styria, while Stephanie’s family owned and operated the Michelin-star restaurant & hotel Taubenkobel. They restored the 17th century winery, which had been abandoned for many years. When the restoration was completed in 2007 they started with nine hectares. Today, almost 15 years later, they own 15 hectares and are Demeter certified. The previous owner of the winery was a 92-year-old woman with no children. She hadn’t tended the vineyards for several years. That was an exciting challenge for the young couple. Fortunately, there had been a gap of several years between owners, so the soils had a chance to recover from the chemicals that had been used previously. It was important to Stephanie and Eduard not to change the vineyard, and instead they embraced its natural potential. From the very beginning their approach has been to work with nature and to handle the soil and the vines with great care with the focus on sustainability. They were amazed at just how much character the barrels revealed in the very first vintage; each wine seemed so alive, shining bright with its own personality – and thus the Gut Oggau family was born.

White wines from Gut Oggau

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Rosé wines from Gut Oggau

In Stock

Red wines from Gut Oggau

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

from Gut Oggau

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

The couple realised that the unique environment required careful cultivation and therefore focused on producing high-quality wines from grapes that they processed as gently as possible. The result? Their wines are among the most sought-after in Austria. These organic wines are a family in the truest sense of the word.

 

The label of each bottle features a hand-drawn black-and-white portrait of a fictional family member, one of three generations. The younger generation was planted on the gravel soils, which give the wine a more lively, youthful character. In contrast, the older generations come from vines planted on the limestone and slate soils of the slopes above the village, which give the wines a mature, ‘grown-up’ personality. The back labels explain the imaginary personality of each wine. You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but should you judge a wine by its label? Not really! However, the Gut Oggau family members may well be the exception to the rule! For instance, we learn that Mechthild (a white wine and the grandmother) is the “kind-hearted grandmother” who evokes feelings of nostalgia. She is trustworthy, but can also be mysterious and tends to polarise opinions. Atanasius (a red wine, grandson and “a handsome young man”) is known for his exceptional good looks and easy-going manner. Emmeram (a Gewürztraminer), is convinced that Theodora (white), the daughter of Wiltrude (a daughter-in-law and sweet white), is actually his. Whether it's the energetic and spirited children Atanasius, Theodora and Winifred, the more seasoned parents Joschuari, Emmeram, Timotheus and Josephine or the somewhat more traditional grandparents Mechthild and Bertholdi – getting to know this fascinating family is a real feast for the palate!

Producer

Susana Balbo Wines

Susana Balbo Wines

The mighty Aconcagua watches over the plain of Mendoza, 1000 kilometres from Argentina’s capital Buenos Aires. A barren, semi-arid land where Jesuits and Franciscans, after the Spanish conquest in the 16th century, discovered favourable natural conditions for viticulture.

Read more
Cantina Colterenzio

Cantina Colterenzio

The vineyards of the village of Schreckbichl, or Colterenzio in Italian, near Girlan are among the oldest vineyards in Europe. The origin lies in the Roman estate Cornelianum of a Roman named Cornelius. From this, almost 1000 years later, the present name Girlan or Coriano developed.

Read more
Dominio de Pingus

Dominio de Pingus

The first Pingus was bottled in 1995. This limited production wine from Ribera del Duero made history with a legendary rating from Robert Parker Junior (1998): "One of the greatest young red wines I have ever tasted." The vintage is also at the centre of a somewhat mythical-sounding story – the freighter carrying a quarter of the limited production sank off the Azores, with the wine ending up in Davy Jones's locker at the bottom of the sea.

 

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Gut Oggau

Quel est le secret des vins du domaine Gut Oggau en Autriche ?

 

Les vins du domaine Gut Oggau comptent parmi les meilleurs vins naturels d'Autriche et sont produits par Eduard Tscheppe et son épouse Stephanie Tscheppe Eselböck, au bord du lac de Neusiedl dans le Burgenland.

Avant de fonder le domaine viticole, Eduard produisait du vin traditionnel avec son père en Styrie, tandis que la famille de Stephanie exploitait son restaurant hôtel-restaurant Taubenkobel, récompensé par une étoile au Michelin. Ils ont restauré le domaine viticole du 17è siècle qui était abandonné depuis de nombreuses années. En 2007, à la fin de la restauration, ils ont commencé avec neuf hectares. Aujourd'hui, presque 15 ans plus tard, ils possèdent 15 hectares et sont certifiés Demeter. L’ancienne propriétaire de leur domaine était une femme de 92 ans, sans enfant. Elle ne s’occupait plus des vignes depuis quelques années. Pour le jeune couple, c'était extrêmement passionnant. Heureusement, il y a eu des années de pause entre les différents propriétaires, de sorte que les sols ont eu la chance de pouvoir se purifier des produits chimiques précédemment utilisés. L’important pour Stephanie et Edouard était de ne pas transformer le vignoble, mais d'utiliser son potentiel naturel. Dès le début, leur démarche a été de travailler avec la nature, et de traiter le sol et la vigne avec soin et de manière durable. Ils furent étonnés de voir le caractère du vin sortant des fûts dès la première récolte ; chaque vin semblait si vivant, rayonnait de sa propre personnalité - et c’est ainsi que naquit la famille Gut Oggau.

Vins blancs de Gut Oggau

Vins rosés de Gut Oggau

Vins rouges de Gut Oggau

de Gut Oggau

Le couple s'est vite rendu compte que cet environnement unique nécessitait un traitement minutieux et il s'est donc concentré sur la production de vins de haute qualité, à partir de raisins vinifiés le plus soigneusement possible. Le résultat? Leurs vins comptent désormais parmi les plus recherchés d’Autriche. Ces vins naturels sont une famille, au sens propre du terme.

 

Sur l’étiquette de chaque bouteille, on peut voir un portrait en noir et blanc d’un membre fictif de la famille, issu de l'une des trois générations. La nouvelle génération a été plantée sur des sols de gravier, qui confèrent au vin davantage de vivacité et de jeunesse. En revanche, les générations plus anciennes proviennent de vignes plantées sur les coteaux de calcaire et d'ardoise qui surplombent le village; ils confèrent aux vins une certaine maturité, une personnalité «adulte». Les étiquettes au verso expliquent la personnalité imaginaire du vin, sous la forme d'une personne. Il ne faut pas juger un livre à sa couverture, mais peut-on juger un vin à son étiquette? Pas vraiment! Cependant, les membres de la famille du domaine Gut Oggau se rapprochent beaucoup de cette affirmation! C’est ainsi que l’on apprend que le Mechthild par ex. (un vin blanc et la grand-mère) est la «grand-mère au grand cœur» qui suscite des sentiments de nostalgie. Elle est digne de confiance, mais peut aussi être mystérieuse et polariser l'opinion. Atanasius (un vin rouge, petit-fils et «jeune homme séduisant») est réputé pour son aspect extraordinairement beau et sa nature décontractée. Emmeram  (un Gewürztraminer) est persuadé que la fille de Wiltrude (une belle-fille et un blanc doux), Theodora (blanc), est en fait la sienne. Que ce soit Atanasius, Theodora et Winifred, les enfants impertinents et pleins d'énergie, Joschuari, Emmeram, Timotheus et Josephine, les parents un peu plus puissants, ou bien Mechtild und Bertholdi, les grands-parents un peu traditionnels - découvrir cette famille fascinante est un pur délice pour le palais!

Producteur

Son Mayol

Son Mayol

Cette nouvelle bodega, qui – nous en sommes convaincus – deviendra rapidement une référence à Majorque, est située non loin de la ville dynamique de Palma.

en savoir plus
Weingut Salzl

Weingut Salzl

Le vignoble autrichien de Salzl Seewinkelhof se trouve à Illmitz, au milieu des lacs et des plaines pittoresques du parc national de Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel dans le Burgenland. Situé à une bonne heure de voiture de Vienne, ce domaine viticole familial propose en annexe une confortable pension 4 étoiles avec piscine.

en savoir plus
Sette Cieli

Sette Cieli

Il n'est pas facile d'arriver au septième ciel. Et il est vrai que le chemin qui mène au domaine Sette Cieli est semé de quelques embûches. Après s'être trompé de route et avoir fait maints détours (Google Maps n'a pas le septième ciel dans son radar), l'on arrive enfin dans le paradis viticole de la famille Ratti.

en savoir plus