to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mittelrhein

Mittelrhein: small but fine

With a vineyard area of around 450 hectares, the Mittelrhein (or Middle Rhine) growing region is one of Germany’s smallest. It is bordered to the south by the Rheingau, following the Rhine’s course northward to Königswinter near Bonn, which is the northernmost winegrowing village on the Rhine. In the steep sites along the river, which are still cultivated delicately by hand, the leading variety, Riesling, develops across its entire spectrum, from dry to noble sweet.

Sparkling wines from Mittelrhein

In Stock
Bacharacher Riesling Sekt brut
Vegan

White wines from Mittelrhein

In Stock
Bacharacher Riesling Kabinett feinherb
Vegan
In Stock
Bacharacher Wolfshöhle (Spätlese)
Vegan
In Stock
Bacharacher Wolfshöhle Grosses Gewächs
Vegan
In Stock
Bacharacher Wolfshöhle Grosses Gewächs
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan

Sweet wines from Mittelrhein

In Stock
Bacharacher Wolfshöhle Auslese Riesling
Vegan

It is only in Rüdesheim, where the Rheingau ends and the Mittelrhein growing area begins, that the spectacularly narrow Rhine valley develops the dramatic scenery that inspired poets like Ludwig Achim von Arnim and Clemens Brentano, who are among the most important figures of the German Romantic period. Even today, the Lorelei – a 132-meter rock, atop which the famous mermaid statue is perched – is one of the top tourist attractions on the Rhine. The Lorelei rock consists of the same pure slate that decisively shapes the terroir of the vineyards.

Once as expensive as Bordeaux

Viticulture has been carried out on the Middle Rhine since as early as the seventh century. This is confirmed by royal documents from the Merovingian period. By the 11th century, when more of the steep slopes were cultivated, wine from Mittelrhein had made an international career. Growths from Bacharach, then an internationally recognized hub for wine, appear on price lists from the 18th century as expensive as Bordeaux growths. Due to the laborious management of vineyards in steep slopes, the cultivation area in Mittelrhein has decreased over the last 20 years from 700 to 450 hectares. Nonetheless, a dedicated generation of top winemakers produce quality wines from the Riesling growths typical of the area, which consequently are among the best in Germany.

Marked by slate

The vineyards of Mittelrhein stretch across a distance of approximately 100 kilometres like a necklace along the Rhine, ranging from Bingen to Seven Hills (Siebengebirge). The terroir is generally characterized by weathered slate and greywacke, punctuated by discrete islands of loess. In the north, there are also sites with soils of volcanic origin. Riesling, which is easily the leading variety here, demonstrates its mineral finesse, particularly when grown from slate. The climate is temperate and rainfall is quite low, at less than 600 millimetres per year per square metre. Among the best and most well-known locations in Mittelrhein are the Bacharacher Hahn, the Bopparder Hamm and the Oberwesler Ölsberg.

Regions

Bordeaux
France

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: high prestige, high quality

Read more
Mosel
Germany

Mosel

Mosel: in Riesling territory

Read more
Loire
France

Loire

Loire: the regal wine river

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mittelrhein

Rhin moyen: petit mais raffiné

Avec une surface de seulement 450 hectares, la région viticole du Rhin moyen fait partie des plus petites d’Allemagne. Elle fait frontière au sud avec le Rheingau et se poursuit vers le nord le long du fleuve jusqu’à Königswinter, près de Bonn, village viticole sur le Rhin le plus septentrional. Sur les coteaux très pentus le long du fleuve, le Riesling se décline de sec à liquoreux, toujours cultivé à la main avec beaucoup de difficultés.

Vins pétillants de Mittelrhein

Bacharacher Riesling Sekt brut
Plus que 12 Bouteilles
Végan

Vins blancs de Mittelrhein

Vins doux de Mittelrhein

Ce n’est pas avant Rüdesheim, où le Rheingau finit et le Rhin moyen commence, que la vallée du Rhin se rétrécit de façon spectaculaire. Cet aspect dramatique a inspiré des poètes comme Achim von Arnim ou Clemens Brentano dans leurs œuvres littéraires qui figurent parmi les plus importants de l’époque du romantisme allemand. Encore aujourd’hui, la célèbre statue d’une nixe qui trône sur le rocher de Loreley haut de 132 mètres, fait partie des attractions touristiques les plus populaires le long du Rhin. Le rocher de Loreley est formé exclusivement de schiste, roche très présente aussi dans les sols viticoles de la région.

Jadis aussi cher que le bordeaux

Dans le Rhin moyen, la vigne a été cultivée dès le 7ème siècle; des documents officiels datant des Mérovingiens en attestent. Plus tard, au 11ème siècle, de plus en plus de coteaux pentus furent exploités et les vins du Rhin moyen obtinrent une renommée internationale. Sur des listes de prix du 18ème siècle, des plants de Bacharach, à l’époque un lieu de transbordement de vin internationalement connu, se négociaient au même prix que ceux issus du bordelais. Mais à cause de la difficulté à cultiver la vigne dans les pentes impossibles du Rhin moyen, la surface des vignobles est passée durant les vingt dernières années de 700 à 450 hectares. Au niveau qualitatif par contre, une génération engagée d’excellents vignerons y produisent aujourd’hui des rieslings typiques de la région qui sont parmi les meilleurs en Allemagne.

Influencés par le schiste

Les vignobles du Rhin moyen se succèdent le long du fleuve sur une distance d’environ 100 km, de Bingen aux Siebengebirge. Les sols se composent en règle générale de schiste et de grauwacke érodée, interrompus par des îlots de lœss. Au nord, on trouve aussi des terrains aux sols volcaniques. Cependant c’est sur des sols schisteux que le Riesling, qui est le cépage dominant ici, développe au mieux sa finesse minérale. Le climat est tempéré et les précipitations relativement faibles avec seulement 600 mm/m2/an. Parmi les vignobles les plus connus et les meilleurs du le Rhin moyen, on retrouve le Bacharcher Hahn, le Bopparder Hamm et le Oberweseler Ölsberg.

Régions

Alsace
France

Alsace

Alsace: diversités des blancs

en savoir plus
Armagnac
France

Armagnac

Armagnac: haute teneur en alcool, -excellente qualité, authentique

en savoir plus
Loire
France

Loire

La Loire: le fleuve des rois

en savoir plus