to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Portugal

Portugal – Much more than port

Situated on the southwestern tip of Europe, this country is, despite its small size, blessed with a multitude of landscapes. Austere mountains alternate with green valleys and golden beaches. Vines have thrived against this backdrop for over 4,000 years, brought to the peninsula by Phoenicians, Greeks, and Romans.

Portugal has over 500 autochthonous varieties. The term derives from ancient Greek, and means roughly “of the land itself.”

White wines from Portugal

In Stock
In Stock

Crazy Hatter White wine 2019

Dão DOC, Niepoort, 750 ml
In Stock

Crazy Hatter White wine 2020

DOC Alentejo, Niepoort, 750 ml
In Stock

Encruzado Barrique 2018

DOC Dao, Quinta dos Roques, 750 ml

Red wines from Portugal

In Stock
Parker 92-94 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2017

Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2017

DOC Douro, 750 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa red wine 2011

DOC Douro, 18000 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2016

DOC Douro, 18000 ml

South wines from Portugal

In Stock
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Finest Reserve Port

DO Douro, 500 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014

Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014

DO Douro, 750 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Tawny 10 years old

DO Douro, 500 ml

Wine has been grown in Portugal since antiquity. Finding its way to Portugal in the second century CE, Christianity was overjoyed by Portuguese wines, integrating them quickly into its ceremonies. Viticulture stagnated, however, under Moorish rule, which lasted from the 8th to the 12th century.

The most famous wines

After Portugal gained independence in 1143, lively trade with England developed. Wine was sent to the kingdom by the barrel. Port wine had not yet been invented, coming first into fashion in 1678. A Liverpool wine merchant sent his two sons to Portugal to search for a mysterious spiritual person in the Alto Douro region who added Brandy to the local red wine during fermentation, resulting in a sweet wine that was high in alcohol. The English were very amused by this.

Today, the Alto Douro region is a UNESCO world heritage site. In fact, it’s the oldest protected wine growing region in the world. The more southerly region of Alentejo, with its plains that stretch as far as the eye can see, has also been declared a UNESCO world heritage site.

A small country of great contrasts

Portuguese wine growing is characterized by contrasts. The interior of the country produces mostly heavy, tannic red wines and port. In the cool, Atlantic climate of the north, however, you will find mainly white, light and crisp wines.

But it’s pointless to compare wine regions. They are all unique. And the number of top producers is only increasing across the entire country.

The economic factor

Wine provides jobs for 15% of the Portuguese population, and exports provide around 650 million euro a year. The trend is growing, as Portugal's former colonies, including Angola, Macau, and Brazil, are demonstrating increased interest in the drink.

Cork is also an important export. Portugal is responsible for around 75 percent of global annual production, so there’s a piece of Portugal in almost every bottle.

Country

Germany

Germany

Germany – Into the elite the hard way

Read more
Australia

Australia

Australia – A rapid rise to the international elite.

Read more
Austria

Austria

Austria – Sumptuous culture, accessible to all

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Portugal

Le Portugal – bien plus que le porto

Ce pays à l’extrémité sud-ouest de l’Europe est, malgré sa petite taille, béni d’une grande diversité de paysages : de montagnes austères aux vallées vertes en passant par des plages de sable fin. Dans ce décor, les vignes poussent depuis plus de 4 000 ans, importées sur la péninsule par les Phéniciens, les Grecs et les Romains.

Le Portugal est à l’origine de plus de 500 cépages autochtones, «autochtone» provenant du grec ancien et signifiant «venu de cette terre».

Vins blancs de Portugal

Vins rouges de Portugal

In Stock
Parker 92-94 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2017
In Stock
In Stock

Vins du sud de Portugal

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014

La viticulture existe au Portugal depuis l’antiquité. Le christianisme, qui prit pied au Portugal dès le 2ème siècle après J.C., montra un grand engouement pour les vins portugais et ils furent rapidement utilisés dans les cérémonies. Cependant, la viticulture vécut une stagnation pendant la domination des Maures du 8ème au 12ème siècle.

Les vins les plus célèbres

Après l’indépendance du Portugal en 1143, une dynamisation du commerce avec la Grande-Bretagne eut lieu et le vin y fut expédier par barriques. Le porto n’était, à l’époque, pas encore d’actualité puisque il ne devint à la mode qu’en 1678, date à laquelle un négociant en vins de Liverpool chargea ses deux fils de trouver un mystérieux ecclésiastique de la région du Alto Douro. Celui-ci ajoutait du brandy au vin rouge, interrompant ainsi la fermentation, et obtenait un vin doux fort en alcool que les Anglais trouvaient «very amusing».

Depuis, l’Alto Douro appartient maintenant au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, devenant ainsi la plus ancienne région viticole protégée au monde. Plus au sud, la région de l’Alentejo, avec ses plaines à perte de vue, a plus tard également été classé.

Le petit pays aux grandes contradictions

La viticulture portugaise est marquée par les contradictions. L’intérieur des terres produit surtout des vins rouges puissants et tanniques ainsi que des portos. Soumis au climat frais de l’Atlantique, le Nord produit plutôt des vins blancs légers et croquants.

Mais comparer les régions viticoles ne sert à rien : elles sont toutes uniques et accueillent de plus en plus de grands producteurs.

Le vin comme facteur économique

Le vin assure un emploi à 15% de la population portugaise et grâce aux exportations, ce sont près de 650 millions d’euros qui rentrent dans les caisses. La tendance est à la hausse puisque d’anciennes colonies portugaises comme l’Angola, Macao et le Brésil montrent de plus en plus d’intérêt pour le jus de raisin fermenté.

Autre produit important d’exportation : le bouchon. Le Portugal se distingue, représentant près de 75% de la production mondiale annuelle. Une petite part de Portugal se cache ainsi dans presque toutes les bouteilles.

Pays

Autriche

Autriche

L’Autriche – une culture précieuse, accessible à tous

en savoir plus
France

France

La France – de la philosophie en bouteilles

en savoir plus
Écosse

Écosse

L’écosse – histoire folle, whisky bienfaisant

en savoir plus