to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Portugal

Portugal – Much more than port

Situated on the southwestern tip of Europe, this country is, despite its small size, blessed with a multitude of landscapes. Austere mountains alternate with green valleys and golden beaches. Vines have thrived against this backdrop for over 4,000 years, brought to the peninsula by Phoenicians, Greeks, and Romans.

Portugal has over 500 autochthonous varieties. The term derives from ancient Greek, and means roughly “of the land itself.”

White wines from Portugal

In Stock
In Stock

Crazy Hatter White wine 2019

Dão DOC, Niepoort, 750 ml
In Stock

Crazy Hatter White wine 2020

DOC Alentejo, Niepoort, 750 ml
In Stock

Encruzado Barrique 2018

DOC Dao, Quinta dos Roques, 750 ml

Red wines from Portugal

In Stock
Parker 92-94 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2017

Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2017

DOC Douro, 750 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa red wine 2011

DOC Douro, 18000 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Reserva 2016

DOC Douro, 18000 ml

South wines from Portugal

In Stock
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Finest Reserve Port

DO Douro, 500 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014

Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014

DO Douro, 750 ml
In Stock

Quinta de la Rosa Tawny 10 years old

DO Douro, 500 ml

Wine has been grown in Portugal since antiquity. Finding its way to Portugal in the second century CE, Christianity was overjoyed by Portuguese wines, integrating them quickly into its ceremonies. Viticulture stagnated, however, under Moorish rule, which lasted from the 8th to the 12th century.

The most famous wines

After Portugal gained independence in 1143, lively trade with England developed. Wine was sent to the kingdom by the barrel. Port wine had not yet been invented, coming first into fashion in 1678. A Liverpool wine merchant sent his two sons to Portugal to search for a mysterious spiritual person in the Alto Douro region who added Brandy to the local red wine during fermentation, resulting in a sweet wine that was high in alcohol. The English were very amused by this.

Today, the Alto Douro region is a UNESCO world heritage site. In fact, it’s the oldest protected wine growing region in the world. The more southerly region of Alentejo, with its plains that stretch as far as the eye can see, has also been declared a UNESCO world heritage site.

A small country of great contrasts

Portuguese wine growing is characterized by contrasts. The interior of the country produces mostly heavy, tannic red wines and port. In the cool, Atlantic climate of the north, however, you will find mainly white, light and crisp wines.

But it’s pointless to compare wine regions. They are all unique. And the number of top producers is only increasing across the entire country.

The economic factor

Wine provides jobs for 15% of the Portuguese population, and exports provide around 650 million euro a year. The trend is growing, as Portugal's former colonies, including Angola, Macau, and Brazil, are demonstrating increased interest in the drink.

Cork is also an important export. Portugal is responsible for around 75 percent of global annual production, so there’s a piece of Portugal in almost every bottle.

Country

Germany

Germany

Germany – Into the elite the hard way

Read more
Australia

Australia

Australia – A rapid rise to the international elite.

Read more
Austria

Austria

Austria – Sumptuous culture, accessible to all

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Portugal

Portugal – viel mehr als Port

Dieses am südwestlichen Zipfel Europas gelegene Land ist trotz seiner kleinen Grösse mit einer Vielfalt von Landschaften gesegnet – karge Berge wechseln sich mit grünen Tälern und goldenen Stränden ab. In dieser Szenerie gedeihen schon seit über 4000 Jahren Reben, welche von Phöniziern, Griechen und Römern auf die Halbinsel gebracht wurden.

Portugal besitzt über 500 autochthone Rebsorten. Autochthon ist altgriechisch und bedeutet so viel wie „aus dieser Erde“.

Weissweine aus Portugal

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Rotweine aus Portugal

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Südweine aus Portugal

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 90 Punkte
Quinta de la Rosa Late Bottled Vintage 2014
In Stock

Schon seit der Antike wird in Portugal Weinbau betrieben. Das Christentum, welches im zweiten Jahrhundert nach Christus in Portugal Einzug hielt, zeigte grosse Freude am portugiesischen Wein und bezog ihn auch rasch in seine Zeremonien ein. Freilich stagnierte der Weinbau unter der maurischen Herrschaft, welche vom 8. bis zum 12. Jahrhundert andauerte.

Der berühmteste Tropfen

Als Portugal 1143 unabhängig wurde, entwickelte sich ein reger Handel mit England. Fassweise wurde Wein in das Königreich geschickt. Portwein war damals übrigens noch kein Thema und kam erst 1678 in Mode, als ein Weinhändler aus Liverpool seine beiden Söhne nach Portugal schickte, um in der Region Alto Douro einen mysteriösen Geistlichen aufzusuchen, welcher dem lokalen Rotwein noch während der Gärung Brandy hinzufügte: was einen süssen, alkoholstarken Wein ergab. Die Engländer waren darüber very amused.

Inzwischen gehört das Alto Douro zum UNESCO Welterbe, ist dies doch die älteste geschützte Weinbauregion der Welt. Auch die etwas südlicher gelegene Region Alentejo mit seinen Ebenen, welche das Auge gar nicht richtig fassen kann, wurde von der UNESCO zum Welterbe deklariert.

Das kleine Land der vielen Gegensätze.

Der portugiesische Weinbau ist von Gegensätzen geprägt. Im Landesinneren werden hauptsächlich schwere, tanninreiche Rotweine und Port gekeltert. Im kühlen, atlantischen Klima des Nordens sind jedoch hauptsächlich weisse, leichte und knackige Weine zu finden.

Doch ist es müssig, Weinregionen zu vergleichen. Alle sind sie einzigartig unvergleichbar; und über das ganze Land verteilt, finden sich  immer mehr Top-Produzenten.

Wirtschaftsfaktor Wein

Der Wein bietet 15 Prozent der portugiesischen Bevölkerung eine Arbeitsstelle und dank dessen Exports fliessen jährlich etwa 650 Millionen Euro in die Kassen. Die Tendenz ist steigend, zeigen seit kurzem doch die ehemaligen portugiesischen Kolonien wie Angola, China und Brasilien verstärkt Interesse an diesem Rebensaft.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Export-Artikel sind Korken. Portugal zeichnet sich für rund 75 Prozent der weltweiten Jahresproduktion verantwortlich; ein bisschen Portugal steckt also in fast jeder Flasche.

Land

Argentinien

Argentinien

Wo die Nostalgie mit der Innovation Tango tanzt

Weiterlesen
USA

USA

USA - Yes, they can!

Weiterlesen
Frankreich

Frankreich

Frankreich – Philosophie in Flaschen

Weiterlesen