to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanish temperament in a glass

The Tempranillo grape yields a particularly powerful wine with ripe berry fruit and alluring spice in the Ribera del Duero region, where it is called Tinta del País. It is no wonder that the region is seen internationally as a flagship for Spanish red wines. The designation of origin was first introduced in 1982. At the time, only few wineries existed; today, there are over 270. Many premium wines come from exceptionally old vines, sometimes over 80 years old.

Red wines from Ribera del Duero

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Figuero 12 (Crianza)
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock

Thirty years ago, the Douro Valley was a sleepy, underdeveloped region. Although records show that viticulture has been practiced here since the 11th century, its wines had limited renown. With one dazzling exception: the Vega Sicilia estate, founded in 1864, with top crus produced according to the French Château principle. It was ultimately the self-made vintner, Alejandro Fernández, who provided proof, with his Tinto Pesquera project, that any vintner in the Ribera del Duero can produce good wines if they are quality-oriented.

High lime content

The barren soils with high lime content on the valley flanks, and a slightly higher percentage of sand and clay in the valley floor, are equally decisive factors in quality as the extreme climate. Situated 800 metres above sea level, the thermometer regularly above 35 degrees Celsius in daytime in high summer, and subsequently falls at night to well under 10 degrees Celsius. In addition, the vineyards are exposed to strong gusts of wind. Precipitation is rather low, at around 450 mm per year per square metre. The Tempranillo variety has adjusted well to these harsh conditions. Compared with Rioja, its berries are smaller here and have a thicker skin. The results are very powerful wines with ripe berry flavours and distinct tannins.

Top wines from old vines

Although vineyard area has quadrupled in the last 30 years to over 21,000 hectares, there are still 2,000 to 3,000 hectares planted with very old vines, often over 80 years old. Selections from these old parcels yield wines with generally limited availability, and these are often very expensive flagship wines from the various bodegas.

Subzones with their own characters

The last few years have shown that three subzones can now be identified in Ribera del Duero, which all produce wines with a distinctive character. The warmest zone at Peñafiel in the west produces full-bodied, spicy wines. In contrast, in the heart of the wine-growing region, in Roa and Aranda del Duero, crops with more structure and minerality result. And crus from the cool east, at Soria, have an almost Burgundian finesse.

Subregions

Pauillac
Bordeaux

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristocratic crus

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more
Coteaux du Libron
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Libron

Coteaux du Libron: southern charm in a glass

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: le tempérament espagnol à l’état liquide

En Ribera del Duero, le Tempranillo, appelé ici Tinta del País, produit des vins particulièrement puissants aux tonalités de fruits mûrs et d’épices enivrantes. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que la région soit reconnue internationalement comme le fleuron du vin rouge espagnol. L’appellation d’origine contrôlée a été introduite en 1982. À cette époque, il n’existait que neuf chais, il en existe aujourd’hui plus de 270. Beaucoup des grands vins sont issus de très vieilles vignes, ayant parfois plus de 80 ans.

Vins rouges de Ribera del Duero

In Stock
Figuero 12 (Crianza)
Plus que 1 Bouteille

Il y a à peine 30 ans, la vallée du Douro était encore une région endormie et sous-développée. Les archives indiquent que la vigne y est cultivée depuis le 11ème siècle, mais que les vins n’étaient pas connus, à une exception près: le domaine Vega Sicilia, fondé en 1864, avec son cru exceptionnel élaboré suivant des méthodes bordelaises. Finalement, c’est Alejandro Fernández, un vigneron autodidacte, qui a prouvé avec son projet Tinto Pesquera que chaque vigneron de la Ribera del Duero peut produire de bons vins, s'il travaille obstinément avec la qualité en tête.

De grandes proportions de calcaire

Les sols pauvres, très calcaires sur les flancs des vallées, et plutôt argileux-sableux dans le fond des vallées, sont un facteur de qualité tout aussi important que le climat extrême. A 800 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, le thermomètre monte régulièrement au-dessus de 35°C pendant les mois d’été, puis tombe bien en dessous de 10°C la nuit. Les vignobles sont également exposés à de fortes rafales de vent. Les précipitations sont plutôt faibles, autour de 450 millimètres par an au mètre carré. Le Tempranillo s’est adapté de la meilleure façon possible à ces conditions difficiles. Par rapport à la Rioja, les baies sont plus petites et ont une peau plus épaisse et produisent des vins très puissants avec des arômes de fruits mûrs, et aux tanins présents.

De vieilles vignes pour les meilleurs crus

Bien que la surface ait quadruplé au cours des 30 dernières années pour dépasser aujourd'hui les 21'000 hectares, on compte encore à ce jour 2'000 à 3'000 hectares de vignes très anciennes, souvent de plus de 80 ans. Les sélections issues de ces vieilles parcelles produisent en général les vins phares des différentes bodegas, limités en nombre de bouteilles, souvent très coûteuses.

Des sous-régions ayant leur caractère propre

Les dernières années ont montré qu'il y a maintenant trois sous-zones en Ribera del Duero qui produisent des vins ayant leur propre caractère. Dans la zone la plus chaude, près de Peñafiel, dans la partie occidentale, les vins sont corsés et épicés, au cœur de la région, près de Roa et d’Aranda de Duero, les vins ont plus de structure et de minéralité, tandis que les crus plus frais de l’est, près de Soria, ont une finesse presque bourguignonne.

Sous-régions

Chablis
Bourgogne

Chablis

Chablis: la finesse pure du Chardonnay

en savoir plus
Penedès
Catalunya

Penedès

Penedès: de nouvelles idées créent l’essor.

en savoir plus
Leyda
Aconcagua

Leyda

La Leyda: petite, froide mais belle

en savoir plus